We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Hotel in great location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungaria
Ranked #3 of 33 Hotels in Lido di Venezia
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel in great location!”
Reviewed 12 February 2013

I was pleasantly surprised upon arriving at this hotel, the hotel is in a fab location, just two minute walk from the main ferry stop, very easy to get from Marco Polo Airport. There is a supermarket selling virtually everything a few minutes walk away, and lots of coffee shops and cafes on your doorstep.
The entrance to the hotel is grander than the interior, which is very nice, but I wouldn’t say a 4*. Our room was very comfortable and had the space that we needed, very comfy beds. I stayed with my friend in a twin room. The rooms have SKY TV if needed, but I didn’t go to Venice to watch TV. The breakfast included was typical Italian, which I very much enjoy. Bread rolls, home-made cake, lots of jams and a hot buffet on offer. We did not eat at the hotel for dinner as there are so my lovely restaurants around San Marco Piazza and a lovely Pizzeria across the road from the hotel which served great food and which was very cheap! Expect to pay €8 for a delicious pizza.
Please note there is a tourist info office on the same side as the hotel nearer the ferry terminal which the reception at the hotel failed to inform us of, the lady at the tourist office was extremely helpful, and gave us lots of Italian chocolates too.
We did not use the spa as it seemed rather expensive €95 for a massage! But overall the hotel was fantastic I have no complaints. And if ever in Venice again which I'm sure I will be. I would definitely stay here again, well worth the money!!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EmmaVolare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

859 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    341
    354
    111
    30
    23
See reviews for
174
474
23
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Netanya, Israel
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2013

We are frequent visitors to Venice and usually stay in Venice . For our last 2 visits we opted to stay on the Lido at this hotel. This time we took a 7 day "Half board in a Junior Suite and Spa faculties & treatment " package.
Location is great, a short walk to the water station and a quick ride to Venice. The room was comfortable and the bed with its overhanging canopy gave the delightful impression that we were sleeping in a medieval castle.
The room and bathroom were both spotlessly clean.
As we would be arriving late at night after the restaurant was closed, I tried to cancel payment for the first evening dinner. I was informed that because we had a package deal this was not possible. Instead they prepared an excellent and adequate cold buffet of meats, cheeses and wine which was waiting for us when we received the room.
On the last day we had an early departure, long before breakfast and they obliged by giving us takeaway packaged breakfasts .
These 2 gestures coupled with the readiness of the friendly, patient and professional front desk staff to assist us at all times with our non ending questions on tides, boat timetables etc, made our stay very enjoyable.
The morning breakfasts were adequate, but frankly, we have had better in Venice. The prepaid evening meals were average and with the same limited choice menu every evening, rather boring.
The spa is excellent and the standard of the massages, outstanding. I had three treatments during our stay and after each treatment walked out feeling years younger and floating a few inches above the ground!
Bottom line; A highly recommended home base, especially if one needs peace and tranquility after busy days of walking in Venice.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Meyer A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2013

Pros: The staff at this hotel were exceptional, they went above and beyond their duties to make our stay perfect. We stayed here for my birthday celebration and the staff went out and bought beautiful roses for me from my husband, helped organise treatments in the spa and when we got back to the room the flowers were waiting for me with complimentary champagne and snacks. They recommended places to shop, and even warned us about times St Mark's Square would be flooded.

I would definitely recommend the spa and suggest the longer massage, it was fantastic. Quite pricey but worth the money.

The hotel was room, bathroom and hotel were very clean, no complaints.

The location was a couple of minutes walk to the water taxi and a 10 minute ride to St Marks Square.Much quieter and romantic too in Lido. You can also get a ferry straight to the airport too which took just under a hour. If you walk to the end of the road there is a beach there, we only went to have a look not really a beach destination. There are plenty of restaurants just outside the hotel if you don't fancy eating in the hotel, alot cheaper than eating elsewhere in Venice. There are a quite a few shops around too, and a supermarket if you want to go and get some water/drinks.

The breakfast was great, a reasonable amount of choice and all fresh, lovely. Bar serves yummy cocktails.

My next time in Venice, this will certainly be the place we stay.

Cons: Actually don't have any.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank travellover2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2012

Just arrived back from a special treat for my wife's 50th. Stayed in the Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungaria Wellness & Spa on Venice Lido Hotel and what a lovely hotel. Beautiful throughout, lovely staff and great location to visit Venice using the local busboats. Breakfast was very nice and the Spa was excellent although could get busy in the summer months. The hotel left a bottle of bubbly in our room as a welcome gift for my wife which was a nice touch.
Tea and coffee making facilities in room are not standard but were provided upon request although had to purchase our own milk.

Room Tip: We had a corner room which gave us two windows giving a larger feel to the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kitters_nailsea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkby Lonsdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
172 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2012

Stayed at this hotel for two nights, excellent location a few minutes walk from the water bus into Venice. The rooms were spotless, if. Little old fashioned, but charming, very Art Deco and the palace itself has a lot of history.

Staff very friendly, breakfasts very good. Terrace and cocktails excellent, didn't try the restaurant but will do next time.

Tea and coffee facilities would have been good, perhaps the hotel would consider this for us Brits who like our early morning cuppa.

Bren 1812

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bren181254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2012

We stayed here as part of a driving tour in Europe. We picked Lido Island to be able to have our car close by and the necessity of taking the Water Bus did not trouble us. The hotel is very well presented with wonderful frescoes on the outside and some magnificent decorations on the inside. We stayed there two nights and found it to be a great place to get away from the crowds in Venice. The rooms were well maintained and the food was very good. As part of our tour we had a private party on the balcony and again the food was great tasting and plentiful and even a waiter that sang along with our guitarist! The first night we were there (a Thursday) they had a tango party on the terrace, which is apparently a regular thing.

Wouldn't hesitate to recommend.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TourdeEurope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lagos, Nigeria
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

stayed here twice for visiting the biennale. It's location on the lido means you get the boat each day to approach Venice proper, with great vistas. It's really convenient for visiting the biennale giardini, just one or two stops, and you can avoid the tourist laden grand canal waterbuses.
The hotel inside is nice but nothing special compared to the external architecture which is wonderful, great to come back to in the evening. The spa is a bit small but the Thai massages are fabulous ( you pay extra for both). Buffet breakfast is very good for Italy and the breakfast room conservatory is pleasant.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms are quieter and smaller but some have a bit of a view across the lagoon to Venice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank marybrace99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lido di Venezia hotels
0.3 mi away
Residence Le Ville del Lido
Residence Le Ville del Lido
#1 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
293 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Panorama
Hotel Panorama
#2 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
778 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Villa Pannonia
Hotel Villa Pannonia
#4 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Excelsior
Hotel Excelsior
#10 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
841 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Laguna
Villa Laguna
#5 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
526 reviews
0.5 mi away
Venezia 2000 Hotel & Residence
Venezia 2000 Hotel & Residence
#7 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungaria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungaria

Property: Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungaria
Address: Gran Viale Santa Maria Elisabetta 28, 30126 Lido di Venezia, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Lido di Venezia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Lido di Venezia
#3 Luxury Hotel in Lido di Venezia
#5 Family Hotel in Lido di Venezia
#7 Romantic Hotel in Lido di Venezia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungaria 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grande Albergo AUSONIA & HUGARIA is a historic residence in Venice with a one-of-a-kind atmosphere with a Thai SPA and wellness center. The hotel is just a few minutes from the dock where the "vaporetto", the local public water-bus transportation, leave every 10 minutes for Saint Mark's Square, the downtown of Venice. The suggestive boat trip is just 10 minutes long and takes you through the Saint Mark's basin.The hotel is a welcoming gem in Liberty style with period furniture, large frescoed halls, perfect for any type of event, a renowned restaurant and rooms with every comfort for a romantic and exclusive stay.Every year, many national and international stars select the Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungaria for their stay in Lido during the Mostra Internazionale d’Arte Cinematografica (the Venice Film Festival) to appreciate the beauty and charm of the timeless structure and the superior service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungaria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grande Albergo Ausonia And Hungaria Wellness & Spa On Venice Lido Hotel
Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungaria Province Of Venice, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing