We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Patchy elegance”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungaria
Ranked #3 of 33 Hotels in Lido di Venezia
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Patchy elegance”
Reviewed 5 June 2013

Very ornate exterior, while there is a dated elegance to the interior - although the rooms with heavy drapes and furnishing in a mix of rather faded purples and deep reds would probably not suit the type of traveller used to large box-like, characterless rooms of many modern hotels
Breakfast selection average, dining room has quiet elegance and good service.
Staff very efficient and helpful.
Location on the Lido means you need to use a waterbus to get to the main attractions, but a frequent service minimises this problem and it is nice to escape to some tranqility after the noise and crowds of th main island
A spacious outside bar area provides a relaxing place to watch the world go by from a resurrected Art Nouveau era

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Charlemaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

859 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    341
    354
    111
    30
    23
See reviews for
174
474
23
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Roland, Arkansas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2013

We stayed here on a Trafalgar tour of Italy in April, 2013. The hotel has a very ornate facade and is located in a nice neighborhood in Lido. The hotel had an old world charm. The rooms were very nice, with comfortable beds and well appointed bathrooms. The staff were very friendly and accommodating, and the food was good. We enjoyed walking down the street toward the beach and looking in the various shops on the way, particularly a glass and chandelier shop. The hotel has a lot of old photographs in the halls depicting times related to the history of the hotel. It was a very nice hotel, and we would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sschmitz01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2013

Had a good 2 night stay at the Ausonia on Lido whilst on a short stay to visit Venice. It was only 10-15mins on the boat to Venice and Lido has a nice feel to it. It's also good to get out the hustle and bustle of Venice and start and end your day with some peace!

The bedrooms were big and airy as was the huge bathroom that we had in one of the rooms but the decor is traditional and the room was a bit dark. There were balconys off the room looking out over the front of the building which was nice!

The outside of the building is very impressive and lovely to look at, close to the ferry stop and right on the main road. The inside is not as impressive but still charming. The breakfast area had a lovely conservatory feel to it and served the usual continental breakfast but wouldn't rave about it - just average.

The staff were always very pleasant to deal with and let us leave our bags at the reception after checking out and there's a nice area outside the hotel to sit out and relax.

The beach isn't far away either - just a 10 min walk but again I wouldn't necessarily bother with it.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wannabetraveller786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2013 via mobile

Though it is slightly away from main venice city centre, but it is a b'ful place. The journey on water bus from hotel to rest of the places in venice is very good. Hotel is 3 mins walking distance to lido beach which is also very beautiful. This hotel is truely value for money. The staff is also very helpful. I would like to stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank abhisheklov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2013

I had the pleasure of staying in this hotel on our trip to lido. On Arrival you are met by a very beautiful looking hotel, its almost like something from a Agatha Christie Film as it has that sort of feel to it. The building itself is really impressive and admired by all. We were greated with a smile and upgraded free of charge on arrival. Our rooms were really fresh clean and in keeping with the colonial feel of the hotel very impressive. If I were to be slightly picky The only critisim I would have is that the mirrors on the original furniture have perished and its difficult to do youre make up, also hairdryers are hard to keep on while drying hair but they do do the job ladies.
The breakfast was set in what can only be described as a large glass house filled with drapes and is very light and airy. The breakfast itself had everything, including full English, fruits yoghurts you name it.
The whole hotel is like a trip back in time with a modern twist.
Lido is great place to stay and is better value for money than venice. You can get the boat straight from the airport to lido which takes about 30 mins and is 15 euro each. Lido is 10 mins by boat to venice st marks square and you can get a 2 day hopper for 48 euro. We went to st marks square it cost us 12 euro just to sit in a restuarant before we even had a drink so be warned!! We tended to come back to lido and go across the road to beautiful italian family place called parco delle rose, you cant miss it as it has flowers all over it. There are plenty of shops and supermarket near by. It is a 5 minute walk from the boat station. Ther are also bars and not forgetting the free beach that is 5 minutes away Lido has everything. Have fun Fiona and Mak P. UK

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank fiona p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2013

quiet location near lido beach,short boat ride to the action, great little outdoor bar, small shops and resurants near by, walking distance to water taxi's,rooms a bit small but clean,large breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank t9090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2013

We booked this hotel for a 5 day break to celebrate our silver wedding anniversary and were not at all disappointed. All the staff were very pleasant and helpful. Assistance was offered with our luggage but wasn't required. A complimentary bottle of Prosecco was placed in our room on arrival. The room & bathroom were very clean and serviced every day. The hairdryer in the bathroom was one of those wall mounted ones which aren't particularly efficient so I requested a better one from reception and was told I could keep it for the remainder of our stay. Breakfast was varied and plentiful.
Our intention was to spend most of our time in Central Venice so we purchased an Alilaguna waterbus pass before our trip on line which we collected at the boat departure pier at Marco Polo airport , a well signposted 7 minute walk from the airport terminal. We definitely had our money's worth with this pass as we used it every day travelling to and from San Marco and other stops.
After lots of walking and sightseeing in Venice we returned to Lido in the early evenings. The hotel bar & terrace enabled us to appreciate the beautiful exterior of the buliding whist relaxing with an Aperol Spritz.There are plenty of restaurants to choose from close to the hotel.
There's a bicycle hire shop approx 5 mins walk from the hotel, so we hired a surry on our last afternoon and had a lovely time cycling around the island with little effort as Lido is quite flat. We would love to visit Venice and Lido again and would recommend the Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungaria to others.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1988Scotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lido di Venezia hotels
0.3 mi away
Residence Le Ville del Lido
Residence Le Ville del Lido
#1 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
293 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Panorama
Hotel Panorama
#2 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
778 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Villa Pannonia
Hotel Villa Pannonia
#4 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Excelsior
Hotel Excelsior
#10 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
841 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Laguna
Villa Laguna
#5 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
526 reviews
0.5 mi away
Venezia 2000 Hotel & Residence
Venezia 2000 Hotel & Residence
#7 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungaria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungaria

Property: Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungaria
Address: Gran Viale Santa Maria Elisabetta 28, 30126 Lido di Venezia, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Lido di Venezia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Lido di Venezia
#3 Luxury Hotel in Lido di Venezia
#5 Family Hotel in Lido di Venezia
#7 Romantic Hotel in Lido di Venezia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungaria 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grande Albergo AUSONIA & HUGARIA is a historic residence in Venice with a one-of-a-kind atmosphere with a Thai SPA and wellness center. The hotel is just a few minutes from the dock where the "vaporetto", the local public water-bus transportation, leave every 10 minutes for Saint Mark's Square, the downtown of Venice. The suggestive boat trip is just 10 minutes long and takes you through the Saint Mark's basin.The hotel is a welcoming gem in Liberty style with period furniture, large frescoed halls, perfect for any type of event, a renowned restaurant and rooms with every comfort for a romantic and exclusive stay.Every year, many national and international stars select the Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungaria for their stay in Lido during the Mostra Internazionale d’Arte Cinematografica (the Venice Film Festival) to appreciate the beauty and charm of the timeless structure and the superior service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungaria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grande Albergo Ausonia And Hungaria Wellness & Spa On Venice Lido Hotel
Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungaria Province Of Venice, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing