We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DISAPOINTED”
Review of Hotel Villa Mabapa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Villa Mabapa
Ranked #4 of 33 Hotels in Lido di Venezia
Certificate of Excellence
Bruges, Belgium
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“DISAPOINTED”
Reviewed 7 September 2009

We booked the hotel as we thought a 4* would be a good choice. Upon arrival it seemed we made a bad choice. Only 1 person of the staff was helpfull, all the others were not interested in the hotel guests. They don't know anything about the word 'service'. Our room was supposed to be a 'deluxe room', situated in the building behind the main building of the hotel.I have never had that type of room in my whole life ! Very disappointing if you pay 230 euro for 1 night! Breakfast was okay, but don't ask to have a table outside, as the staff is not helpfull at all, and orders you to sit inside, although it was a nice and sunny morning . Restaurant and bar staff is not trained for the job they have to do and they look like they are fed up with tourists. The location is rather good if you want to go to the beach, 3 blocks away, but beware, they charge you 18 euro for 1 sunbed. And Italy has nicer beaches than the one we visited. Conclusion : there are better hotels in and around Venice for that price.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank PPBS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

531 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    181
    196
    95
    36
    23
See reviews for
109
224
25
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Van Nuys
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2009

The rooms were a little out dated. The bathroom was tiny and uncomfortable. Bath towels were thin. While taking a shower a pulled a string that was hanging from the ceiling thinking it would start a fan or something. This apparently sent an alarm signal to the from desk whom decided to call and scald my husband on the phone for my mistake. This summed up the service at the hotel.

The beds were suppose to be king size. We were given a room with two twin beds put together with two twin size comforters. It was very uncomfortable and felt cheap. Housekeeping walked in on us in bed one morning and she didn't realize we were still in bed whilst she continued to empty the trash etc... They never changed the sheets - we were there four nights.

On a positive note, the breakfast was good and so was the location. I would recommend this hotel if you are not looking for luxury but just a decent place to sleep.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sundance59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2009

We booked this hotel as we needed private parking. There is no private car park, just a small space where they cram in cars & you have to leave your keys for them to move them around, which we refused to do. The staff were not very helpful or attentive, telling us at 3 mins past 10 that the restaurant was shut & our 8 year old & us went to bed without dinner. We booked months before hand, but were stuck in the annex at the back of the hotel. The private beach is a really long walk away. Overall not really good enough for a 4* hotel. It was expensive and poor value for money.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Maggie_May09London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2009

Nice quiet location away from the hassles of Venice. Excellent breakfast. Convenient access to ferry and vaporetto.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MaxWien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHILE
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2009

We stayed four nights in this hotel in Lido, Venice. The hotel is in front of the sea, very good location, nice but very basic, good breakfast.
The people at the front desk were a little rude and did not want to be "disturbed" by the guests.
I asked for cards, chest or any game to play, a young blond lady answered "no" without looking me at the eyes. I asked for the cards because I saw the cards and a chest on a chest of drawers in the living room or saloon they had. I picked the cards and went to the lady again and showed her the cards and asked again, then she answered very rude that she forgot that they had cards ....
I agree that she could forget but she could say "sorry" at least.
Our bathroom had spiderwebs and the beds were uncomfortable.
May be it is difficult for the hotel to hire good personnel, Italians do not care much about service and cleanliness. The beach in Lido was absolutely dirty, I do not recommend a vacation here.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RENIChile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South London
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2009

We have just returned back from a thoroughly enjoyable short break to Venice where we stayed in the Villa Mabapa. Having read Trip adviser before hand we found a lot of relevant information missing which would certainly have been helpful to us.
Firstly, the location. Lido is not a main area in Venice and may only get a small mention in the guide books. It is a delightful area with a lovely little beach with walking distance from the hotel.
After arriving at Marco Polo airport you will need to get either the water taxi (private, at a rate of 95Euros) or the water bus (public transport 13 euros or 26 Euros return). The public water bus runs every hour and takes about an hour. (The private taxi is much quicker). The nearest stop to the hotel is Lido.

At Lido, arrived quite late and were surprised that there were no taxis waiting around. The hotel is literally about 800 meters from the boat stop and is to the left of the stop as you come out. Although I was with my boyfriend and at no time did I at any time feel unsafe, female travellers should be aware if they are arriving late that they may need to walk to the hotel along what is a very quiet virtually isolated street.

We specifically asked for a room in the pink coloured building as advised in one of the trip adviser reviews and we were not disappointed. The whole hotel was tastefully decorated and the room was to a high standard. The staff was very amiable and extremely professional. We had no complaints whatsoever. We booked on a bed and breakfast basis so can’t comment on the other meals. The breakfast was continental with the usual selection for all dietary needs. No complaints!

When travelling to the sights you will need to either take the water bus or water taxi. We found the waterbus ran very regularly and it’s worth buying either 24 or 48 hour travel cards which are quite economic if you plan to travel a lot. Tickets can be purchased from the shop next door to the hotel or the office at the waterbus station

To get to Piazzo san Marco which is one of the big touristy areas we either took the No 1 or No52 water bus which took about 10 minutes. The receptionist did inform us of a free trip that the hotel was offering to Murano which is a famous area for making Venetian glass. Unfortunately this was cancelled due to lack of demand and we didn’t have enough time to go on our own.

The hotel does not have bikes to rent but there is a local shop which rents on either a daily or hourly basis.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would recommend to all our friends. The area is quiet so it might not suite youngsters wanting lively nightlife.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MichelleSouthLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 March 2009

Service was good helpful and staff were serious but polite. The room was nicely decorated and comfortable thought the temperature in the room was either too cold or too hot (recommend checking if it works properly). There is a lovely bar area and breakfast room with water views.

The hotel is on Lido, a lovely island where you can see most of the Venice landmarks. By boat it takes about 25-50 mins to Venice or to Marco Polo Airport. It is much more relaxing then staying in San Marco and the ferry ride is very relaxing. Mabapa hotel is about a 10 min walk from the ferry to the hotel on the waterfront. There are a few restaurants and cafes but not really recommended for nightlife but more for a relaxing get-away.

The setting of the hotel near the water was the best, the least favorite was the same breakfast every morning with not much variety if you have any special dietary requirements.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happytravel09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lido di Venezia hotels
0.6 mi away
Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungaria
Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungari...
#3 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
888 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Excelsior Venice
Hotel Excelsior Venice
#12 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
914 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Panorama
Hotel Panorama
#2 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Residence Le Ville del Lido
Residence Le Ville del Lido
#1 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
364 reviews
0.3 mi away
Venezia 2000 Hotel & Residence
Venezia 2000 Hotel & Residence
#6 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
561 reviews
0.6 mi away
Biasutti Hotel
Biasutti Hotel
#17 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Mabapa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Mabapa

Property: Hotel Villa Mabapa
Address: Riviera San Nicolo' 16, 30126 Lido di Venezia, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Lido di Venezia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Lido di Venezia
#4 Luxury Hotel in Lido di Venezia
#10 Romantic Hotel in Lido di Venezia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Mabapa 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The traditional Villa hotel (1930), three buildings in the middle of a large shady garden, panoramic and quiet locacion facing St. Mark' s Basin, 10 mnts from city centre, 300 mnts from the beach, easy to be reached by car (car ferry line n. 17) Free parking at the hotel.Antiques original are furnishing public rooms, all rooms recently renovated have private facilities, TVC Satellite, radio, direct dial telephone, air conditioned. The quality restaurant "The Pitosforo", with summer terrace and candle light dinner in the garden offers a wide choice of Venetian and International cuisine, lounge and bar are both inside and open air overlooking the St. Marks Basin. Banqueting and meeting facilities from 20 pax up.Room rate includes buffet breakfast, half and full board including a la carte meals. Free parking safety box, small pets allowed, private landing stage.Nearby, on the island, tennis, swimming pool, riding school, golf 18 holes, beach, gambling casino, tourists airport, archery court. For the sports ones there are always bicycle available in the hotel.All major credit cards accepted. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Jet2Holidays , Agoda, Booking.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Villa Mabapa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Mabapa
Best Western Venice
Venice Best Western
Hotel Villa Mabapa Province Of Venice, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing