We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful,nice hotel”
Review of Hotel Villa Mabapa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Villa Mabapa
Ranked #4 of 33 Hotels in Lido di Venezia
Certificate of Excellence
Barcelona
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Peaceful,nice hotel”
Reviewed 13 May 2007

My friend and I just returned from a two night stay at Hotel Mabapa and were very pleased. It was very easy to find from the Vaperetto stop on Lido Island and from the first sight of the hotel, we were impressed. The staff were very friendly and good problem solvers. When we arrived, we discovered that we were not given two separate beds, but that they were pushed together and dressed with double bed sheets. No problem! They had the chambermaid separate the beds and dress them with new beddings while we went to dinner. The room itself
was very nice. We were in the side building and we had plenty of space. I loved the big bathroom with the huge sky light! It was a very charming room. Luckly, during our stay it was sunny and we were able to enjoy the garden area for a drink in the shade. Tea and coffee is very reasonable and presented in a very lovely way.

There were just two issues worth noting. One, the hotel offers a complimentary boat ride to Murano island where the glass is made and then a continuing ride to San Marco Square. They do not mention that you dock in Murano directly into a glass making factory. You can not avoid it! It was interesting but you are guided into gift shops where
everything is about 5 times as much as it is outside this workshop. Do not buy anything! Also, it is really hard to find where you orginally docked to actually get the boat to San Marco square. Pay attention to where you are walking.

The other issue is that they gave us incorrect information about Vaporettos to take you to the airport. We were told that they ran every hour which almost resulted in us taking a 100€ private taxi. But when we went to the vaporetto stop, the boats were going every 20
minute or so. We were wondering if the hotel had a partnership with a
private taxi service.

So just be aware of these two things and you will LOVE your stay.

  • Liked — The hotel facilities-room and garden, quite location.
  • Disliked — Misinformation from staff resulted in a very stressful situation for us.
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChristyBarcelona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

529 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    180
    196
    94
    36
    23
See reviews for
108
223
25
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Yonkers, NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2007

Lovely small hotel with friendly, attentive staff. Loved the quiet room off the lobby to read the morning paper and sip my capuccino. Room was comfortable and clean.
Even in December, the front garden was nice and the short walk to the vaporetto was worth the price.

I will go back as soon as I can.

  • Liked — size of room
  • Disliked — small elevator
  • Stayed December 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank ruska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2007

The hotel is far from the city's main drags and that is why i liked it - nice and serene and a short walk from the vaporetto.
The staff was friendly and accommodating and helpful in providing information.
Overall a very good experience.

  • Stayed December 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank phantom218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2007

I stayed at this hotel for only two night in Jan 2007. The hoitel is on the Lido (the company we booked through said it was in the heart of Venice which it is not!). However, the location is lovely and allows you to see a different side to Venice and it's other islands.

Although I stayed in the winter I would imagine the Lido is wonderful in the summer as it has a lovely beach area, nice shops and lots of bikes to ride around the small island. It allows you to visit the busy areas of Venice then retreat to somewhere quieter in the afternoon or evenign if you want to relax and escape the crowds.

To reach the old town area of Venice you need to jump on a local water bus (you can easliy buy a 24hr, 36hr or 72hr bus pass at the airport, your hotel or at the water bus stops). This can take between 10 or 20 minutes to reach San Marco Square (main attarction) and the beginning of the grand canel.

The hotel is clean and serves a lovely breakfast. The restaurant is pleasent but I would always prefer to explore and try local restaurants as they tend to always be a little nicer and more traditional. The rooms are compact but have character and a lovely balcony area.

If you are staying in Venice for more than 2 days I would definitey reccommend this hotel - especially in the summer months!

Stayed January 2007
Helpful?
4 Thank CGG180181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2006

The hotel on the website matched what we arrived to. However, our room was not part of the main building.

I think this may be a major differential between ratings. The extension rooms are so very small. We had a double room, but there was barely enough room to walk past the bed into the bathroom.

Try to obtain a confirmation of room size before booking or confirm you are in the main building.

Venice is notorious for its small rooms, but this was beyond a joke. Plastic fixtures also covered the place. Have stayed in much better 2 star hotels in the UK.

  • Liked — Location was quite good, nice and secluded but not a huge trek from St Marks
  • Disliked — Room size was laughable.
  • Tips/Secrets — Confirm room size before booking / ensure rooms are in main building.
  • Stayed October 2005, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Dboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
US
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2006

We stayed at the Mabapa in October 2006. The hotel is very nice. Beautiful grounds and pleasant staff. They provide an excellent breakfast with numerous options to choose from. The water buses run regularly to the main island. A tip is to use the island bus system to get to the water bus it takes less than 10 minutes and will save you a very expensive taxi ride. However you can also walk and it is only about 1Km to the hotel from the station. One other tip purchase an all day water bus ticket for 12Euros so that you can come back and forth without spending a fortune.

  • Liked — Beautiful Grounds
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ginger1102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
203 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 319 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2006

LOCATION
Our first impressions of Villa Mabapa were good. It has a pretty location on the Lido, 10 mins walk from the main boat station. Boats run very regularly to Venice, and were always on time. The Lido itself was a welcome break from Venice, open, peaceful, with immaculate beaches, and a handful of nice, but expensive, restaurants.

GARDENS
It has a lovely front garden/bar where we enjoyed a very expensive bottle of wine. The smell of jasmine was beautiful, and the view across the lagoon to venice was lovely.

BREAKFAST/RESTAURANT
Breakfast was good, ham, cheese, pastries, fruit, cereals, etc. We never ate in the restaurant, but the menu looked good, but expensive.

ROOMS
This is what really lets this hotel down. We asked for a twin room, and got the smallest room i'd ever seen. The two beds were pushed length ways up against the wall, with only a foot space inbetween to walk. The bathroom door opened and banged against the opposite wall. We complained, but the hotel was fully booked. Eventually after 2 nights a larger room came available, which they moved us to. We passed a few open doors during cleaning lady time, and we noted a huge difference in size and decor of the 'standard rooms'. Only a few have a balcony, which luckily we did get, and its a big plus. Thus in the standared room range, room 408, and i think 508/608 we would recommend. These rooms are also at the very end of the corridor, thus away from the very enthusiastic 6am cleaning lady.

EXTRAs
We did enjoy our free water taxi ride to Murano, and had no problems with the free onward water taxi to Venice. We also had no problems renting the free bikes and spent a lovely day riding around the Lido.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay up until paying the bill. 1000 euros / 700 pounds for 5 nights? This was a NICE hotel, not luxury. That goes for all of Venice, very overpriced. We would highly recommend the Locanda Cipriani restaurant at Torcello, approx 300 euros for 4 people having 3 courses, 2 bottles of wine. The food and service justified the price, get a terrace table if possible.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank antibes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lido di Venezia hotels
0.6 mi away
Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungaria
Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungari...
#3 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
887 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Panorama
Hotel Panorama
#2 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
817 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Excelsior Venice
Hotel Excelsior Venice
#11 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Residence Le Ville del Lido
Residence Le Ville del Lido
#1 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
362 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Pannonia
Hotel Villa Pannonia
#5 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
316 reviews
0.6 mi away
Biasutti Hotel
Biasutti Hotel
#17 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Mabapa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Mabapa

Property: Hotel Villa Mabapa
Address: Riviera San Nicolo' 16, 30126 Lido di Venezia, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Lido di Venezia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Lido di Venezia
#4 Luxury Hotel in Lido di Venezia
#10 Romantic Hotel in Lido di Venezia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Mabapa 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The traditional Villa hotel (1930), three buildings in the middle of a large shady garden, panoramic and quiet locacion facing St. Mark' s Basin, 10 mnts from city centre, 300 mnts from the beach, easy to be reached by car (car ferry line n. 17) Free parking at the hotel.Antiques original are furnishing public rooms, all rooms recently renovated have private facilities, TVC Satellite, radio, direct dial telephone, air conditioned. The quality restaurant "The Pitosforo", with summer terrace and candle light dinner in the garden offers a wide choice of Venetian and International cuisine, lounge and bar are both inside and open air overlooking the St. Marks Basin. Banqueting and meeting facilities from 20 pax up.Room rate includes buffet breakfast, half and full board including a la carte meals. Free parking safety box, small pets allowed, private landing stage.Nearby, on the island, tennis, swimming pool, riding school, golf 18 holes, beach, gambling casino, tourists airport, archery court. For the sports ones there are always bicycle available in the hotel.All major credit cards accepted. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Villa Mabapa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Mabapa
Best Western Venice
Venice Best Western
Hotel Villa Mabapa Province Of Venice, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing