We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, great location!”
Review of Hotel Villa Mabapa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Villa Mabapa
Ranked #4 of 33 Hotels in Lido di Venezia
Certificate of Excellence
London, UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great place, great location!”
Reviewed 4 September 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for three days on our way back from a Tuscan holiday. We did the same last year and liked it so much that returning was a no-brainer.

Venice is wonderful, but extremely crowded in Summer. Staying on the Lido means getting away from the crowds in the evenings, more affordable places to eat, more Italians than foreigners around you, a lovely beach, taking your car with you to the hotel, and all of that just 10 minute walk along the seafront plus a beautiful 10 minute boat ride from San Marco square!

The hotel itself is situated just a few hundred metres from the ferry landing, on the seafront with lovely views of Venice. It has a shady garden in front, where meals and drinks are served. The staff is very friendly and helpful, especially Umberto at reception, who seems to speak about a hundred languages! All rooms we had (there was nine of us, two families) were good, well appointed and tastefully furnished. Just the shower temperature was a bit erratic, that is all. Breakfast is very good, certainly by Italian standards. If you want to have some beach time, book it at the hotel. Renting seats and umbrellas on the beach is way more expensive. The beach is good fun, with mostly Italian clientele.

I cannot comment on lunch or dinner, since we ate elsewhere, but otherwise I cannot think of a better place to stay when in Venice!

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Inebee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

516 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    175
    192
    92
    35
    22
See reviews for
105
218
24
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chevy Chase, Maryland
1 review
Reviewed 28 August 2012

My wife, 8-year-old son, and I had a thoroughly pleasant stay at the Villa Mababa. It exceeded our expecations on all levels: hospitality, excellent service, and friendly, well informed staff. Special thanks to Michele D'Antonio for his kindness and consideration, and also to Gianni and other staffers who made our stay memorable. We will surely return.

Dr. Curtis Sandberg
Chevy Chase, Maryland, USA

Room Tip: We were especially pleased with the rooms facing the back garden. It would be ideal if the hotel cou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Curtis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2012

This is a perfect spot to unwind after a few days in glorious and busy and expensive Venice. This is a little gem as mentioned. The view of the sunset over Venice from the front garden is superb. The staff really take pride in the place and it shows. A great breakfast - included in price - was nice after $25 euro brekkies across the bay. A very attentive bartender. Lido is also a great island to explore by bike, go into town for dinner. Also we splurged and took water taxi right out front to airport. Most relaxing - and yes expensive - trip to airport ever.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BalmyBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2012

I stayed at Villa Mabapa about 2 years ago on a school trip to Italy. I loved how the hotel was located on an island (Lido) away from the bustling crowds of Venice. It has this sort of "local and authentic" Italian-living feeling to it that the otherwise overwhelming "touristy" Venice wouldn't have. It was very convenient to get back and forth from Lido to Venice using the public ferries, and I enjoyed taking walks on the island without the crowds and hasslers. The food was so-so, and the rooms were decent. However, as I recall, the washrooms were quite small and out-dated. The staffs were wonderful and very social with us university students (we were quite the loud crowd). I love this little hotel (especially the name) and would definitely re-visit in the future. Thank you VILLA MABAPA!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KJandPenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westfield, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 August 2012

My niece and I stayed at this hotel this past week for 9 days, ad it was truly an oasis! The staff of Umberto, Michael, and Martha made this a very seemless stay from the time we booked, arrived and until we left! Their individual hospitality, knowledge, recommendations were right on target. The best was we had a very early flight to German on a Sunday am, and they provided us with a box breakfast to go with everything one could imagine and think of. If you are looking for a little get away, far enough from Venice but close enough to be their in 20 minutes, then do it! Also, the beach that they have a partnership with was amazing and nicely maintained! Can't wait to go back again!

Room Tip: Just call and ask or email them, and they will go out of their way to please you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jrudinski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
79 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2012 via mobile

I stayed here for two nights as part of a group tour. My room was small and not very modern, but it was clean and comfortable. I liked the coffee/tea maker, which I did not have in any other hotel during my two week trip throughout Italy. The food in the restaurant was very good and I enjoyed the breakfast as well. It would have been much nicer to stay on Venice itself instead of Lido, but the water taxis are very convenient and fast. If you're on a budget and must stay on Lido, I highly recommend this hotel. Staff were welcoming and friendly too.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank miastar225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2012 via mobile

This place has an old elegance bit still maintains modern amenities. Breakfast is self service and there is plenty of it and you can eat on the terrace and look out to sea. It was lovely at the end of the day to escape the hustle and bustle of Venice and relax. We had a lovely day on their private beach as well to recharge which is an added bonus

Helpful?
1 Thank Pamela P
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lido di Venezia hotels
1.4 mi away
Hotel Excelsior
Hotel Excelsior
#11 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
879 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Panorama
Hotel Panorama
#2 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
806 reviews
0.8 mi away
Residence Le Ville del Lido
Residence Le Ville del Lido
#1 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Pannonia
Hotel Villa Pannonia
#6 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
308 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungaria
Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungari...
#3 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
869 reviews
0.3 mi away
Venezia 2000 Hotel & Residence
Venezia 2000 Hotel & Residence
#5 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Mabapa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Mabapa

Property: Hotel Villa Mabapa
Address: Riviera San Nicolo' 16, 30126 Lido di Venezia, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Lido di Venezia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Lido di Venezia
#4 Luxury Hotel in Lido di Venezia
#10 Romantic Hotel in Lido di Venezia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Mabapa 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The traditional Villa hotel (1930), three buildings in the middle of a large shady garden, panoramic and quiet locacion facing St. Mark' s Basin, 10 mnts from city centre, 300 mnts from the beach, easy to be reached by car (car ferry line n. 17) Free parking at the hotel.Antiques original are furnishing public rooms, all rooms recently renovated have private facilities, TVC Satellite, radio, direct dial telephone, air conditioned. The quality restaurant "The Pitosforo", with summer terrace and candle light dinner in the garden offers a wide choice of Venetian and International cuisine, lounge and bar are both inside and open air overlooking the St. Marks Basin. Banqueting and meeting facilities from 20 pax up.Room rate includes buffet breakfast, half and full board including a la carte meals. Free parking safety box, small pets allowed, private landing stage.Nearby, on the island, tennis, swimming pool, riding school, golf 18 holes, beach, gambling casino, tourists airport, archery court. For the sports ones there are always bicycle available in the hotel.All major credit cards accepted. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TravelUp, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Villa Mabapa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Mabapa
Best Western Venice
Venice Best Western
Hotel Villa Mabapa Province Of Venice, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing