We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and comfortable stay”
Review of Riviera Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Riviera Hotel
Ranked #12 of 33 Hotels in Lido di Venezia
Certificate of Excellence
Rhyl, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great location and comfortable stay”
Reviewed 15 September 2012

I stayed here for a week in August with my 15 year old daughter and chose the Riviera Hotel because of the location. It is situated directly across from the vaporetta station which is great and means that travelling to the different areas of Venice is really easy. We bought a weekly vaporetta ticket for 50 euros and this could be used as many times as you wanted, which proved good value. Although other reviews state that there is some noise disturbance due to the location, we had no problems with that aspect even though I'm a light sleeper. Staying on Lido was a good choice for us as we were able to escape the fast pace of Venice city and relax on the beach when we wanted. It was a holiday with a good mix of culture and relaxation.
The Riviera is typically Venetian which suited us. We paid a supplement for a room with a lagoon view which I felt was worth the extra. It was lovely to look across at Venice in the setting sun and to open the shutters in the morning and watch Venice wake up. Although the room wasn't huge it was adequate for our needs with air conditioning, the use of a safety deposit box and hot running water every day. It was kept spotlessly clean and fresh bedding and towels were provided as requested.
I found the staff to be very polite and helpful and the ladies at breakfast were brilliant. As both my daughter and I are coeliacs they provided us with a lovely gluten free breakfast every day. The normal breakfast selection looked very good with cereals,yoghurts,breads,cheese,cold meats,fruit as well as a cooked choice of bacon and scrambled eggs. The ladies were always on hand to make sure we had everything we needed so top marks to them!
The beach at Lido was easily reached after a 5 minute walk. There is a choice of 2 beaches- a free beach or a private beach. We chose to go on the private beach but it was very expensive for an umbrella and 2 sunbeds(26.30 euros before 2.30pm and 20.50 after 2.30pm) and this did not include the use of the beach shower or toilets. A cost of a further 5 euros.
The Riviera is also very close to all the restaurants in Lido so you don't have to walk far for your evening meal. We had a lovely meal at Villa Laguna with a table overlooking the lagoon. This did prove to be more expensive than the other restaurants on the main stretch but as they say, you get what you pay for. There are a fair few kiosks selling pizzas etc along the stretch and lots of ice cream kiosks. Delicious ice creams and wonderful flavours!
We had a really great hoilday staying at this hotel and managed to visit all the main attractions in Venice including Murano and Burano as well as having a good chunk of time to relax and unwind. I would definitely recommend this hotel and if I return to Venice I would stay here again.

Room Tip: A room with a lagoon view is worth the supplement
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annettelee3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    139
    194
    69
    22
    6
See reviews for
69
200
40
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2012

The location and our view were great. We had the family room at the top of the property. The beds were clean but the furniture old which always looks dirty. Granted its Venice so it is older. Bathroom was very old with only cold water which was ok since it was august but when we mentioned it to staff, they didn't really bother with it at all. Breakfast was ok, not great coffee especially for Italy. Breakfast ladies were very nice, friendly as opposed to front desk staff.

Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Nathalie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2012

Nice clean small rooms (typical of Europe). Very good breakfast. Nice friendly English speaking staff. Short ferry ride to downtown Venice. Nice residential neighborhood with good less-touristy restaurants. Problem with air conditioner one night, but it was fixed. I stayed 3 nights. i would return.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank honoluluK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guwahati, India
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2012

We stayed at the hotel for 3 nights. The rooms were well furnished and we got a balcony as well. However, there was no air conditioning even though the temperature was soaring in Venice. Breakfast was good.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vj_varunjalan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthington, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

This is the 5th time that I have stayed at this hotel. It is an excellent value in a very expensive city. The Lido Island offers a nice respite to the frantic crowds near San Marco. You are very close to the beaches and directly across from the Vaporetto Station on Lido. The breakfast is better than average and there are many restaurant options on Lido. The staff is very cordial and helpful and will try to make your stay in Venice a pleasant one. Remember this is Europe and a small hotel. The air conditioning is fair, but it does exsist. The rooms are modestly furnished but very adequate and comfortable. You are approximately a 15 minute vaporetto ride from San Marco or 30 minutes (via vaporetto) to the Ferrovia (train station). The Lido Island is also serviced by Alilaguna. This is part of the ACTV (public vaporetto) service that goes directly to the airport with a stop on Murano en route. Time to airport is approximately 1 hour from Lido. Once you arrive to the landing dock at the airport, you will need to walk about 1/4 of a mile to the terminal. There are luggage carts for your convenience for rent 1 euro. Your coin is returned with the return of the cart.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 53Susie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2012

Staff was very friendly and the place was very near to lido beaches. And you can easily reach venice with vaporettos. I recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aysegul_t_a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oak Forest, Illinois, USA
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2012

We knew nothing of Lido before we arrived and booked this hotel simply because it was "off the beaten path" and because the price was right. How fortunate we were! The location was perfect, the rooms (all three of them) were comfortable and the breakfast was superb!! Staying on Lido gave us the advantage of getting to Venice proper easily when we wanted to, yet also to enjoy a more laid-back and comfortable atmosphere still with good restaurants and shopping.

Marco who works the desk was particularly helpful in giving us information and advice and he, along with all the staff whom we met, were prompt, friendly and effective!

We would defnitely return to stay there if we are lucky enough to visit Venice again.

Room Tip: Corner suites are larger. Rooms facing the water certainly add interest. The proximity to the vapo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vincent A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lido di Venezia hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Panorama
Hotel Panorama
#2 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
817 reviews
0.6 mi away
Venezia 2000 Hotel & Residence
Venezia 2000 Hotel & Residence
#6 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
561 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Laguna
Villa Laguna
#7 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Le Boulevard Hotel
Le Boulevard Hotel
#9 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
820 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungaria
Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungari...
#3 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
887 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Pannonia
Hotel Villa Pannonia
#5 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riviera Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riviera Hotel

Property: Riviera Hotel
Address: Gran Viale Santa Maria Elisabetta 5, 30126 Lido di Venezia, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Lido di Venezia
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Lido di Venezia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riviera Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Riviera Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riviera Hotel Venice
Riviera Hotel Province Of Venice, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing