We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful facade but inside it's a different story”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungaria
Ranked #3 of 33 Hotels in Lido di Venezia
Certificate of Excellence
Winchfield
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A wonderful facade but inside it's a different story”
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Being on the Lido rather than in Venice itself is no bad thing. The vaporetti are cheap and handy and from the terminus at the end of the road can get you to anywhere in the lagoon or on the canal in a matter of minutes, But this is about the hotel. It should be called the chameleon because the outside is one big mural composed of individual ceramic tiles, all painted to depict the grandeur of Venice. Inside is a jaded-in-parts, bizarrely refurbished in minor parts complete enigma of an hotel. Awkwardly shaped rooms dictated by the theatrical shape of the building. Quirky ancient free-standing furniture. Bathrooms/shower rooms just big enough for one. Vast public areas with odd pieces of furniture dotted around. Breakfast is served in a sort of conservatory crammed with tables. A buffet of sorts comes and goes as the young, willing but shambolic staff try to cope with what is clearly an inadequate kitchen supplying scrambled eggs made from liquid egg in cartons and congealed into a rubbery block under the lamps. Rashers of bacon that look as though they've been boiled before being popped into a warm oven. All coffee is from self-service machines, none of which seemed to function in accordance with the symbols on the push-buttons. My recommendation would be to give breakfast a miss and buy a brioche and a cappuccino on the way to the vaporetto terminal.
The hotel staff are few but they are polite and attentive. They seem to need organising and a good dose of basic management would seem to be called for so that the place would run more smoothly.
The basement is run as a Thai Spa and I can thoroughly recommend one of their treatments which is utterly sublime, if expensive.

Room Tip: Ask to see the room before moving your bags from reception. An upgrade may be called for before you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Boffinjet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

887 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    350
    368
    116
    30
    23
See reviews for
180
493
25
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bern, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

I'm passionate about Venice and reading the reviews about the Ausonia & Hungaria you must be aware of the following:
The hotel is on the Lido (Venice Beach). This means you are 20 minutes by ferry away from old town Venice, but especially in the hot summer months you may have a cooling sea breeze and air tends to be not as sticky as in Venice itself. Staying in Lido also offers a great beach, which is within walking distance from the hotel. Lido itself is an animated little spot and especially on week ends a lot of locals come to lido to escape the city.
Italians do not really eat breakfast. A short cup of coffee and a small pastry, that's it. So be aware that anything above this must be considered as over average for Italy. The Ausonia & Hungaria offers a nice breakfast room with coffee and juice machines, cheese, eggs, bacon, pastry, yoghurt and cereals. Anything else (e.g. Cappuccino) has to be ordered separately. So the breakfast is very good compared to Italian standard but probably not as great as breakfasts served in similar hotels in Europe. What really makes the difference is the nice staff, which is always in good mood and very friendly.
I must say the hotel itself has seen better times. We booked a suite and got two connected rooms (319/320) which was not really what we expected and little disappointment. The room itself also lacked ambience as you would expect from the outside. Walking through the hotel I spotted some very nice rooms but mine was definitely not a like a suite.
I did not check the wellness area so I can not comment.
Overall I liked the hotel, its patina, the location on the lido, the breakfast and with a better room I would have given it 5 points.

Room Tip: Rooms to the North may be noisy due to the terrace activities until 11PM, to the South and East the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NicfromSwitzerland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

we have just returned from the Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungaria hotel on Venice Lido this is our 5th stay at the hotel the staff are extremely helpful nothing is too much trouble thank you to you all....great location especially when it's in July as you have the lido not too far. We started going when early renovation work was on and now it's nearly finished the transformation has been done with care, professionalism and great thought .thanks again for a lovely stay the Ladies Sadler

Room Tip: No because they may make it impossible for us to have our favourite room sorry !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EMM48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 July 2013

A beautiful hotel. As we arrived into our room we were greeted with a nice bottle of Cava as it was my birthday which was a lovely touch. Lovely decorated purple themed room. Its a reasonably priced hotel compared to staying in Venice as they tend to bump the prices up and really easy to get into Venice by jumping on a ferry (20 mins) These run very regulary as this is their main way of transport.

Breakfast - this was continental breakfast which set you up for the day quite basic yogurts, pastries, scrambled eggs etc.

The only thing which I reccommend you do is do a little research on exactly what you are going to do and where you are going to go, just simply because we didnt get any information at reception on things to do, great restaurants/bars etc which I think would of helped as we were kind of left to our own device to go and find out whats around the area.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KatKnap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

We expected to arrive in a hotel like it shows on the website - charming, luxurious, comfortable, and even celebrities stay there as they write on the website (haha). However, this hotel is anything besides the above.
The staff is not caring and do not understand hospitality at all. The hotel is clearly outdated, we barely fitted into the elevator with our suitcases!
The room was dirty, beds are hard as a rock, bedding is old and filthy plus the shower is small and the tiles looked dirty. We felt uncomfortable to walk bare footed in the room and in the bathroom. We did not even book the standard room but the bigger room type.
The room also smelled like peanuts, that were standing at a table at arrival. When we tried to open the shutters for some fresh air, it sounded they could break any moment..
The terrace seems great on the website but is old and "shabby" and some old fashioned band is playing loudly in the evening. Nothing like the charming and luxuryous terrace we expected to enjoy a dinner and a wine at in the evenings.
Last but not least, it will take you at least 30 minutes to go to Venice (unlike the 15 minutes that was advised).

Don't let their website mislead you and book another hotel! We left after 1 night (instead of the 3 nights planned) and will never come back.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Leonie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

My friend and I booked this hotel as a super secret deal on a travel website. The hotel is on the island of Lido, which is one of the last stops on the water canal line. You can get to central Venice in about 20 minutes from there. The staff were very helpful and the rooms were clean. Breakfast came with our deal and was pretty standard for what I have seen in other hotels in Europe. No complaints here!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Geneve, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2013

We wanted that perfect long weekend city break away and finding the right hotel was of equal importance as the city! As soon as saw our hotel we knew immediately the right choice had been made. With a masterpiece of it's multi-coloured mosaic facade, its certain charm and its close proximity to historic Venice our boxes were ticked!! Lido is area to stay in and the 'Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungaria' is the hotel to book into whilst visiting the wonderfully unique and enchanting Venice!! My husband and I along with a good friend throughly enjoyed our stay and also made sure we indulged at the 'Wellness Lanna Gaia'' before checking out :) A little note worth metioning - there is no free unlimited wifi but then who cares if its a break away from the norm!!?

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Antonella R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lido di Venezia hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Excelsior Venice
Hotel Excelsior Venice
#12 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
916 reviews
0.3 mi away
Residence Le Ville del Lido
Residence Le Ville del Lido
#1 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
365 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Panorama
Hotel Panorama
#2 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Villa Pannonia
Hotel Villa Pannonia
#5 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
316 reviews
0.1 mi away
Biasutti Hotel
Biasutti Hotel
#17 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
349 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Mabapa
Hotel Villa Mabapa
#4 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungaria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungaria

Property: Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungaria
Address: Gran Viale Santa Maria Elisabetta 28, 30126 Lido di Venezia, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Lido di Venezia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Lido di Venezia
#3 Luxury Hotel in Lido di Venezia
#5 Family Hotel in Lido di Venezia
#7 Romantic Hotel in Lido di Venezia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungaria 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grande Albergo AUSONIA & HUGARIA is a historic residence in Venice with a one-of-a-kind atmosphere with a Thai SPA and wellness center. The hotel is just a few minutes from the dock where the "vaporetto", the local public water-bus transportation, leave every 10 minutes for Saint Mark's Square, the downtown of Venice. The suggestive boat trip is just 10 minutes long and takes you through the Saint Mark's basin.The hotel is a welcoming gem in Liberty style with period furniture, large frescoed halls, perfect for any type of event, a renowned restaurant and rooms with every comfort for a romantic and exclusive stay.Every year, many national and international stars select the Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungaria for their stay in Lido during the Mostra Internazionale d’Arte Cinematografica (the Venice Film Festival) to appreciate the beauty and charm of the timeless structure and the superior service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungaria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grande Albergo Ausonia And Hungaria Wellness & Spa On Venice Lido Hotel
Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungaria Province Of Venice, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing