We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mediocre Hotel... but good location”
Review of Hotel Villa Mabapa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Villa Mabapa
Ranked #4 of 33 Hotels in Lido di Venezia
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Mediocre Hotel... but good location”
Reviewed 5 November 2012

It is better to stay on Lido Island than Venice... for one thing, it is cheaper, but more importantly, it is on high enough ground that the streets aren't flooded and you can leave the hotel. We were there during the rainy season and had a room next to the garden so the sump pump went off and on all night; the mattress was hard, so not a great sleep. The breakfast was excellent and we had a good dinner (good price) in the dining room. Right after our first breakfast, the clerk said our room fee included a tour to Murano Island (where they blow glass); that surprised us but we showed up in the lobby at 10am as instructed - there were two other American couples. We crossed the street and got into a wooden speed boat and went to Murano; we got out at a private glass factory/gallery that had the same name as the boat. A dignified gentleman met us and said he was 4th generation of the family-owned business and took us for a tour of the furnace room... then took us to the gallery, which had several floors of very expensive glass vases and figures. He became very high-pressured - all of us realized we had been hoodwinked and asked to leave... which took another half hour getting out; we didn't think he was going to let us go before we bought something, but we finally left by giving a vague promise of returning during our visit. We wanted to tell the hotel clerk we didn't appreciate the 3 hours waste of time, but he was off duty that evening. I imagine the relationship is between the clerk & gallery owner, since I don't think Best Western would approve of this bluff.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SusannahDanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

514 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    174
    191
    92
    35
    22
See reviews for
105
216
24
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Altadena, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2012

My stay at this hotel was magical, except for the hard mattress, mentioned in other reviews.
As a single in a group my room was a corner room with windows opening onto trees in two
directions. Lido island is a wonderfully quiet place to get away from the crowds of Venice,
yet only a short vaporetto ride away. The breakfast was fine, great pastries along with the
usual assortment of cereal, yoghurt, toast, eggs, cheese and meats. Other people in the
group got rooms that were very small, or seemed so to them. So, if possible, inspect your
room for size. Wonderful radiator that kept the room just warm enough at night.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank snorkelpal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2012

We stayed here October 13th & 14th, rooms are very small, as others stated the mattresses are very hard. The only people who speak english are the people at the front desk, all the staff only speak Italian. The toilet would not stop running, you had to pull the flush button out of the wall. The shower curtain was too small to cover the entire tub area so you had to remain still and shower with the water on low. The lights went out (blown fuse from room next door) at 10:05 pm.
Called desk no answer, had to go to main front building (hotel is 2 seperate buildings divided by a court yard) to ask for help. Man at desk said he would "send a colleague right away". This was after the people in the next room who blew the fuse asked for help. We all waited in the hall for the lights to go on, it never happened, so at 11pm (55 minutes later) we headed down to the front desk. There was a new worker, I explained my situation and what I was told by the previous desk worker, he said "nobody told him anything and the last shift of workers left". He fixed the fuse in 5 minutes. Breakfast was very good, the man in charge of the dining room is the only good thing about the hotel. The location is far from everything, including the water taxi drop off location. Stay off Lido Island and stay in Venice, that is where all the action is.

Room Tip: Do yourself a favor and stay in another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank PromoGuyNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kentucky
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2012

I had a group of 57 Americans that I took to Villa Mabapa for a night's stay after we disembarked from an NCL cruise. Mr. Umberto Marzot and Mr. DAntonio made the checkin so much easier than it could have been with that large group. Everyone in the group was enchanted with this lovely quaint hotel and the sparkling clean rooms and the level of service we received. Mr Marzot arranged our transfers by water bus from the ship dock to the hotel and had porters waiting to take our luggage and arranged our transfers back to the airport. We had a lovely group dinner that night and the food was very good. I heard many of my group saying if they ever return to Venice, this is where they will stay, not over in the main part of the city because the Lido is so charming as is the hotel!

Room Tip: They all seemed fine!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cmoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2012

We stayed at this hotel as part of a package with Gate 1 Travel. We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel and I would have to say the only negative was the REALLY hard mattresses. The room was clean, albeit a bit small...but who spends time in a hotel room when you are in Venice! The breakfast was great with lots of pastries, fruits, cereals, cold cuts and cheeses, as is custom in Italy. And the Cafe Americana was decent as well! The patio area in front of the hotel was very charming for an relaxing glass of wine after a day of touring...in fact the house red was among the best we had on our tour.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mninetynine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
139 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2012

Charming and quaint villa with lovely staff. Great retreat after a busy day in crowded Venice. Public water buses (vaporettas) stop 1km away from hotel.
Buffet breakfast had good variety. Public rooms are comfortable with Venetian decor but bedrooms are fairly basic but clean.
We look forward to revisiting.

Room Tip: We enjoyed peace in a room overlooking the court yard at the rear.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DundonsDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
204 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2012

Booked hotel on Lido as an alternative to main Venice, but would advice the latter if only there for a short while. Stayed for 3nights Oct 11-14, but rather a long walk (15 minutes) from waterbus stop. Would possibly be a good choice in summer for local beaches. Boats into San Marco take about 15 minutes and run frequently, even late at night and early morning. Hotel plays too much piped music, had to request it turned down/off at 0600 one morning.... Why do hotels think customers wants to hear Love Story etc at all times of day? Wi-fi is free, just ask for password at reception. Breakfast OK, nothing special, bread poor, average choice. Room was small, but OK in block to right of reception.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuffolkCarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lido di Venezia hotels
1.4 mi away
Hotel Excelsior
Hotel Excelsior
#11 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
878 reviews
0.8 mi away
Residence Le Ville del Lido
Residence Le Ville del Lido
#1 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
339 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Panorama
Hotel Panorama
#2 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Pannonia
Hotel Villa Pannonia
#7 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
308 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungaria
Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungari...
#3 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
869 reviews
0.3 mi away
Venezia 2000 Hotel & Residence
Venezia 2000 Hotel & Residence
#5 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Mabapa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Mabapa

Property: Hotel Villa Mabapa
Address: Riviera San Nicolo' 16, 30126 Lido di Venezia, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Lido di Venezia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Lido di Venezia
#4 Luxury Hotel in Lido di Venezia
#10 Romantic Hotel in Lido di Venezia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Mabapa 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The traditional Villa hotel (1930), three buildings in the middle of a large shady garden, panoramic and quiet locacion facing St. Mark' s Basin, 10 mnts from city centre, 300 mnts from the beach, easy to be reached by car (car ferry line n. 17) Free parking at the hotel.Antiques original are furnishing public rooms, all rooms recently renovated have private facilities, TVC Satellite, radio, direct dial telephone, air conditioned. The quality restaurant "The Pitosforo", with summer terrace and candle light dinner in the garden offers a wide choice of Venetian and International cuisine, lounge and bar are both inside and open air overlooking the St. Marks Basin. Banqueting and meeting facilities from 20 pax up.Room rate includes buffet breakfast, half and full board including a la carte meals. Free parking safety box, small pets allowed, private landing stage.Nearby, on the island, tennis, swimming pool, riding school, golf 18 holes, beach, gambling casino, tourists airport, archery court. For the sports ones there are always bicycle available in the hotel.All major credit cards accepted. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Villa Mabapa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Mabapa
Best Western Venice
Venice Best Western
Hotel Villa Mabapa Province Of Venice, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing