We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rude reception service, bad breakfast, false information about Internet, nice room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Venezia 2000 Hotel & Residence
Ranked #5 of 33 Hotels in Lido di Venezia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 August 2012

We booked the hotel from booking.com based on that website's customers review and Trip Advisor's rating. We were looking for a hotel that could accommodate a car parking on Lido island. The double room rate of 112 euros included a breakfast and free cable Internet connection in the room, the latter being an important element in our choice.

The hotel is nicely located in front of the sea (across the street). On arrival, we went straight to the parking located on the backside of the hotel and registered at the hotel and received our key, all being very fast and easy.
Our room located on the side aisle of the hotel, was spacious and clean, with a good bathroom attached. The double bed (two single mattresses) was comfortable. The room is quiet with virtually no noise from outside or from other rooms, except noisy neighbors on one early morning.
The cable Internet connection from the wall did not work. We informed the reception about it and the receptionist said immediately that it could not be fixed before the next day, but that in the mean time we could enjoy Internet from the hotel's lobby. When I said that the room rate included a connection in the room, the receptionist proposed to check and let us change room if it could not be fixed. As it was indeed not easily fixable, we went to a ground floor room, small, dark and poorly decorated in which the wall connection didn't work either. The receptionist said that at least there we could catch the wifi. We kept the room upstairs and had to be happy with an irregular, ever dropping connection on the ground floor. The next day, nothing was fixed and we were told that we could anyway use the wifi and that nobody ever complained about the non-functioning Internet room cable connection. Now there is someone.
The breakfast buffet has stale pre-cut baguette, small crispy (stale) bread, apricot jam-filled warm croissant (a surprising finding), some fruit salad, some orange, a choice of cereal, some sheet of melted processed cheese and boiled eggs. The coffee, from the machine is definitely instant coffee. The milk looks like real fresh milk. Overall, not a particularly enjoyable breakfast at all.
On our last day there, we had to go to pick up our kids early morning on another part of Venice, leaving all our stuff in our room. Upon checking out at 10.30 am, we discovered that they had already used our credit card to pay our stay. The reason given was that we should have informed them when leaving the hotel in the morning. Basically they assumed that we had left without paying, leaving all our stuff in the room. The receptionist also mentioned that we brought our kids in for breakfast, supposedly enjoying two free breakfast. They sat at our table and did not take anything from the buffet or our plate - they had had their breakfast before since of course we knew only my wife and I had a breakfast included.
Overall, Venezia 2000 is well located, not far from the ferry and in front of the sea, the room was spacious, comfortable and clean. The hotel amenities were not as advertised and not to our expected standards in term of Internet services and breakfast. The staff attitude regarding our complaint about the unavailable room internet connection looked deceptive. The assumption of the reception that we would have left without paying, charging our credit card before checking-out time is simply rude. For the same price there must be similar rooms with honest service and polite reception on Lido.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Yunastic N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Venezia2000FrontDesk, Responsabile reception at Venezia 2000 Hotel & Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2012

Dear guest,
Thank you for leaving your feedback.
Kindly accept our apology if you did not totally enjoyed your stay in our hotel.
We would like to remind you that, as described on the mentioned websites, the free internet is just the wifi one in the public area. We offered the Economy room just because was the only room available.
We are sorry for the misunderstanding at the day of check out. It is our mistake.
We really hope you will give us a second opportunity to welcomy you again.
Best Regards,
Dussich Tomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (578)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

175 - 181 of 578 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2012

Booked via BA for flights and hotel and got quite a good deal. The hotel is at the end of the road opposite the Lido and just ten mins water taxi to St Marks square and all the other attractions, we booked a private taxi to get us from the airport and back which booking direct saved a fortune. As for the hotel we read mixed reviews and some bad ones about the attitude of staff but we found all the staff to be friendly & helpful, our oom was basic but had everything we needed and for 2 people definitely enough space, double bed drawers & bedside cabinets and a bathroom with shower (although not fixed high on the wall) and a sit in type bath, double wardrobe with safe. We didnt eat at the hotel as we like to go out and about and found some good restaurants in the square and also along the main part (ten mins walk in the opposite direction to the hotel) - although we didnt eat there in the evenings we saw that the table were always busy so the food must have been good, the deal did include breakfast and again comments were made "no eggs" well not a problem for us - we ate what was there and there was enough - coissants, fruit, ham, cheeses, yoghurt & cereal, juices and tea coffee etc although we did see some people with hard boiled eggs so they must have been available. the room was cleaned daily and as we were in the "garden room" we had a few insects but nothing too terrible. Location was fantastic - opposite the beach which is a great managed beach - so clean - negative point is you have to pre-book sunbeds etc at the hotel and we got the last one on the saturday and only 3 left for the sunday and at 25 euro a day is very expensive, they also supply you with a bracelet which gives you access to showers and toilets (although you can squeeze through the barrier!!!) also its just ten minutes to the water taxis and a nice stroll takes you past restaurants and shops - we also had a music night on the saturday which was great fun, some of the bars along the way are expensive and we ended up walking out of one because the wine was watered down and the loo the most disgusting we have ever seen (our choice to tryit though) - all in all we had a great few days there and will definitely consider the hotel if we go to venice again. Another thing i just remembered is that the hotel has a roof terrace which was nice for the last few hours before checking out on sunday, plenty of FREE beds and a hottub jacuzzi - also a excercise bike and resistance weight machine (too hot to use) but great to know available if wanted.

Room Tip: Room 81 was quiet although there are sea view at a price - another tip - pre-book water taxi online...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TheGooners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights and had a great stay on the Lido & loved our time in Venice. The blonde lady on reception was very friendly & made a good impression on arrival. The hotel is a standard 3 star, yes the Walls are thin and it could do with a refurb but it's clean & comfortable. Breakfast was good with plenty of choice, we will hopefully be back again one day.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samdeadwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012

Started off on a bad note the room was not ready on trying to check in at 2pm - finally got the key about 2.45. No complaints whatsoever about the room, clean, spacious, good air conditioning.
What a shame about the male restaurant employee and bar man. No hospitality skills whatsoever, miserable, surly, making breakfast a thoroughly unpleasant experience. The barman in the evening was even worse, scruffy and rude.
On the plus side the cleaning staff were very friendly always had a smile - the could teach the other staff a great deal.
The location of the hotel should have been perfect, sea view etc. badly let down by the bar opposite and the noise from the music playing until late at night and the view of the hospital next door which has been closed down and left to rot and is covered in graffiti.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fryhunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2012

We wanted to stay off the mainland to save a bit of money. I think Lido itself is really pretty and an excellent alternative to staying on the mainland. There's a lovely beach, lots of bars and restaurants and a bit more greenery than Venice. It's a short boat ride to Venice on the vaparetto - although do have a bit of a think about the best kind of ticket to buy as it's pretty expensive. We made the mistake of buying two 24 hour tickets instead of 48 hour tickets which would have saved us about €30!

Anyway, the hotel was nice enough. We arrived quite late at night and we were checked in very quickly. The room was clean and the bathroom was modern. Our only real gripe was that it was advertised as having a sea view/view of the hotel grounds, but only the latter was true; we couldn't see the sea at all. We only made it to breakfast once, but as we are vegan, hotel breakfasts aren't usually worth getting out of bed for as they are mostly made of ham and cheese >.< seemed OK to us though. There are a number of small bars lining the main street including a great bar on a bus which was about 5 mins down the road. The owner made me a vegetable sandwich, which was very nice of him. It's about a 15 min walk to the vaparetto station and nearby to the station are a number of shops, cafes, restaurants and gelaterias. There is also a supermarket called 'Billa' which doesn't look much like a supermarket from the outside as all the window displays surrounding it were all clothing...definitely a useful tip if you want to pick up snacks before you leave, buying food in Venice is really pricey.

All in all, a good deal for the price and nicely located.

Room Tip: Only rooms at the front have a sea view - side ones will be of the grounds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank spiderylue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2012

Cars & buses ferry to Lido Island, so hauling baggage to your hotel is not a problem. Our tour substantially occupied the hotel, and we had good service and good food, with an abundant hot breakfast. Easy commute to the airport by vaporetto and an easy walk from the wharf. Hotel faces the beaches on the outward side of the island. The elevator is small, but the bellhops took luggage up - not a problem. The alternative is schlepping luggage to an in-town hotel and paying premium(!) prices in Venice, perhaps preferable IF you've decided to throw caution and checkbook to the winds for a romantic stay in Venice. This was quite pleasant, and certainly convenient to get to the airport on our way home.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mitch-MK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Venezia2000FrontDesk, Front Office Manager at Venezia 2000 Hotel & Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2012

Dear Guest,

we thank you for your positive feedback.
We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay
at our Hotel and we look forward to welcome
you again in the near future.

With best regards,

Andrea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2012

We stayed here during a holiday to Venice. The building itself is nothing fancy and you have a fair walk to get to it. Our problems started as soon as we arrived. We arrived along with a few others who had come on the same vaparetto from the airport. We were greeted, if you can call it that, by an extremely put out receptionist. There was some problem with the rooms but rather than talk to us she left us standing around like spare parts for 30 minutes. Eventually we were given a key and no other explanation, not even told which floor we were on. Upon finding our room it was extremely small, dirty and hot. There were no facilities for a drink or place to sit comfortably. In all honesty we were tired and it was late so we just decided to try and ind some food and try to sort it out the next day. When we got back to lobby we met with another couple who were having similar problems. I tried to ask the receptionist if there was anywhere we could get something to eat but he reply was merely a vacant shrug so we gave up and headed out. We did manage to find great bar around 10 minutes walk away and that turned out to be a saving grace for the Lido.

First nighty we didn't really get any sleep as it was so hot and stuffy, the air con didn't work, next morning we attempted to sort things out at reception and after much negotiating they agreed t take a look at it. We learnt quickly on the first morning not to drink the tea or coffee and to find breakfast elsewhere. That night the air con still wasn't working. Next day back to reception only to be told it was fine. I pointed out that it was stuck on 29 degrees and that was far too hot. The reply to this was that is how all Italians like it and they were not prepared to turn it down.

All in all I wouldn't recommend this hotel and most of that is based on the rudely poor customer service and lack of facilities. Has Venice itself not been so wonderful it would have spoilt the holiday.

Room Tip: The best room is located in an alternative hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kesira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lido di Venezia hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Panorama
Hotel Panorama
#2 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
839 reviews
0.6 mi away
Residence Le Ville del Lido
Residence Le Ville del Lido
#1 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
388 reviews
0.5 mi away
Le Boulevard Hotel
Le Boulevard Hotel
#7 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel La Pergola di Venezia
Hotel La Pergola di Venezia
#19 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
360 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungaria
Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungari...
#3 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
922 reviews
3.4 mi away
Ca' del Moro Foresteria
Ca' del Moro Foresteria
#26 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Venezia 2000 Hotel & Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Venezia 2000 Hotel & Residence

Address: Lungomare Gabriele d'Annunzio 2, 30126 Lido di Venezia, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Lido di Venezia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Lido di Venezia
#9 Romantic Hotel in Lido di Venezia
Price Range: £42 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Venezia 2000 Hotel & Residence 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A first class hotel that is an old style venetian building; all rooms are elegantly decorated and furnished. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Venezia 2000 Hotel & Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Venezia 2000 Hotel And Residence
Venezia 2000 Hotel & Residence Province Of Venice, Italy
Venezia 2000 Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing