We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel in Lido”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungaria
Ranked #3 of 33 Hotels in Lido di Venezia
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel in Lido”
Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

If u don't mind have to take about one hr ferry to lido , here is the best hotel in Venezia . Toilet was clean, bed was comfy, the environment of Lido was nice , was quiet , breakfast was soso, not bad. I rode the bike over Lido, I think it is the best hotel there.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Candycrushf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

869 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    344
    359
    113
    30
    23
See reviews for
177
480
23
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
uk
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

clean and tidy - we had a room on the top floor with a high ceiling.
extremely helpful staff.
chaotic but excellent breakfast.
3 minutes walk to the ferry to Venice. situated on the main street amongst bars and restaurants.
10 minutes walk to 15 miles of Lido beach.

Room Tip: top floor have high ceilings
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank freddiebouy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK/Italy
Level Contributor
80 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

When originally built, this hotel must have been magnificent, it still is a very imposing building and offers the customer a wonderful service, the rooms remain decorated in the 1920's style and there are photographs all around the Hotel of Venice and the Lido beaches from that time. The facade is a magnificent majolica decorated masterpiece. Arriving on a cold, wet day in early March we were met by cheerful, multilingual staff who couldn't have been more helpful (my father walks with a stick), our rooms were delightful, with simple period style furniture and tasteful decoration (and the world's largest bed !). Breakfast was a varied array of food to cover most tastes, with scrambled eggs and 'bacon', boiled eggs, varieties of fruit, cold meats and cheese, cereals and yoghurts. The location is perfect, being on the main street approx 300 yds from the Vapporetto stop accessing all the lagoon routes and immediately opposite a small collection of bars, reasonably priced restaurants and most importantly gelaterias !!! On our final day we checked out but the hotel held onto our bags until the evening while we visited Venice again, making life vastly easier. We will return - although knowing the Italians, I will probably avoid the height of Summer when it will be heaving !

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BonViveur67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dalkey, Ireland
Level Contributor
66 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014 via mobile

Very impressive exterior.
Be careful, there are no handrails on the steps to the front door !
But,
There is a ramped walkway with double rails around the side of the building.
The first room which I was allocated was not to my liking - dull with an unappealing aspect.
My replacement corner room was on the top floor, front and side facing decorated in a mdern style. It was bright and airy.
The breakfast was delicious.
The staff were friendly and helpful.
The location is perfect - quiet and with a good selection of restaurants and just a short stroll for the water's edge and the boats to Venice centre.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Judith R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
103 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014 via mobile

Lovely outside bar on the terrace and a nice place to sit and relax in the evening before going for dinner. The front of the hotel is amazingly lit up in the evening. It sits on the main avenue linking the Lido Beach and the water bus to the main parts of Venice.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank scotland007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

We arrived here in between downpours last weekend and first impressions were good.
The exterior was grand & certainly felt like we were arriving outside a top end hotel.
The reception area was modest, the staff very friendly & informed with excellent English spoken.
We had upgraded to a suite of rooms and although not a four star, they were grand enough, traditional, tasteful & clean. The bathroom was clean, with a huge corner bath; the wooden floors of the rooms were polished, the bed was huge & our views out onto the front of the hotel were cool, a lovely terrace bar & gardens. The rooms had an overpowering and cheap smelling "air freshener" / diffuser which I could have done without, and the shower had a broken base, which didn't effect the shower but was the only small complaint so far. We were advised to avoid Venice that evening due to high tides & no wellies, we checked the bar at the hotel, no cocktails, just one couple and a few tumbleweeds! In the summer, the Lido would be magic, really buzzing, in Jan it was quieter but we found a friendly little street bar round the corner from the hotel & a great Italian restaurant further down the street. There are plenty of stores & shops open in close vicinity to the Hotel & the water ferry terminal is a few minutes walk; so it really is a doddle. Much less hectic than Venice. And in summer, the sandy beach nearby would be magic.
The Thai Spa is very smart at the hotel, but pricey. We didn't have a treatment, but we used the
other less expensive spa facilities & had a very relaxing afternoon, sauna, steam rooms, big Jacuzzi, wooden day beds etc; chilled out on green tea, big fluffy towels & new age music :)
The breakfast is good enough, they have plenty of fresh fruit, cereals, eggs, bacon, pastries & croissant. Homemade fresh yogurt in a freezing churn which is delicious & more like ice cream & the coffee was excellent. I know it's tempting to pull some places apart in these reviews, but frankly, it was a good value hotel, that wasn't run down or worn out as some reviews claim. If you want a clean, smart family friendly hotel with great amenities, a beach on the doorstep & Venice five minutes away by water bus; this is a good one to choose. I would definitely stay here again & again. Thanks for a lovely weekend.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a suite if you have the option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mark A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
61 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014

The interior of the hotel is inversely proportional to what looks from the outside.
Reception, corridors, breakfast room, bar, bedrooms (classic), everything seems to go back dozens and dozens and dozens and dozens of years ago. But this does not add a "historic" charm to the environment, but it really does appear now decrepit and very dismal. Everything is worn, chipped, rusty, faded ... furnished without taste, poorly papered...
And my question is: who gave to this hotel 4 stars?? Needs a massive modernization otherwise it can not be considered more comfortable and decorous than a 2 star hotel...barely...

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J2U5H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lido di Venezia hotels
0.3 mi away
Residence Le Ville del Lido
Residence Le Ville del Lido
#1 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
341 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Excelsior
Hotel Excelsior
#11 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
879 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Panorama
Hotel Panorama
#2 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Villa Pannonia
Hotel Villa Pannonia
#6 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
308 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Laguna
Villa Laguna
#7 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
538 reviews
0.1 mi away
Biasutti Hotel
Biasutti Hotel
#16 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungaria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungaria

Property: Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungaria
Address: Gran Viale Santa Maria Elisabetta 28, 30126 Lido di Venezia, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Lido di Venezia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Lido di Venezia
#3 Luxury Hotel in Lido di Venezia
#5 Family Hotel in Lido di Venezia
#7 Romantic Hotel in Lido di Venezia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungaria 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grande Albergo AUSONIA & HUGARIA is a historic residence in Venice with a one-of-a-kind atmosphere with a Thai SPA and wellness center. The hotel is just a few minutes from the dock where the "vaporetto", the local public water-bus transportation, leave every 10 minutes for Saint Mark's Square, the downtown of Venice. The suggestive boat trip is just 10 minutes long and takes you through the Saint Mark's basin.The hotel is a welcoming gem in Liberty style with period furniture, large frescoed halls, perfect for any type of event, a renowned restaurant and rooms with every comfort for a romantic and exclusive stay.Every year, many national and international stars select the Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungaria for their stay in Lido during the Mostra Internazionale d’Arte Cinematografica (the Venice Film Festival) to appreciate the beauty and charm of the timeless structure and the superior service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungaria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grande Albergo Ausonia And Hungaria Wellness & Spa On Venice Lido Hotel
Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungaria Province Of Venice, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing