We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cheap and Cheerful” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Villa Mabapa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Villa Mabapa
Ranked #8 of 33 Hotels in Lido di Venezia
Certificate of Excellence
Van Nuys
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Cheap and Cheerful”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2009

The rooms were a little out dated. The bathroom was tiny and uncomfortable. Bath towels were thin. While taking a shower a pulled a string that was hanging from the ceiling thinking it would start a fan or something. This apparently sent an alarm signal to the from desk whom decided to call and scald my husband on the phone for my mistake. This summed up the service at the hotel.

The beds were suppose to be king size. We were given a room with two twin beds put together with two twin size comforters. It was very uncomfortable and felt cheap. Housekeeping walked in on us in bed one morning and she didn't realize we were still in bed whilst she continued to empty the trash etc... They never changed the sheets - we were there four nights.

On a positive note, the breakfast was good and so was the location. I would recommend this hotel if you are not looking for luxury but just a decent place to sleep.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sundance59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    160
    177
    90
    35
    22
See reviews for
98
204
24
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2009

We booked this hotel as we needed private parking. There is no private car park, just a small space where they cram in cars & you have to leave your keys for them to move them around, which we refused to do. The staff were not very helpful or attentive, telling us at 3 mins past 10 that the restaurant was shut & our 8 year old & us went to bed without dinner. We booked months before hand, but were stuck in the annex at the back of the hotel. The private beach is a really long walk away. Overall not really good enough for a 4* hotel. It was expensive and poor value for money.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Maggie_May09London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2009

Nice quiet location away from the hassles of Venice. Excellent breakfast. Convenient access to ferry and vaporetto.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MaxWien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHILE
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2009

We stayed four nights in this hotel in Lido, Venice. The hotel is in front of the sea, very good location, nice but very basic, good breakfast.
The people at the front desk were a little rude and did not want to be "disturbed" by the guests.
I asked for cards, chest or any game to play, a young blond lady answered "no" without looking me at the eyes. I asked for the cards because I saw the cards and a chest on a chest of drawers in the living room or saloon they had. I picked the cards and went to the lady again and showed her the cards and asked again, then she answered very rude that she forgot that they had cards ....
I agree that she could forget but she could say "sorry" at least.
Our bathroom had spiderwebs and the beds were uncomfortable.
May be it is difficult for the hotel to hire good personnel, Italians do not care much about service and cleanliness. The beach in Lido was absolutely dirty, I do not recommend a vacation here.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RENIChile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2009

We have just returned back from a thoroughly enjoyable short break to Venice where we stayed in the Villa Mabapa. Having read Trip adviser before hand we found a lot of relevant information missing which would certainly have been helpful to us.
Firstly, the location. Lido is not a main area in Venice and may only get a small mention in the guide books. It is a delightful area with a lovely little beach with walking distance from the hotel.
After arriving at Marco Polo airport you will need to get either the water taxi (private, at a rate of 95Euros) or the water bus (public transport 13 euros or 26 Euros return). The public water bus runs every hour and takes about an hour. (The private taxi is much quicker). The nearest stop to the hotel is Lido.

At Lido, arrived quite late and were surprised that there were no taxis waiting around. The hotel is literally about 800 meters from the boat stop and is to the left of the stop as you come out. Although I was with my boyfriend and at no time did I at any time feel unsafe, female travellers should be aware if they are arriving late that they may need to walk to the hotel along what is a very quiet virtually isolated street.

We specifically asked for a room in the pink coloured building as advised in one of the trip adviser reviews and we were not disappointed. The whole hotel was tastefully decorated and the room was to a high standard. The staff was very amiable and extremely professional. We had no complaints whatsoever. We booked on a bed and breakfast basis so can’t comment on the other meals. The breakfast was continental with the usual selection for all dietary needs. No complaints!

When travelling to the sights you will need to either take the water bus or water taxi. We found the waterbus ran very regularly and it’s worth buying either 24 or 48 hour travel cards which are quite economic if you plan to travel a lot. Tickets can be purchased from the shop next door to the hotel or the office at the waterbus station

To get to Piazzo san Marco which is one of the big touristy areas we either took the No 1 or No52 water bus which took about 10 minutes. The receptionist did inform us of a free trip that the hotel was offering to Murano which is a famous area for making Venetian glass. Unfortunately this was cancelled due to lack of demand and we didn’t have enough time to go on our own.

The hotel does not have bikes to rent but there is a local shop which rents on either a daily or hourly basis.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would recommend to all our friends. The area is quiet so it might not suite youngsters wanting lively nightlife.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MichelleSouthLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2009

Service was good helpful and staff were serious but polite. The room was nicely decorated and comfortable thought the temperature in the room was either too cold or too hot (recommend checking if it works properly). There is a lovely bar area and breakfast room with water views.

The hotel is on Lido, a lovely island where you can see most of the Venice landmarks. By boat it takes about 25-50 mins to Venice or to Marco Polo Airport. It is much more relaxing then staying in San Marco and the ferry ride is very relaxing. Mabapa hotel is about a 10 min walk from the ferry to the hotel on the waterfront. There are a few restaurants and cafes but not really recommended for nightlife but more for a relaxing get-away.

The setting of the hotel near the water was the best, the least favorite was the same breakfast every morning with not much variety if you have any special dietary requirements.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happytravel09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2008

The grounds of the Villa Mabapa are charming, although prone to insect visitors. Breakfast is a decent spread. Staff a little sniffy but no real problems.

My main issue is that the bikes, which are meant to be free and are almost essential if you need to get around the Lido, cost 14 euros a day during the film festival. I wouldn't have minded so much if the bike I was given had functioning brakes, lights etc. I had no brake at all on the front wheel and a pitiful excuse for one on the back. Plus, old Italian ladies have less road sense than hedgehogs so I had a couple of near disasters. Even after I asked the handyman to take a look at it, the bike was a deathtrap.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank showpony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lido di Venezia hotels
0.8 mi away
Residence Le Ville del Lido
Residence Le Ville del Lido
#1 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Panorama
Hotel Panorama
#2 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 767 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Pannonia
Hotel Villa Pannonia
#4 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungaria
Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungari...
#3 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 846 reviews
0.1 mi away
Russo Palace Hotel
Russo Palace Hotel
#6 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
0.7 mi away
Villa Laguna
Villa Laguna
#7 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Mabapa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Mabapa

Property: Hotel Villa Mabapa
Address: Riviera San Nicolo' 16, 30126 Lido di Venezia, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Lido di Venezia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Lido di Venezia
#7 Luxury Hotel in Lido di Venezia
#10 Romantic Hotel in Lido di Venezia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Mabapa 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The traditional Villa hotel (1930), three buildings in the middle of a large shady garden, panoramic and quiet locacion facing St. Mark' s Basin, 10 mnts from city centre, 300 mnts from the beach, easy to be reached by car (car ferry line n. 17) Free parking at the hotel.Antiques original are furnishing public rooms, all rooms recently renovated have private facilities, TVC Satellite, radio, direct dial telephone, air conditioned. The quality restaurant "The Pitosforo", with summer terrace and candle light dinner in the garden offers a wide choice of Venetian and International cuisine, lounge and bar are both inside and open air overlooking the St. Marks Basin. Banqueting and meeting facilities from 20 pax up.Room rate includes buffet breakfast, half and full board including a la carte meals. Free parking safety box, small pets allowed, private landing stage.Nearby, on the island, tennis, swimming pool, riding school, golf 18 holes, beach, gambling casino, tourists airport, archery court. For the sports ones there are always bicycle available in the hotel.All major credit cards accepted. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, HotelsClick, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Hotel Villa Mabapa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Mabapa
Best Western Venice
Venice Best Western
Hotel Villa Mabapa Province Of Venice, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing