We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“WONDERFUL Hotel, Thin Walls”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Venezia 2000 Hotel & Residence
Ranked #7 of 33 Hotels in Lido di Venezia
Certificate of Excellence
Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“WONDERFUL Hotel, Thin Walls”
Reviewed 29 November 2010

This hotel was an absolute HAVEN after traveling without sleep for nearly 24 hours.

We took the #52 vaporetto to Lido from the Piazalle Roma. Then caught the B bus (make sure you get the one that says Aeropuerto-S.Elena, as the other buses will take forever, and some won't get you there at all!) for the 8 minute ride to the hotel.

When we arrived, the front desk clerks were awesome (waving at Nicolas!). Super friendly, and all spoke at least five languages, including English. When we checked in, they gave us a Venice map, a remote control for the in-room TV, and great advice on local restaurants.

We were incredibly fortunate with the room we received. Room 202 was a corner room with two little balconies (one overlooked the water) and a nice big window. We could hear the waves from the Adriatic sea, and listen to the sea gulls in the mornings. Lovely.

To turn the lights on in the room, you slide your room key into a slot on the wall. When you leave the room for the day, you pull the key out, and that shuts off the power. Very ingenious!

The room itself was great. High ceilings, gold brocade curtains, a large closet with hangers and a room safe (the safe is not quite large enough to accommodate a 15" laptop), a flat-screen TV attached to the wall (mostly Italian channels, a German channel, a French channel, and an English language CNN channel), a large desk, a luggage rack, several comfy chairs, and a Queen sized bed so big you could sleep vertically or horizontally.

The hotel offers excellent in-room internet for a low cost (we paid about 20 Euros for a week), and we used this every day with my laptop. A WAY better value than the pre-paid wifi from HelloVenezia.

The bathroom has a shower, sink, toilet, bidet, and towel warmer. Plenty of towels, the floors and fixtures were always kept sparkling clean by the daily maid service, and the shower has the best water pressure of any hotel I've ever stayed in.

The daily breakfast was good and plentiful. Breads, meats, cheeses, several kinds of cereal, several kinds of fruit, lots of fresh juice, and a latte maker. I read several reviews that said the waiters and restaurant owner here were rude, but they were fantastic to us and super patient with our sad attempts at Italian :). If you want to save money, I suggest you have a big breakfast here, and you'll be good to go for most of the day.

Also, take advantage of the hotel's free hour bike rental! They've got a whole selection of bikes, and it's a treat to ride along the seashore there. The different types of seashells scattered all over the beach are amazing. Every size and color you could imagine.

Now for the negative: The reviews are right about noise. The hotel is a total gem otherwise, and a huge value compared to the other cramped, musty places you could get for the same price, so it’s just something you need to prepare yourself for.

You'll likely have three kinds of noise to deal with: First, there’s some kind of heating system in the hotel that, when it kicks in, sounds like a whole group of construction workers using sledge hammers on metal pipes. That sound kicked in at least twice between 4:30 and 6 AM several mornings of our stay.

Second, if you have a street-facing room, you'll deal with the noise from the occasional bus, etc. This one wasn't a huge issue for us.

Third, you'll deal with the noise from your fellow hotel guests. We were lucky. Because our room was a corner room, only one wall was adjacent to another guests'. But this was still enough to have us blushing with serious embarrassment and longing for earplugs. My advice: make sure to ask for a corner room, and prepare to crank your TV to drown out other noises, when needed.

Two final tips: First, as at least one other reviewer pointed out, the walk from the vaporetto stop to the hotel is definitely more than 10 minutes. My husband and I are fairly athletic, and at a brisk pace, the walk took us nearly 20 minutes. It's a beautiful walk, but not super short. Just something to keep in mind.

Last, there is a spectacular little restaurant in downtown Lido that's worth a try if you want something different than the hotel's food. It's called Glacial, and it's right across the street from the Hotel Reiter. The place was always crammed with locals (a good sign) and the food, service, and prices were outstanding!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kelli S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    170
    257
    77
    22
    8
See reviews for
95
323
3
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Sussex
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2010

My boyfriend and I booked this hotel basically because it was dirt cheap. Based on that we weren't expecting a massive deal. I have to say we were pleasantly suprised by this place. It is a little hard to find from the ferry stop, about a 10 minute walk across to the other side of the lido - carrying our cases we were a little worried that we were too far away from anything! However, when we arrived the receptionist was very friendly. The public areas of the hotel were well kept and clean - our room was also clean, if a little run-down (the walls needed a lick of paint) The bathroom was modern and clean with a nice shower. The location of the hotel didn't turn out to be much of a problem, it was nice to have a stroll over to the ferry stop everyday, and you can buy a 3 day ticket for all the ferry's (like a travelcard) The boat ride over to Venice proper took about another 10 mins. We actually ate in the hotel most nights, the food tasted good and was typically priced for Venice. The breakfasts were standard, bread, toaster, cheese, ham, sweetbread, jams and spreads etc. Overall, we enjoyed our stay here and would definately consider it again!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mohalloran7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dussich, Front Office Manager at Venezia 2000 Hotel & Residence, responded to this review, 5 November 2010
Dear Sir / Madame,
thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback about your stay with us. We are very grateful for your positive comments.
Looking forward to welcoming you again and we wish you all the best.
Kind Regards

Elisabetta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arcadia, California, USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2010

Do NOT stay at this hotel if you want any sleep during your stay. We booked this hotel based on Tripadvisor's reviews and it was a total nightmare!! We did not get any sleep during our 4 days/3 nights stay at this hotel. The first night they put us in a "nonsmoking" room which was filled with cigaratte smell. Even though we requested to change room right away, they had us wait till the next day. I was 3 months pregnant and had our 22 months old daughter with us. Having to stay in a filthy room with the cigaratte smell was unbearable. On top of this, there were lots of "big" mesquitos and spiders that we were trying to fight off through out the night. These mesquitos were so "big" that when you smash it, you'll see a lof of blood coming out from previous victims (not a pretty picture). Aftern switching to the new room, we realized the air conditioner doesn't work. We decided not to bother front desk again as they're not that nice/friendly. At night is when we realizd thhe biggest problem in this main building rooms, there is no sound proof for the rooms at all, zero. So, you will hear people who get in late and wants to stay up late talking, people who get up early to go out, you name it. You will hear everything in your neighbor's rooms throughout the night. We didn't get any sleep during our stay here and had a hard time sight seeing during the day due to lack of sleep. Once we got to our next hotel, we decided to take a day off from doing anything so we could catchup on our sleep. There is more disappointing things to mention but the biggest problem we had here was SLEEPLESS nights.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mai14cc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dussich, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Venezia 2000 Hotel & Residence, responded to this review, 13 October 2010
Dear Sir/Madam,

Let me thank you for your stay at hotel Venezia2000. We really appreciate it.

If we were unable to change your room on the first night ,it is because the hotel was fully booked.
Due to the lagoon and the high humidity rate in Venise there are mosquitos but this matter is a fact on which the hotel does not have control.

Kindly accept our deepest apology for all the inconveniences caused.

While the lack of service you experienced is unusual and not the standard of our hotel, we deeply regret the inconvenience and annoyance this incident caused.

Thank you again for your comments.
We hope that you will give us another chance to serve you in the future.

With Best Regards

Nicolas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnshire, England
Level Contributor
71 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2010

This hotel is very well placed on the Lido: 10 minutes walk to the water-bus and 2 minutes to the beach. The rooms are basic, clean and air-conditioned. There is a useful roof-top solarium which we had to ourselves most of the time. Continental breakfast buffet was plentiful but unexciting. There are plenty of restaurants within easy walking distance.


The excellent vaporetti waterbus service made this an excellent base for visiting Venice - highly recommended. We bought 7 day unlimited use passes which could also be used on land buses on the Lido and for the bus to/from the airport. This works out cheaper than using the Alialguna ferry but it does take longer.

To get from the airport to the hotel take the Number 5 bus to the bus station at Piazzale Roma, then take either a number 1 or 2 vaporetti to Lido. (1 stops at every stop and takes longer but is a great was to travel along the Grand Canal and see the sights) At the Lido vaporetti stop take either a B or G bus - both stop outside the hotel – alternatively a taxi from the vaporetti stop to the hotel cost 15 euro.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Spaldingtyner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dussich, Receptionist at Venezia 2000 Hotel & Residence, responded to this review, 15 October 2010
Dear Sir/Madam,

thank you for choosing Hotel venezia 2000***!

We are glad to know that you had a good stay with us during
your holidays.

We look forward to welcome you again in the future...
Thank you for your comments.
Our best regards,

Andrea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2010

Stayed here with 3 friends last June. Great hotel, service was exceptional. Rooms small but adequate. Biggest bonus was big terrace with sun beds on the roof where we crashed after a day's sightseeing, or if we didn't plan to spend long on the beach. Beach just opposite hotel, great Italian family atmosphere. Hotel has 2 rows at front of private beach available for guest rental. 10 minute walk to vaporetto to venice proper. Wonderful views of Venice from the rooftop terrace at sundown. Bikes available to borrow - but get there early if you want a decent one as some of them were pretty ramshackle.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Currie_McCormick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N.Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 21 July 2010

My boyfriend took me for my 30th birthday present for a long weekend and after having dinner at one of the little restaurants on the Grande Canal and going on a late eveing Gondola ride on our last night in Venice my boyfriend asked me to marry him while standing on the di Rialto bridge (perfect and romantic).
While there we stayed at the VENEZIA 2000 HOTEL, the hotel was great even though it was on the far side of Lido. We were lucky enough to get a room over looking the wonderful Lido Beach, we couldn't have asked for a better room. The room was very clean and we had no noise problems, the staff where really friendly and helpful again we couldn't have asked for anything better.
Lido it's self is beauitful and highly recomended as a island to stay on when in Venice, Lido felt safe and friendly and seemed family friendly for those with children.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrandMrs_McKinney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bangalore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2010

We made a last minute deal for this hotel and were afraid how it will turn out but it was one of the good decisions , this hotel is really nice , very windy as it is opp to sea, well maintained and very comfortable

On reaching lido u need to walk for 10 min to reach this place , rooms are small but very cozy , we got a corner room open on both sides and you get very good views of sea from the room.

The breakfast offered was also good and hotel have cycle on rent , try exploring lido on cycle it will be fun.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sachintravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lido di Venezia hotels
0.6 mi away
Residence Le Ville del Lido
Residence Le Ville del Lido
#1 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
293 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Pannonia
Hotel Villa Pannonia
#4 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
292 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Panorama
Hotel Panorama
#2 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Russo Palace Hotel
Russo Palace Hotel
#8 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
305 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Petit Palais
Hotel Petit Palais
#11 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
256 reviews
0.6 mi away
Villa Laguna
Villa Laguna
#5 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Venezia 2000 Hotel & Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Venezia 2000 Hotel & Residence

Property: Venezia 2000 Hotel & Residence
Address: Lungomare Gabriele d'Annunzio 2, 30126 Lido di Venezia, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Lido di Venezia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Lido di Venezia
#4 Family Hotel in Lido di Venezia
#9 Romantic Hotel in Lido di Venezia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Venezia 2000 Hotel & Residence 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A first class hotel that is an old style venetian building; all rooms are elegantly decorated and furnished. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Venezia 2000 Hotel & Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Venezia 2000 Hotel And Residence
Venezia 2000 Hotel & Residence Province Of Venice, Italy
Venezia 2000 Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing