We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An Art Nouveau experience - not quite!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungaria
Ranked #3 of 33 Hotels in Lido di Venezia
Certificate of Excellence
Wetherby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“An Art Nouveau experience - not quite!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

After leaving the vaporetto and walking the few hundred metres up the main street the Art Nouveau external appearance of this hotel lifts the spirits and promises much. However the interior in many areas does not match expectations. The dining room and terrace are very good but our bedroom looked a bit jaded - in particular the lighting was poor and at night it was difficult to read and there was also a lack of comfortable seating.
Breakfast was very ordinary and completely self-service including coffee from a machine which personally I dislike.
Situated on the Lido it is a quarter hour vaporetto ride to the nearest station to St Marks. A 24 hour ticket with unlimited usage costs 20 Euros. When choosing an hotel for a short visit to Venice this cost and time factor should be taken into account because (certainly out of season) there is nothing to merit a visit to the Lido otherwise.

Room Tip: Ask for a decent sized bathroom. Apparently some are small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

860 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    342
    354
    111
    30
    23
See reviews for
174
475
23
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

Myself and my daughter stayed here for a long weekend in September. I have stayed on the lido before but love going over to venice on the boat. Booked through Trivago and got a fantastic rate which only enhanced our stay. Loved the room and the terrace for cocktails on an evening. This hotel is fantastic and was only marked down because my daughter said the bed was too hard.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Christe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

I really researched where I should stay before booking my trip in Lido. This was by far the wise choice! Lido is a very small island so you end of passing by all the other hotels you will likely have contemplated staying at!
The hotel is quaint, but nice and in a great location. I was travelling alone and I felt very safe here. Concierge helped me with all my sightseeing arrangements. The reception will give you towels for the beach too!


The rooms are smallish...but hey...it's Europe.

Book this hotel and you will be glad you did.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lisa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
50 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

We spent one night at Lido during our visit in Italy. We chose the hotel because of good opinions and we were not disappointed. The staff is very friendly. They even recommended us a local restaurant, not a turist one, with a delicious food. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The breakfast is very tasty and rich of many ingredients. The hotel is worth staying.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tp1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreux, Switzerland
Level Contributor
64 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

We stayed here for the Venice Film Festival, and for ten days we enjoyed the experience. The room was quite large, the bathroom small but clean and efficient, and the breakfast buffet very acceptable. Staff are friendly, even when one complains, as we did when on various evenings "tango" sessions or birthday parties were held on the terrace below our room, and went on until 11.30pm. Rooms on the 4th floor, and at the rear of the hotel, are quieter. The facade of the hotel, in stunning majolica, is a protected site -- and deservedly so.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013 via mobile

I stayed at the Hungarian while the Venice Film Festival was on. Prices were rather expensive with €350 per night. That was definitely overpriced. Having said that the hotel is charming. The facade is really nice and the interior is old fashioned, a nice change to modern hotels. The location is very good, 5 min walk to the boat which takes you to San Marco. I was never a fan of Italian breakfast and sadly the Hungarian did not change that. But that's more the Italian breakfast culture failure or mine...

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dhtt29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

I stayed at this hotel for two night with my husband and friends. The hotel is located in an imposing structure and the early '900 on a pleasant tree-lined street with several shops, bars and ice cream parlors. The furnishings are classic and the floor is almost all floors. All very clean and tidy, well mainteined. We taken advantage of half board and ate very well the fish (excellent gnocchi to the spider crab). At level -1 there is the Spa and Thai massage center where there are some operators really brave and competent and my husband and I we have become so relaxed that we were on the verge of sleeping ..... the welcome and service all the hotel staff was friendly and efficient. Just 250 mt. there is a ferry stop from which in no time you can get to Piazza San Marco. We come back next two years, thank you

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jenny s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lido di Venezia hotels
0.3 mi away
Residence Le Ville del Lido
Residence Le Ville del Lido
#1 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Panorama
Hotel Panorama
#2 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 781 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Villa Pannonia
Hotel Villa Pannonia
#5 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Excelsior
Hotel Excelsior
#10 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 842 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Laguna
Villa Laguna
#6 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
0.5 mi away
Venezia 2000 Hotel & Residence
Venezia 2000 Hotel & Residence
#7 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungaria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungaria

Property: Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungaria
Address: Gran Viale Santa Maria Elisabetta 28, 30126 Lido di Venezia, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Lido di Venezia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Lido di Venezia
#3 Luxury Hotel in Lido di Venezia
#5 Family Hotel in Lido di Venezia
#7 Romantic Hotel in Lido di Venezia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungaria 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grande Albergo AUSONIA & HUGARIA is a historic residence in Venice with a one-of-a-kind atmosphere with a Thai SPA and wellness center. The hotel is just a few minutes from the dock where the "vaporetto", the local public water-bus transportation, leave every 10 minutes for Saint Mark's Square, the downtown of Venice. The suggestive boat trip is just 10 minutes long and takes you through the Saint Mark's basin.The hotel is a welcoming gem in Liberty style with period furniture, large frescoed halls, perfect for any type of event, a renowned restaurant and rooms with every comfort for a romantic and exclusive stay.Every year, many national and international stars select the Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungaria for their stay in Lido during the Mostra Internazionale d’Arte Cinematografica (the Venice Film Festival) to appreciate the beauty and charm of the timeless structure and the superior service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., TravelUp, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungaria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grande Albergo Ausonia And Hungaria Wellness & Spa On Venice Lido Hotel
Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungaria Province Of Venice, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing