We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressive hotel, good value, good food, good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungaria
Ranked #3 of 33 Hotels in Lido di Venezia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 June 2013

We booked this hotel some time before our trip as it was a good price, non-refundable. As the time got nearer we were a bit concerned by some of the reviews. As soon as we arrived however, we were pleased. The hotel has a lovely exterior and is much photographed by passers-by. The interior is nicer than indicated by some reviewers - it is an old building after all - reminiscent of old films. Our room was a standard one and was lovely. It had everything we needed: comfortable beds, good shower and even a safe - no complaints. Breakfast was served in a lovely sunny orangery at the back of the hotel and there was a hot option of scrambled eggs and bacon which was very enjoyable - it's lovely when you don't have to cook it yourself! The only comment I would make is that because the hotel is old the noise transfers easily when people walk along corridors. We were disturbed a couple of times by people coming in late, but it was not a big problem. The hotel is ideally situated on the 'strip' that runs from the water bus stop - to the beach - 5-10 mins in either direction. There are lots of shops and restaurants along the strip. We ate in a couple of the restaurants across the road from the hotel and the food was good - watch out for the service charge or cover charge - they always catch you out with one of them. Of particular note was an Asian restaurant which was on the same side as the hotel just a few yards down the road in the direction of the beach (can't remember the name) - we had an absolutely fabulous meal there - so fresh and tasty - it was delicious. On the final evening we ate in the hotel restaurant and the food was lovely and the bill cheaper than in some of the local restaurants (10% discount for hotel guests) - so that is recommended too. We spent an afternoon in the spa and wouldn't recommend that - expensive and tiny - the 'quiet' area is situated between the showers and the jacuzzi with no walls to deaden the noise - waste of space. Would happily go to this hotel again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (911)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

338 - 344 of 911 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay as we felt we were back in a bygone age. The location was excellent near to the lido beach and 250 metres from a main vaporetti stop, so you can be in the centre of St Marks Square in 20 minutes. We have stayed in the centre of Venice before (just behind St Marks), on a previous visit, however we much preferred this hotel for location, facilities and general feel. The air conditioning throughout the hotel worked perfectly which was a necessity as the temperature outside was over 35 degrees. We thought the hotel was far superior to many 4 star hotels in the Venice area and at a reasonable price. The breakfast was lovely with plenty of variety. All the staff were very helpful and friendly, and the rooms very clean. Perhaps free wifi should be considered by the management. We will definitely stay in this hotel again on our next visit to Venice.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2013

i spontaneously checked in at this great hotel because i loved the look from the outside. the rooms were clean, large and very well equipped. i enjoyed the view, its very central and from lido you can reach the entire city of venice within 15minutes by vaportetto®

the breakfast was very delicious - check out the huge selection of juices. left aside they brew very good coffee.

Room Tip: upper levels provide best view. check room 309
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scharmueller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013

When you get there you can't help but be impressed by the building. The staff throughout were very friendly and helpful and there is a lovely front terrace where you can chill with a drink. The double room we had on the top floor though was pretty hideous. It was decorated in pale blue with circa 1950s (and not in a good way). Very shabby and with lino on the bedroom floor and a sheet and throw instead of a duvet. The pillows were like slices of pillow - very thin. The bathroom was in natural stone so didn't age as badly but the shower leaked and flooded the floor every time.

They did however have great sky tv which you could change and watch many channels in english eg sky 1, fox etc. Breakfast was ok but nothing special. The whole hotel also oddly was littered with bunches of dried flowers which were caked in dust and should all go in the bin.

It was very quiet generally although we could clearly hear the next room occupants talking (amongst other things).

Also they do have a spa but the thai massages were priced at about 95 euros each which we thought was too expensive.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank happylondoncamper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2013

Wonderful old style hotel with dramatic exterior on main street on Lido 5 minutes from water taxi.
If you want modern glass and angular style hotel this is not for you but if you like relaxed service and comfortable surrounding this is for you. Large rooms with modern bathrooms nice public rooms and large outside terrace with bar overlooking the front. Good breakfast but average dinner restaurant, you can do better just over the road at any number of restaurants. Extremely helpful staff. 20 minutes from St Marks by water taxi so makes a nice relaxing place after a day in Venice.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank paul g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2013

Very ornate exterior, while there is a dated elegance to the interior - although the rooms with heavy drapes and furnishing in a mix of rather faded purples and deep reds would probably not suit the type of traveller used to large box-like, characterless rooms of many modern hotels
Breakfast selection average, dining room has quiet elegance and good service.
Staff very efficient and helpful.
Location on the Lido means you need to use a waterbus to get to the main attractions, but a frequent service minimises this problem and it is nice to escape to some tranqility after the noise and crowds of th main island
A spacious outside bar area provides a relaxing place to watch the world go by from a resurrected Art Nouveau era

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Charlemaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2013

We stayed here on a Trafalgar tour of Italy in April, 2013. The hotel has a very ornate facade and is located in a nice neighborhood in Lido. The hotel had an old world charm. The rooms were very nice, with comfortable beds and well appointed bathrooms. The staff were very friendly and accommodating, and the food was good. We enjoyed walking down the street toward the beach and looking in the various shops on the way, particularly a glass and chandelier shop. The hotel has a lot of old photographs in the halls depicting times related to the history of the hotel. It was a very nice hotel, and we would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sschmitz01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lido di Venezia hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Excelsior Venice
Hotel Excelsior Venice
#8 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
958 reviews
0.3 mi away
Residence Le Ville del Lido
Residence Le Ville del Lido
#1 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
384 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Panorama
Hotel Panorama
#2 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Villa Pannonia
Hotel Villa Pannonia
#4 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
326 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Mabapa
Hotel Villa Mabapa
#6 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
547 reviews
0.1 mi away
Biasutti Hotel
Biasutti Hotel
#17 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungaria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungaria

Address: Gran Viale Santa Maria Elisabetta 28, 30126 Lido di Venezia, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Lido di Venezia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Lido di Venezia
#3 Luxury Hotel in Lido di Venezia
#5 Family Hotel in Lido di Venezia
#7 Romantic Hotel in Lido di Venezia
Price Range: £50 - £434 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungaria 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grande Albergo AUSONIA & HUGARIA is a historic residence in Venice with a one-of-a-kind atmosphere with a Thai SPA and wellness center. The hotel is just a few minutes from the dock where the "vaporetto", the local public water-bus transportation, leave every 10 minutes for Saint Mark's Square, the downtown of Venice. The suggestive boat trip is just 10 minutes long and takes you through the Saint Mark's basin.The hotel is a welcoming gem in Liberty style with period furniture, large frescoed halls, perfect for any type of event, a renowned restaurant and rooms with every comfort for a romantic and exclusive stay.Every year, many national and international stars select the Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungaria for their stay in Lido during the Mostra Internazionale d’Arte Cinematografica (the Venice Film Festival) to appreciate the beauty and charm of the timeless structure and the superior service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with 5viajes2012 S.L., Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, HotelQuickly, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungaria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grande Albergo Ausonia And Hungaria Wellness & Spa On Venice Lido Hotel
Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungaria Province Of Venice, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing