We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value”
Review of Riviera Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Riviera Hotel
Ranked #12 of 33 Hotels in Lido di Venezia
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Excellent value”
Reviewed 21 July 2011

My partner and myself just spent a Sunday night at LA Riviera in room 39 which had two windows offering amazing views of the Lagoon across to St Marks Square.
The room was Venetian style, clean and functional. The lounge was kitch but comfortable and breakfast was very good. For 95 euros it was money well spent!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fiona D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    136
    191
    67
    22
    6
See reviews for
66
197
40
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wooster, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2011

We had four rooms at this hotel and every one was unique. They were very homey. Some people have said that they seemed a little old, but we felt it was part of the hotel's charm. Everything was very clean, so a little old is okay, especially when you are in Europe! It felt like staying at the home of a friend. Our rooms all had balconies too, which were beautiful!

Out of our four rooms not a single bathroom was the same as another. Some were huge and some were tiny! Again, all were very clean and functional.

A wonderful breakfast is offered at the hotel. We had many options for the different dietary restrictions of our group and fantastic coffee.

The hotel is in a great area with vaperetto service across the street, more dining and geloto locations than you could try in a month, and a short walk to the free public beach (under ten minutes). It will take about 10-15 minutes by vaperetto to get to San Marco Plaza of Venice from the hotel.

I would stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MsPiggy858
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Andrews, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2011

We stayed here for four nights in May as part of a trip across Europe. We found that prices on Lido were much more affordable than Venice proper and boy were we happy with our decision. Lido is a wonderful island with fantastic beaches within walking distance of the hotel. We found that after touring Venice it was great to come back to this area, lots of residential neighborhoods around so you get the feeling like you're really living the Italian life as you stroll up and down the streets. The main drag (which conveniently, the hotel is located on) is more touristy with shops selling beachwear and some decent english speaking restaurants that stay open late. The hotel is literally right across the street from the Vaporetto station, so from there we were able to visit Burano and Murano (don't miss them, both interesting and you can see both in an afternoon). The hotel itself is nice with friendly service and spacious rooms by European standards. High ceilings and the bed was two twins pushed together but we encountered that several times in different locations.There are shutters on the windows that make it literally pitch black inside the room, which is great if you are jet lagged. There is a lovely sun terrace that you can use, great for grabbing a bottle of wine and sitting out to watch the world go by. If you found it noisy - its because its in a bustling area, not a country setting. We loved sitting and taking everything in. Peaceful at night. Breakfast is european continental and has everything you need to start your day.
For the amount that we paid for this hotel, the value was outstanding. It's not a five-star hotel, but it went well beyond our expectations for the price we paid to stay in Venice. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Lagoon view rooms have a balcony, or there is another terrace anyone can use.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CW12x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portadown
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2011

Great location to stay while visiting Venice. Super beaches but make sure you walk away from public beach at end of road. Beach is miles long with shallow entry into sea. Very easy to find from waterbus and good location to enjoy peace and quite away from Venice especially at night. On arrival staff very quickly checked us in but did not offer any advice regarding hotel and facilities - only found sun terrace and balcony by exploring ourselves and sharing with other guests.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gillyPortadown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshire
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2011

just returned from venice after a short break with a copuple of friends all booked into the riveria for 4 nights. The staff were excellent and very helpful 24 hours a day. The rooms were sumptious by venice standards . we stayed in the lagoon view room whilst friends stayed in a above standard room on the second floor, but had too toss a coin to see which was the more expensive room! both were light and airy with high ceilings and a world away from the small rooms we had experienced in venice city and half as expensive!. the lagoon view was fabulous and we had the joy of watching a fantastic thunderstorm lighting up venice during the night from the small bal;cony off our room. They have an area of open terrace at first floor level were you can watch the sunset over the lagoon a sip an ice cold beer or g & T. Memorable times and great little hotel. Only gripe, no bar but they provide all drinks to terrace and Bus station / vaparetto stop can be a litttle noisy on a night but then we were only 10 mins from St Marks and the ride out to the lido was always pleasant. lido is much quieter and provides all the needs of a weary walker after a full day of culture. Would stay again with out hesitation.

Room Tip: best views are on 2nd and 3 rd flr room 20 brill
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank twhengineer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Bend, Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2011

Spent one night here while hanging out in Venice. Lido is a few stops away from all the main sights, but much less tourist traffic. The hotel is located right next to the boat stop. Our room was very elegant, and for the price we paid (65 Euros, through booking.com) was excellent!

Didn't care much for any of the nearby restaurants, though, and I'd encourage people to avoid them if possible. Most of them serve pre-frozen meals at high prices. Better to rely on the restaurants on the main island.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bvnathan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2011

I stayed 3 nights in room 4; the "Lagoon view room" which was actually on the 2nd floor. I was disappointed because it's really the "Vapporetto station view room". It's so close to the ground that the station and pedestrian crossing dominates most of the view.. the balcony is cute; lots of outdoor furniture and potted plants, but admittedly I didn't spend much time out there due to the noise.
The location of the hotel is great but we could hear the loud music and drunk people late into Saturday night. Our mattress was also hard and the queen bed is actually 2 joined together. The highlights for me were the towel warmer, decent buffet breakfast and reliable room cleaning service. Except after 2 mornings of awaking to loud knocks on our door, I was instructed by a maid to turn the switch below the door knob to 'red' to signify to room service that we are present. This would've been great to know at check-in..
There is a tall, lean man working at the front reception who was one of the rudest people we dealt with during our 2 weeks in Italy. When I began to read the documentation that he had asked me to sign while checking in, he impatiently and very rudely repeated his request for me to sign, as if I didn't understand him the first time. Our toilet was not flushing after check in either, and while trying to arrange for somebody to look at it he again grew quickly impatient while rolling his eyes at me as if I didn't understand English. He also looked at me stupidly when I asked for the key to our safe, which they actually keep at the front counter and only give out once you've signed their book. He was extremely unhelpful and I avoided him at all costs after that.
There is no refrigerator or kettle in the room, but the front desk did obligingly keep our wine in their fridge for us. There were also holes in the floor boards and the light fixture looked like it was almost detached from the ceiling. The wifi is also very expensive.

This is a very budget hotel and room 4 needs refurbishment. Go elsewhere if you are coming on your honeymoon. I would've considered recommending this place to others if it wasn't for the rude receptionist.

Room Tip: Request for a room on a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank phrewt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lido di Venezia hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Panorama
Hotel Panorama
#2 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
810 reviews
0.6 mi away
Venezia 2000 Hotel & Residence
Venezia 2000 Hotel & Residence
#5 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
557 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Boulevard Hotel
Le Boulevard Hotel
#8 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Villa Laguna
Villa Laguna
#7 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
545 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Pannonia
Hotel Villa Pannonia
#4 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
314 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungaria
Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungari...
#3 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riviera Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riviera Hotel

Property: Riviera Hotel
Address: Gran Viale Santa Maria Elisabetta 5, 30126 Lido di Venezia, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Lido di Venezia
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Lido di Venezia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riviera Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Riviera Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riviera Hotel Venice
Riviera Hotel Province Of Venice, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing