We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay in Venice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungaria
Ranked #3 of 33 Hotels in Lido di Venezia
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good place to stay in Venice”
Reviewed 12 November 2012

We stayed here as part of a driving tour in Europe. We picked Lido Island to be able to have our car close by and the necessity of taking the Water Bus did not trouble us. The hotel is very well presented with wonderful frescoes on the outside and some magnificent decorations on the inside. We stayed there two nights and found it to be a great place to get away from the crowds in Venice. The rooms were well maintained and the food was very good. As part of our tour we had a private party on the balcony and again the food was great tasting and plentiful and even a waiter that sang along with our guitarist! The first night we were there (a Thursday) they had a tango party on the terrace, which is apparently a regular thing.

Wouldn't hesitate to recommend.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TourdeEurope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

888 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    350
    369
    116
    30
    23
See reviews for
180
494
25
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lagos, Nigeria
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

stayed here twice for visiting the biennale. It's location on the lido means you get the boat each day to approach Venice proper, with great vistas. It's really convenient for visiting the biennale giardini, just one or two stops, and you can avoid the tourist laden grand canal waterbuses.
The hotel inside is nice but nothing special compared to the external architecture which is wonderful, great to come back to in the evening. The spa is a bit small but the Thai massages are fabulous ( you pay extra for both). Buffet breakfast is very good for Italy and the breakfast room conservatory is pleasant.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms are quieter and smaller but some have a bit of a view across the lagoon to Venice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank marybrace99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2012

Stayed just one night at this property at the end of a cruise. It is a beautiful property. The rooms are clean and tastefully decorated. The staff is exceptionally friendly and very helpful! The grounds are well manicured and very welcoming. The buffet breakfast is plentiful with many options. The location is perfect...there is tasty gelato and wonderful pasta just across the street. Additionally, if you are trying to avoid the crowds often encountered in the busier parts of Venice (i.e. St Marks Square) this could very well be the place for you. Easily accessible by waterbus. Small town feel with just enough to do (there is a beach within walking distance from this hotel!)

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank artsy737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martinsville, Indiana
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2012 via mobile

Rooms were very small. Beds not comfortable. Not very close to the highlights of Venice so would need to ride water bus back and forth. Breakfast was better than other we had while in Italy. Building is beautiful on the outside but rooms average.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank angiem1169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2012

Celebrating our 40th wedding anniverdary, thought Venice would be good. Arrival at hotel approx 12 midnight. Upgrade room to front cost 40 euros per night extra and well worth it. Room typical Old Italian, NO tea/coffee facilities but this is typical of Venice hotels. 4* should really make an effort. do like a cuppa in the mornings. bathroom big wish there had been a hook for the shower and had to squat, kneel for shower in bath. very clean and spotless. breakfast was ok nothing special, the Italians do like their bread!!!!reception staff very helpful. The lido was beautiful place to stay this time of year, the cafe culture is great. not much choice of food, unless you wish to pay on for it. pizza, (better in Italian restuarant in Thailand lol) pasta etc.
The transport system is fantastic, just get your head around which way you want to go and check boards for Nos. just like uk buses but on water.
flew to Treviso and transfer no problem return coach with ATVO was 13 euros and a Vaporatta 72 hour pass was 30 Euros excellent. All in all an enjoyable few days.

Room Tip: front room is best overlooking bar and street, but not noisey.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jackiec88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2012

We arrived past 1am here, so just for a sleep. Booked a Jr Suite, which was quite spacious. They have sky tv and breakfast, although we were told it was over by 1030am, but really was over at 10am. So cant comment on that. The location is great for Lido, esp from the water taxi landing.

Room Tip: Get a room on the front side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank whip383
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
County Durham
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2012

After first arriving at 10.00 p.m. on the nail when the restaurant closed, they kept it open for us which was a nice touch, offering to take our bags to our room too (doesnt happen often when you are fit and able looking!) Found the food very nice, dining room elegant, piano being played in the corner, quite romantic really. Outside bar area very pleasant, think its open from 5 p.m. til midnight for both drinks and coffees.

Thai massage in the basement was very good, you can use the spa on its own though for 20 euros if you want (jacuzzi, sauna and turkish bath). Our room was nice and spacious, we requested a double bed when booking, faced with a huge bed in the room, then realised it was two big singles pushed together! which didn't really matter too much. I have given it 4 stars only because the breakfast let it down a bit, they kept running out of bacon and eggs (not very good quality, rubbery egg and greasy bacon having said that!) and a 20 minute wait for them to be refilled. They ran out of juice one morning. Okay if you like a light breakfast though - cereals, yoghurts, cheese, bread, jams etc. We breakfasted at 9.40 a.m. one day and decided to go earlier the second day, around 8.30 - no different though - when I asked if they had run out of bacon, they said no, they'd had a big coach tour party in for breakfast earlier! So I wouldn't rush down early expecting better! Nice olde worlde hotel, paint coming off our bathroom window a bit which some people would perhaps not be happy about but I can live with the odd imperfection esp as we had gone for basic room at a very good price when booking, deciding to gamble not paying more for 'junior suites' etc. other than this the bathroom was fine, bath with shower, bidet, and quite modern. In all we were pleasantly surprised with the rooms spaciousness.

I would recommend it because its a short walk to the Lido ferry stop (3-4 mins) and then only 10-15 mins on the ferry to St Marks Piazza stop so very convenient and its the same distance going the other direction up the street to the beach, there are also a few pizzeria's near the hotel for eating out on Lido, prices from around 7 euros for a basic Marguerita pizza.

Didnt realise the hotel hired bikes but theres also a place near the ferry port which had a whole load of bikes, tandems, kiddy seats etc and the prices were reasonable, tandem hire 11 euros for two hours.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the stairs/lifts and with a double bed at booking stage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Durham22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lido di Venezia hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Excelsior Venice
Hotel Excelsior Venice
#11 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
911 reviews
0.3 mi away
Residence Le Ville del Lido
Residence Le Ville del Lido
#1 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
364 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Panorama
Hotel Panorama
#2 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Villa Pannonia
Hotel Villa Pannonia
#5 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
316 reviews
0.1 mi away
Biasutti Hotel
Biasutti Hotel
#19 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
349 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Mabapa
Hotel Villa Mabapa
#4 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungaria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungaria

Property: Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungaria
Address: Gran Viale Santa Maria Elisabetta 28, 30126 Lido di Venezia, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Lido di Venezia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Lido di Venezia
#3 Luxury Hotel in Lido di Venezia
#5 Family Hotel in Lido di Venezia
#7 Romantic Hotel in Lido di Venezia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungaria 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grande Albergo AUSONIA & HUGARIA is a historic residence in Venice with a one-of-a-kind atmosphere with a Thai SPA and wellness center. The hotel is just a few minutes from the dock where the "vaporetto", the local public water-bus transportation, leave every 10 minutes for Saint Mark's Square, the downtown of Venice. The suggestive boat trip is just 10 minutes long and takes you through the Saint Mark's basin.The hotel is a welcoming gem in Liberty style with period furniture, large frescoed halls, perfect for any type of event, a renowned restaurant and rooms with every comfort for a romantic and exclusive stay.Every year, many national and international stars select the Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungaria for their stay in Lido during the Mostra Internazionale d’Arte Cinematografica (the Venice Film Festival) to appreciate the beauty and charm of the timeless structure and the superior service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungaria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grande Albergo Ausonia And Hungaria Wellness & Spa On Venice Lido Hotel
Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungaria Province Of Venice, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing