We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice old fashioned hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungaria
Ranked #3 of 33 Hotels in Lido di Venezia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 September 2013 via mobile

I stayed at the Hungarian while the Venice Film Festival was on. Prices were rather expensive with €350 per night. That was definitely overpriced. Having said that the hotel is charming. The facade is really nice and the interior is old fashioned, a nice change to modern hotels. The location is very good, 5 min walk to the boat which takes you to San Marco. I was never a fan of Italian breakfast and sadly the Hungarian did not change that. But that's more the Italian breakfast culture failure or mine...

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dhtt29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (936)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

323 - 329 of 937 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2013

I stayed at this hotel for two night with my husband and friends. The hotel is located in an imposing structure and the early '900 on a pleasant tree-lined street with several shops, bars and ice cream parlors. The furnishings are classic and the floor is almost all floors. All very clean and tidy, well mainteined. We taken advantage of half board and ate very well the fish (excellent gnocchi to the spider crab). At level -1 there is the Spa and Thai massage center where there are some operators really brave and competent and my husband and I we have become so relaxed that we were on the verge of sleeping ..... the welcome and service all the hotel staff was friendly and efficient. Just 250 mt. there is a ferry stop from which in no time you can get to Piazza San Marco. We come back next two years, thank you

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jenny s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
2  Thank werner555
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 13 August 2013

The facade looks amazing, but the rooms are more average. Wifi is not up to the standard you can expect from a hotel in this pricing range. They also want to charge you 5Euros if you need more time than 20min online. Helpful staff, ok+ breakfast buffet.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
6  Thank StianHovda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

The hotel has ideal location for exploring Venice. You can get to San Marko by vaporetto much faster than from central Venice itself (due to direct route and a few stops only). Also Lido Island is perfect choice when you travel by car. We were happy to park our car in hotel, and had no problems with carrying our luggage. I saw lots of people with heavy suite-cases walking around narrow streets and multiple bridges in central Venice. Plus hotel is located on central street with multiple restaurants and shops. I loved Lido with its relaxing atmosphere and easy connection to San Marko.
The hotel itself is very beautiful in public areas nevertheless rooms are extremely outdated. It is high time for renovation.
The breakfast is fine and staff is helpful.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 123_Olena_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

We stayed at the Grande for 3 nights in June and couldn't have picked a more perfect location for our city break. The hotel itself is dated and 'quirky', but has all the facilities you need for a short break. The breakfast is very traditional, but ample and the gentleman who sings at the terrace bar is fab and the drinks are reasonable too! The Grande is ideally placed on the main strip of the Lido, a 5 minute walk one way to the water taxi's and a 5 minute walk in the other direction to the beach. There are lots of restaurants and bars along the stip, a supermarket and bike hire. The main sights of Venice are only a 10 minute vaperatto ride away and I'd recommend you get a pass (children under 6 are free), as we used this all the time to see Venice, tour the grand canal and go to the lovely islands en route. Venice is expensive, but choose where you eat / drink and sit carefully and you'll not be dissapointed!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Beclis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

the hotel look lively and autentique out side but inside some 70s bathroom and few fake furniture change my rating.
convenient zone close to vaporetto main road with restaurant and shop with better price incompare with venice.
i will not pay for junior suites because are not difference

Room Tip: 3floor better furniture
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank toniopride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lido di Venezia hotels
0.3 mi away
Residence Le Ville del Lido
Residence Le Ville del Lido
#1 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
389 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Panorama
Hotel Panorama
#2 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
859 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Laguna
Villa Laguna
#8 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Hotel Villa Pannonia
Hotel Villa Pannonia
#4 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
330 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Excelsior Venice
Hotel Excelsior Venice
#7 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
975 reviews
0.5 mi away
Venezia 2000 Hotel & Residence
Venezia 2000 Hotel & Residence
#6 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungaria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungaria

Address: Gran Viale Santa Maria Elisabetta 28, 30126 Lido di Venezia, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Lido di Venezia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Lido di Venezia
#3 Luxury Hotel in Lido di Venezia
#4 Family Hotel in Lido di Venezia
#7 Romantic Hotel in Lido di Venezia
Price Range: £54 - £196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungaria 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grande Albergo AUSONIA & HUGARIA is a historic residence in Venice with a one-of-a-kind atmosphere with a Thai SPA and wellness center. The hotel is just a few minutes from the dock where the "vaporetto", the local public water-bus transportation, leave every 10 minutes for Saint Mark's Square, the downtown of Venice. The suggestive boat trip is just 10 minutes long and takes you through the Saint Mark's basin.The hotel is a welcoming gem in Liberty style with period furniture, large frescoed halls, perfect for any type of event, a renowned restaurant and rooms with every comfort for a romantic and exclusive stay.Every year, many national and international stars select the Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungaria for their stay in Lido during the Mostra Internazionale d’Arte Cinematografica (the Venice Film Festival) to appreciate the beauty and charm of the timeless structure and the superior service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Nozio Netplan srl, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungaria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grande Albergo Ausonia And Hungaria Wellness & Spa On Venice Lido Hotel
Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungaria Province Of Venice, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing