We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay in Lido” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riviera Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Riviera Hotel
Ranked #12 of 33 Hotels in Lido di Venezia
Certificate of Excellence
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great stay in Lido”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

Just for reference, we are a well traveled (the fridge is running out of space for magnets) couple in our 40s with no kids of European background.

We visited Venice in September 2013 and we stayed in Lido for 4 nights during this stay.
Our criteria was clean, quiet, relatively close to transportation (vaporetto). Of course the price is always a criteria and in this regard I find the hotel to be a better choice than other hotels in Venice. I also liked the fact that Lido is quite more relaxed than Venice, for us this was important since we like at the end of the day to wind down and get away from large tourist crowds.


Hotel - while the hotel is a bit old it is well maintained and has lots of character. The dining room is spectacular (not exaggerating), there is good art (paintings or Murano) on display on main floor and upper floors, a great shop also on the main floor. The elevator is a bit small (European style) and slow to service all floors but is functional. We walked especially going down the stairs to save time and because we did not mind the exercise.

Room - clean throughout (the carpet a bit older on the old side but it was alright for us) and the maid did a good job to clean up on a daily basis. The room had 2 corner windows, one facing the Church with the bell tower, and a good view of the water and the boats crossing from Venice Island back and forth. A rather small CRT TV hanging high in the corner of the room, if you care, we did not.

Quiet - bed was firm enough (we like it that way) to not cause sleeping issues and in general it was very quiet. AC was also running very quiet and there are shutter windows that help making the room dark.

Transportation - the hotel is right in front of the Lido vaporetto station so great location if you want to not stay on Venice but close to it.

Breakfast - we had breakfast included at this hotel and it has been exquisite. From the great interiors in the area where the food is served, to the great variety (really great variety of everything, cooked food, salami, cheese, breads, sausages, fruits, sweets, milk, coffee and juices) and espresso or cappuccino served to perfection, simply great.

Nearby - just behind the hotel you can rent bicycles for a great relaxing tour of the Lido Island. Walking down the main road across the island gets you to the beach in 10-15 minutes (slow pace). There is a great deal of restaurants and coffee shops with patios where you can sit down either during the day or in the evening. There is also a pharmacy right behind the hotel, could not be better located. I had a sour throat one morning (long round tour on the vaporetto on the Grand Canal is probably what caused it) and the proximity of the pharmacy was quite convenient.

Overall we are very pleased with the experience at this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Marcopolo40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    126
    179
    61
    21
    6
See reviews for
62
184
36
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

If you want to spend a few days visiting Venice but want to get away from the madness at night time then Hotel Rivera is the place to stay. Only a short Vaporetto ride from the main Island you'll find this little gem of a hotel on the Island of Lido. Here it is much more relaxed and quieter with some great bars and restaurants and a lot cheaper. The hotel is a perfect location with a great view of Venice. We got a balcony over looking the lagoon, perfect for chilling with a glass of Prosecco after a long day. Our room was a nice size, nice old style décor, comfy bed and a good sized bathroom. Clean towels every day. Safe in wardrobe too. The guys in reception were very friendly and helpful and in the breakfast room the girls always made sure you had plenty of coffee. Breakfast was adequate enough for continental. If you do stay on Lido spend a few hours here one of the days, walk around the back of the hotel and hire a bike for two (side by side). You'll do the island in a few hours but will have a good laugh doing it.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the lagoon, but if you like a lie in be careful, there's a small bus station a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank willie_corcoran6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellicott City, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
95 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

This is a nice hotel with a great view of Venice! Breakfast included cheesy eggs and bacon. I asked for a room with a view and the clerk gave me this great room with a view of Venice and a balcony. WOW! I saw cruise ships coming into Venice two days in a row. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

We choose this hotel due to its location and because it looked like a traditional Italian hotel.
Firstly however, the location was a drawback because we could hear the water buses constantly coming in and out. This was because our room, 38, overlooked the sea and was also next to a church bell which rang every 15 minutes. The walls were paper thin and I could hear the people next door talking and their TV which was very loud. I banged on the wall eventually and they shut up! You could hear doors banging all the time also.
The room was traditional but not in a good way. It was quite tatty. The usual two single beds shoved together which gradually came apart by 6 inches every night - we were not able to cuddle at all! The beds were also hard and uncomfortable
The breakfast was awful - lots of cakes and horrendous looking orange scrambled eggs, at least I think they were eggs!
However, the worst part of this hotel, for October, was how cold our room was. It was pouring with rain and people were coming in wet and freezing but they refused to put any heating on. It doesn't come on till the 15th October they kept saying. One female receptionist looked aghast that we had the audacity to ask for heating! We were not the only people who asked for heating and were refused. My husband eventually asked if they had a hat but they didn't get the joke.
I cant believe how much this room cost us and what we got in return. Absolute disgrace but did not have the energy to argue with them.
There are probably better rooms and it would be warmer in the summer but they are not customer focused at this hotel, very unhelpful in fact.

Room Tip: don't pick a room at the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsBrightside23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg
Level Contributor
154 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

Returning to Venice Lido I chose this hotel because of its spectacular location right across from the vaporetto terminal and at the head of the main room. I probably got the dullest room in the hotel, but it was clean and reasonably comfortable. For the prices usually charged, wifi could be included, as the standard breakfast actually was. If the hotel bother to have a traditional key system, the personnel must always be present at the desk and alert to deliver them. My impressions fell short of the excellence that I actually expect from Italian hotels in this range.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Luxotraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

Thanks to all the reviews contributed before me, I selected this hotel for its convenient location and good value rates. It is located directly across the vaporetto and Alilaguna station. It was such a relief to spot the hotel immediately upon arrival at Lido after a long trip.

Breakfast was between 7.30am to 10am and well laid out. Not much to shout about but enough to last you till late lunch. I asked for soft boiled eggs everyday. The charming elderly lady that served breakfast didn't speak English at all but appreciates that I made the effort to speak to her in Italian every morning. She knew how I liked my eggs by the next morning.

My room was on the third floor facing the lagoon. I loved the sound from the street below that starts from 6am. Sounds from buses and people walking over to the station. Lido is a quaint little town with residential areas.

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing the lagoon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SharinaS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

We wanted a hotel close to Venice but wanted to keep the cost down, so chose this hotel on the Lido. Ideal location for our purposes, 1 minute walk from the water taxis, great views of Venice mainland (if you get a room on the front), 15 minutes walk to the beach (yes there is a beach in Venice!!!), very traditional, very old fashioned, in need of some TLC and money spending on it. Do not book room 43, whilst it has great views – it is a throwback to the 70’s with all that Formica and a horrid shower. Room 22 on the other hand, spacious with a modernised bathroom and worth paying the extra 20 Euros for. There is a guest roof top garden where you can bring you own drinks and take in the views – nice touch. Possibly family run and definitely not one of my favourite receptions as quite unfriendly and odd... Our room (21) was quite stuffy, with curtains that did not close, a tiny shower with one of those ‘stick to you nylon shower curtains’! But it was ok and we did sleep well despite the noise outside. Breakfast was very basic, cake, hard boiled cold eggs, watered down fruit juice, no fresh bread just cheap nasty tasting bread rolls – it was suffice though! Our waitress (bless) we gave her a nickname as she was quite scary looking, possibly due to the language barrier as we spoke no Italian, she no English. What we would do with the place if it was our hotel....

Room Tip: Not 41, 22 the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlisonThomson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lido di Venezia hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Panorama
Hotel Panorama
#2 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 766 reviews
0.4 mi away
Residence Le Ville del Lido
Residence Le Ville del Lido
#1 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Laguna
Villa Laguna
#7 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Pannonia
Hotel Villa Pannonia
#4 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
0.6 mi away
Venezia 2000 Hotel & Residence
Venezia 2000 Hotel & Residence
#5 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Giardinetto
Hotel Giardinetto
#13 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riviera Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riviera Hotel

Property: Riviera Hotel
Address: Piazzale S.M. Elisabetta / Gran Viale, 5, 30126 Lido di Venezia, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Lido di Venezia
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Lido di Venezia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riviera Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Riviera Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riviera Hotel Venice
Riviera Hotel Province Of Venice, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing