We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Location on Lido”
Review of Riviera Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Riviera Hotel
Ranked #13 of 33 Hotels in Lido di Venezia
Certificate of Excellence
Worthington, Ohio
Level Contributor
161 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Fantastic Location on Lido”
Reviewed 17 December 2013

Location Location Location...directly across from the Vaporetto. Very close proximity to many restaurants, grocery, bars, etc. Walking distance (approx) 1/4-1/2 mile to beach. Hotel staff very friendly. Clean, unassuming modest hotel.Great Breakfast selection.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 53Susie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    134
    188
    66
    22
    6
See reviews for
66
191
40
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

We arrived in Lido only to find the hotel we had booked on-line totally unsuitable [bathroom not serviced] so, after a little searching found The Hotel Riviera, next-door to the ferry terminal, a excellent location.
Some of the hotels were already closing for the winter and to find a good hotel so close the transport with rooms available for three days an added bonus. The staff were very helpful, rooms large and the breakfast more than enough, catering for all tastes!

Room Tip: We had a small balcony, with a view towards Venice
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GSirett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

The hotel location was good you only cross street from water bus bay, it was clean, the staff was not that friendly possibly a language barrier, there was no bath , only shower tray and bathroom was too small, no tea tray and room telephone has no digits I didn't know how to use, breakfast and cleanness were good but no wifi in rooms and not free even in reception area

Room Tip: avoid lower floors for street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Olton2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Just for reference, we are a well traveled (the fridge is running out of space for magnets) couple in our 40s with no kids of European background.

We visited Venice in September 2013 and we stayed in Lido for 4 nights during this stay.
Our criteria was clean, quiet, relatively close to transportation (vaporetto). Of course the price is always a criteria and in this regard I find the hotel to be a better choice than other hotels in Venice. I also liked the fact that Lido is quite more relaxed than Venice, for us this was important since we like at the end of the day to wind down and get away from large tourist crowds.


Hotel - while the hotel is a bit old it is well maintained and has lots of character. The dining room is spectacular (not exaggerating), there is good art (paintings or Murano) on display on main floor and upper floors, a great shop also on the main floor. The elevator is a bit small (European style) and slow to service all floors but is functional. We walked especially going down the stairs to save time and because we did not mind the exercise.

Room - clean throughout (the carpet a bit older on the old side but it was alright for us) and the maid did a good job to clean up on a daily basis. The room had 2 corner windows, one facing the Church with the bell tower, and a good view of the water and the boats crossing from Venice Island back and forth. A rather small CRT TV hanging high in the corner of the room, if you care, we did not.

Quiet - bed was firm enough (we like it that way) to not cause sleeping issues and in general it was very quiet. AC was also running very quiet and there are shutter windows that help making the room dark.

Transportation - the hotel is right in front of the Lido vaporetto station so great location if you want to not stay on Venice but close to it.

Breakfast - we had breakfast included at this hotel and it has been exquisite. From the great interiors in the area where the food is served, to the great variety (really great variety of everything, cooked food, salami, cheese, breads, sausages, fruits, sweets, milk, coffee and juices) and espresso or cappuccino served to perfection, simply great.

Nearby - just behind the hotel you can rent bicycles for a great relaxing tour of the Lido Island. Walking down the main road across the island gets you to the beach in 10-15 minutes (slow pace). There is a great deal of restaurants and coffee shops with patios where you can sit down either during the day or in the evening. There is also a pharmacy right behind the hotel, could not be better located. I had a sour throat one morning (long round tour on the vaporetto on the Grand Canal is probably what caused it) and the proximity of the pharmacy was quite convenient.

Overall we are very pleased with the experience at this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Marcopolo40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
65 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

If you want to spend a few days visiting Venice but want to get away from the madness at night time then Hotel Rivera is the place to stay. Only a short Vaporetto ride from the main Island you'll find this little gem of a hotel on the Island of Lido. Here it is much more relaxed and quieter with some great bars and restaurants and a lot cheaper. The hotel is a perfect location with a great view of Venice. We got a balcony over looking the lagoon, perfect for chilling with a glass of Prosecco after a long day. Our room was a nice size, nice old style décor, comfy bed and a good sized bathroom. Clean towels every day. Safe in wardrobe too. The guys in reception were very friendly and helpful and in the breakfast room the girls always made sure you had plenty of coffee. Breakfast was adequate enough for continental. If you do stay on Lido spend a few hours here one of the days, walk around the back of the hotel and hire a bike for two (side by side). You'll do the island in a few hours but will have a good laugh doing it.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the lagoon, but if you like a lie in be careful, there's a small bus station a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank willie_corcoran6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellicott City, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
95 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

This is a nice hotel with a great view of Venice! Breakfast included cheesy eggs and bacon. I asked for a room with a view and the clerk gave me this great room with a view of Venice and a balcony. WOW! I saw cruise ships coming into Venice two days in a row. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We choose this hotel due to its location and because it looked like a traditional Italian hotel.
Firstly however, the location was a drawback because we could hear the water buses constantly coming in and out. This was because our room, 38, overlooked the sea and was also next to a church bell which rang every 15 minutes. The walls were paper thin and I could hear the people next door talking and their TV which was very loud. I banged on the wall eventually and they shut up! You could hear doors banging all the time also.
The room was traditional but not in a good way. It was quite tatty. The usual two single beds shoved together which gradually came apart by 6 inches every night - we were not able to cuddle at all! The beds were also hard and uncomfortable
The breakfast was awful - lots of cakes and horrendous looking orange scrambled eggs, at least I think they were eggs!
However, the worst part of this hotel, for October, was how cold our room was. It was pouring with rain and people were coming in wet and freezing but they refused to put any heating on. It doesn't come on till the 15th October they kept saying. One female receptionist looked aghast that we had the audacity to ask for heating! We were not the only people who asked for heating and were refused. My husband eventually asked if they had a hat but they didn't get the joke.
I cant believe how much this room cost us and what we got in return. Absolute disgrace but did not have the energy to argue with them.
There are probably better rooms and it would be warmer in the summer but they are not customer focused at this hotel, very unhelpful in fact.

Room Tip: don't pick a room at the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsBrightside23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lido di Venezia hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Panorama
Hotel Panorama
#2 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
806 reviews
0.6 mi away
Venezia 2000 Hotel & Residence
Venezia 2000 Hotel & Residence
#5 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
548 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Laguna
Villa Laguna
#7 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Pannonia
Hotel Villa Pannonia
#6 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
308 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Boulevard Hotel
Le Boulevard Hotel
#8 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
806 reviews
0.5 mi away
Residence Le Ville del Lido
Residence Le Ville del Lido
#1 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riviera Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riviera Hotel

Property: Riviera Hotel
Address: Gran Viale Santa Maria Elisabetta 5, 30126 Lido di Venezia, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Lido di Venezia
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Lido di Venezia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riviera Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Riviera Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riviera Hotel Venice
Riviera Hotel Province Of Venice, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing