We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel but locale was not ideal for us”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Venezia 2000 Hotel & Residence
Ranked #5 of 33 Hotels in Lido di Venezia
Certificate of Excellence
Warwick, New York
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Nice hotel but locale was not ideal for us”
Reviewed 3 January 2012

The hotel itself was nice and rooms were clean. Rooms were also very spacious which you don't see often in Italy. Staff was friendly and helpful enough but overly so. We had a nice breakfast here and it's close to the beach (although we didn't utilize the beach much due to weather and the briefness of our stay in Venice).
We arrived on a Sunday in mid-September and when we stepped off the water bus it was like on ghost town. It was hard for us to catch a bus from the terminal to the hotel so we ended up walking most of the time. It's about a 10 minute walk. The main issue with the distance from the terminal to the hotel when the morning we had to leave. We needed to leave at 4am and we were told neither taxis nor buses run that early. It was very frustrating to walk with our luggage in the dark to catch the water bus. Luckily the island seems very safe.
We were didn't like the fact that the island is so much further away from the "touristy" areas and therefore spent a lot of time on the water bus.
This is a great locale if you want to be away from people or enjoy the beach but if you want to see the sights it's not ideal.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Warwicker08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

547 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    175
    264
    79
    22
    7
See reviews for
95
332
3
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

This hotel was recommended to us and I am so glad it was. The whole experience of staying in the Lido and not on the main island made the trip an adventure. We explored the lagoons and canals by using the vaporato (water bus) and enjoyed everything about the experience.
I have never smiled so much as venice really does take your breath away! but Burano is where we want to live.
The Venezia 2000 was a lovely hotel to come home to in the evening, all the staff were wonderful but one enhanced our time there by making our evenings very enjoyable with his company as we exchanged stories and shared jokes.You know who you are!!
The room was large enough and very clean and the food in the resturant was great, the service was excellent with very pleasent male/female staff and the wine perfect.
We didn't take a lot of pictures as we deciced venice is a different experience for every one and ours is the memory of a wonderful honeymoon. Thank you we will be back!
J & L Wylie

Room Tip: The room we had looking out to sea, gave us some spectacular October sky's.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lezli W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lubbock, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 31 October 2011

Stayed there for 2 days, Staff was friendly, rooms were clean close to the beach and not far from shopping. Do not have Ice or Vending machine, the only american channel you get is CNN. All in all we had a great time.

Room Tip: Balcony rooms are really nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tadine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2011

We stayed here in late October. I was intially unsure about staying away from Venice but with an excellent public transport system this proved to be no problem. The hotel itself is almost the perfect embodiment of a three star: good but not great. The rooms are comfortable and the furnishings are modern and well kept. Beds a decent size although the matresses a little hard. Bathrooms are decent, with modern fittings but no bath. No in room internet although this is available for free in the lobby. A few of the things we enjoyed about this hotel were: the restaurant - probably the best value we had during our stay; the happy hour which offered an excellent start to the evening; breakfast - a good choice and of good quality. As other reviewers have said - take bus B to Piazzale Roma not to Malamocco - otherwise you'll have an interesting diversion to a pretty village at the other end of the island from where you need to be. The bus stops right outside the hotel in both directions and is a 3 minute journey to the vaporetta stop. Take line 1 to get to Venice.

Room Tip: Third floor rooms we were in have a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank intrepidtravellers44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brough, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 28 October 2011

This hotel was ideal for our 3 night stay in Venice. Not being on the main island was not a problem - frequent water buses and land bus makes it easy to get from hotel to St Marks.
We were there at the end of Sept and it seemed a bit quiet in the hotel and on the beach. Room was very comfortable and had a lovely view out to sea.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HK_Mac_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2011

I booked this hotel for a 4 night break for our "mini-moon" in October, the hotel was perfect for our needs.
We transferred from Marco Polo airport by water bus, which was about £33 euros each. We then took the bus to the hotel - but watch out, it's bus B but bus B is kind of a circular & we got on it going the wrong way so almost an hour later we got off back where we started and ended up walking to the hotel - took less than 10 mins!!!
The Lido is lovely and quiet, there are a few bars & restaurants where you can sit outside and peacfully watch the world go by. We arrived Thursday, it was gorgeous day so we wandered down to the beach and watched the sunset, Friday it was terrible rain so again we stayed on the Lido. On Saturday we prpared ourselves and headed for the hustle & bustle of Venice which was about 10-mins away on water bus. We bought the 72-hour travel pass but didn't get our money's worth as Venice is so small we walked around all of it within 4 hours then got the water bus back to the Lido. We didn't go back over to Venice - not sure about world's most romantic city - way too busy!!
Anyway, this review is about Venezia which was great. Staff very friendly, most spoke excellent English and very exceptionally helpful. Breakfast was typical Italian continental - ham / cheese / rolls etc not amazing but filling - which is what you need when you're in one of the worlds most expensive cities!! A couple of evenings we headed back to the hotel at 9-ish and ordered pizzas to take to our room, they were gorgeous and very reasonably priced.
Our room was on the 2nd floor, we had a mini bar, small balcony and a lovely sea view. I noticed another reviewer mentioned a problem with the toilet, think we had the same thing but basically there is a big fluch & a small flush - it's the big flush that never ends but if you do a small flush after it does - certainly didn't ruin our holiday or impression fo the hotel! The shower was fabulous. Bedroom lacking a little in drawer space but was a decent size - especially compared to other offerings in Venice that cost 4 times more!!
I would definitely visit the Lido / Venezia 2000 again, in the summer months for a short break, but wouldn't rush back to Venice itself.

Room Tip: I requested sea-view, high floor as I do on all my bookings - sometimes you get lucky, others you do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Beth_Huddersfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2011

Amazing holiday at this hotel, we went in December so it was pretty quiet, had nice sea view, dont think we even requested this, breakfast buffett was nice, and we had dinner there 1 night and that was good too. Bed was so comfy, beautiful bathroom! Huge umberellas for free came in very useful and staff were very helpful and spoke fantastic english. Being on the Lido meant it was a bit of a joureny to the main sights, but to be honest i love ridding on the bus boats so much i kind of liked doing this at least twice a day :)
Would stay here again in a flash, amazing value!

Room Tip: Request a sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Becci D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lido di Venezia hotels
0.6 mi away
Residence Le Ville del Lido
Residence Le Ville del Lido
#1 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
339 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Pannonia
Hotel Villa Pannonia
#7 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
308 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Panorama
Hotel Panorama
#2 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Excelsior
Hotel Excelsior
#11 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
878 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riviera Hotel
Riviera Hotel
#13 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
416 reviews
0.6 mi away
Atlanta Augustus
Atlanta Augustus
#16 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Venezia 2000 Hotel & Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Venezia 2000 Hotel & Residence

Property: Venezia 2000 Hotel & Residence
Address: Lungomare Gabriele d'Annunzio 2, 30126 Lido di Venezia, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Lido di Venezia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Lido di Venezia
#9 Romantic Hotel in Lido di Venezia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Venezia 2000 Hotel & Residence 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A first class hotel that is an old style venetian building; all rooms are elegantly decorated and furnished. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Venezia 2000 Hotel & Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Venezia 2000 Hotel And Residence
Venezia 2000 Hotel & Residence Province Of Venice, Italy
Venezia 2000 Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing