We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing hotel to escape from the hustle and bustle of central Venice.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungaria
Ranked #3 of 33 Hotels in Lido di Venezia
Certificate of Excellence
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Relaxing hotel to escape from the hustle and bustle of central Venice.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2013

We booked this hotel for a 5 day break to celebrate our silver wedding anniversary and were not at all disappointed. All the staff were very pleasant and helpful. Assistance was offered with our luggage but wasn't required. A complimentary bottle of Prosecco was placed in our room on arrival. The room & bathroom were very clean and serviced every day. The hairdryer in the bathroom was one of those wall mounted ones which aren't particularly efficient so I requested a better one from reception and was told I could keep it for the remainder of our stay. Breakfast was varied and plentiful.
Our intention was to spend most of our time in Central Venice so we purchased an Alilaguna waterbus pass before our trip on line which we collected at the boat departure pier at Marco Polo airport , a well signposted 7 minute walk from the airport terminal. We definitely had our money's worth with this pass as we used it every day travelling to and from San Marco and other stops.
After lots of walking and sightseeing in Venice we returned to Lido in the early evenings. The hotel bar & terrace enabled us to appreciate the beautiful exterior of the buliding whist relaxing with an Aperol Spritz.There are plenty of restaurants to choose from close to the hotel.
There's a bicycle hire shop approx 5 mins walk from the hotel, so we hired a surry on our last afternoon and had a lovely time cycling around the island with little effort as Lido is quite flat. We would love to visit Venice and Lido again and would recommend the Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungaria to others.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1988Scotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

860 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    342
    354
    111
    30
    23
See reviews for
174
475
23
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2013

Me and my two companions arrived in Venice the day before Water Busses had declared a strike. As the hotel was off the main island and we were flying back on the day of the strike, we were panicked. However the receptionist came to our rescue and helped out by mapping out the options available to us.
The hotel itself is pretty grand and beautiful in its decor. Rooms are pretty well sized and clean, beds are comfortable however the walls are not thick enough to block out the noise of your neighbours... So be warned.
Breakfast in the morning was nice, the usual options.
If you don't want to stay in the main land of Venice near all the hubbub and noise, Lido is your best option. Just 20mins away on the water bus.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FKhatun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2013

I have booked a ‘large suite’ and was looking forward to unwinding in luxury whilst the rest of Venice was soaked with rain, but I was given (by bell boy’s admission) a family room, consisted of two small-interconnected rooms. Having already settled in the rooms with my three children I decided to enjoy the holiday and not to discuss the matter with hotel staff. Annoyingly, the day before checking out I was put in a situation when I had to refute the suggestion that I have consumed more than I have from the mini-bar. The matter was not raised the next day but I had to prepare mentally to argue over it and that ruined my impression of the hotel.
On a positive side, the beds were amazingly confortable.

Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Almir5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2013

For anyone who loves Art Nouveau design, this is a hotel with details that will give you much to look at and enjoy. The most impressive element of this hotel is the recently restored tile and plaster exterior. The glass awning, think Paris Metro entrances, completes the Belle Epoch feel for the large, enclosed garden with gazebo and outdoor seating. Our children were entranced with the canopy over the bed, and the antique furniture. That said, the bathroom was modern and comfortable

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 222Antonia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2013

I took my girlfriend to a surprise weekend in Venice and chose the Grande Albergo because it looked great on the photos and had the spa and the place looks great just like the photos.

The room was standard with decent space/minibar, etc, nothing too special about it, but the spa was fantastic, they offer some treatments but we only had acess to the steam room, jacuzzi, etc and it was great. They give you bath robes and shoes for the spa and a hot towel +tea combination at the beginning really sets the mood. We both really enjoyed it

Getting to the hotel from venice was also not an issue, we took the public vessels which are like a normal bus service and quite cheap, they take a little while but the whole thing is an experience so if you're ok to just enjoy the ride in the blue water its not a problem.

overall great experience and reasonable price, so will definitely be back

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thiago F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2013 via mobile

You cannot take it away, it is a majestic building, but with retaining that and its features, comes a price. I value sleep on a holiday, without a good nights rest you start grumpy and tire quickly during the day. The noise from the above room was horrendous every footstep heard. The neighbouring rooms turned on their bathroom light and their fan kicked in and the toilet and shower could quite clearly be heard when used.

The final dripping tap moment was the wonderful crescendo of repeated banging of the external window shutters against the walls, which felt like we had a subwoofer repeatedly playing the same bass beat every 20-30 seconds.

So aside from the noise, the staff were awesome, the rooms clean and buffett breakfast food was good, they need to cook the scrambled eggs longer though... not sure they should be swimming.

Location wise it was all we could ask for, close to ferry, shops, cafes and restaurants.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank putneyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2013 via mobile

The staff are very pleasant and work hard at being welcoming and polite.

The hotel is on the Lido (quiet in april) and is very easy to find as when you get off the water taxi its a short 200m walk up the road.

When you arrive at the hotel you are met with an unusual but impressive design frontage which is Gaudi like.

Unfortunately what lets this hotel down is that it seems the rooms haven't been refurbished for quite some time and are 'tired'.

Even the carpet at the main door of the hotel entrance is lifting and thread bare - that tells part of the story in itself.

The phone in our room (203) didn't work nor did the heating/ac unit.

The bathroom sink had cracks as did the bathroom mirror but there was certainly nothing wrong with the water pressure.

We had an issue with the shower head which was promptly changed.

The most odd thing about our room was that the room safe was part of the mini bar BUT the mini bar itself was a small cupboard with wheels on it and could have so easily been wheeled out of our room - hardly 'safe' or secure !

When I spoke to reception about this, they simply smiled and shrugged their shoulders !

Upon arrive the hotel provide a bottle of prosecco as a welcome drink - very nice touch.

The breakfast is typical continental style although they do serve scrambled eggs if you could eat them as they looked very unappetising.

Wifi is charged at €5 euros for your whole stay. 20 mins is offered free per day. In my view this is petty and should be included with hotels that charge at this rate.

We paid €141 euros per night for a superior room which is probably about right for Venice as its NOT cheap there.

In my personal opinion, if you are only in Venice for a few days or less then I think it's better to not stay on the Lido. Also you will save yourself about €12 euro per person per day on water taxis as you will be in the heart of things and not a 20 minute boat trip away.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank turnleftisbest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lido di Venezia hotels
0.3 mi away
Residence Le Ville del Lido
Residence Le Ville del Lido
#1 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Panorama
Hotel Panorama
#2 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 781 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Villa Pannonia
Hotel Villa Pannonia
#4 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Excelsior
Hotel Excelsior
#10 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 843 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Laguna
Villa Laguna
#5 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
0.5 mi away
Venezia 2000 Hotel & Residence
Venezia 2000 Hotel & Residence
#8 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungaria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungaria

Property: Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungaria
Address: Gran Viale Santa Maria Elisabetta 28, 30126 Lido di Venezia, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Lido di Venezia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Lido di Venezia
#3 Luxury Hotel in Lido di Venezia
#5 Family Hotel in Lido di Venezia
#7 Romantic Hotel in Lido di Venezia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungaria 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grande Albergo AUSONIA & HUGARIA is a historic residence in Venice with a one-of-a-kind atmosphere with a Thai SPA and wellness center. The hotel is just a few minutes from the dock where the "vaporetto", the local public water-bus transportation, leave every 10 minutes for Saint Mark's Square, the downtown of Venice. The suggestive boat trip is just 10 minutes long and takes you through the Saint Mark's basin.The hotel is a welcoming gem in Liberty style with period furniture, large frescoed halls, perfect for any type of event, a renowned restaurant and rooms with every comfort for a romantic and exclusive stay.Every year, many national and international stars select the Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungaria for their stay in Lido during the Mostra Internazionale d’Arte Cinematografica (the Venice Film Festival) to appreciate the beauty and charm of the timeless structure and the superior service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, TravelUp, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungaria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grande Albergo Ausonia And Hungaria Wellness & Spa On Venice Lido Hotel
Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungaria Province Of Venice, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing