We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Made an old woman very happy!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungaria
Ranked #3 of 33 Hotels in Lido di Venezia
Certificate of Excellence
North Newton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Made an old woman very happy!”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

I booked this hotel via a Travelzoo offer for three nights. It was part of a trip to take my 82 year old mother to see Venice; only her second time abroad in her life! I was a little worried about finding the Hotel by myself but it turned out to be very easy - we took one of the water taxis which take up to 12 people and that worked very well. When we turned up outside the hotel my mother couldn't believe it was the right place - it does look very grand! I had emailed the hotel previously and also arranged an upgraded room - this was very nice indeed and we have no complaints about the cleanliness, standards or décor. Perhaps the standard rooms are not so good? Breakfast was so superb every day we hardly needed to worry about lunch. We had dinner in the hotel on one night - this was very good although quite expensive but so is everything in Venice. There are lots of other restaurants nearby so you have good choice. The hotel is out on the Lido and not in the central bustle but this made it very peaceful and my mother loved having the scenic boatride each day.
I would love to return to Venice and would stay here again.

Room Tip: Go for the upgrade - it would appear to be well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

887 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    350
    369
    115
    30
    23
See reviews for
180
493
25
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

We stayed here for our honeymoon in April. The location is good if you want to be away from the hustle and bustle of Venice but convenient for the vaporetto. Breakfasts are great, lots of choice. Rooms are average for the price, shower door was about to fall off, reported but nothing done. Overall it's okay for the price but didn't have the sparkle we'd hoped for our honeymoon.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jomcvitie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Willimantic, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

If you are looking for a European Hotel then this maybe the one you want. Nice rooms, bathrooms nice and clean and a good morning continental breakfast(they had fresh fruit). Nice location too and walking distance to restaurants and cafe's.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeanine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

We arrived at the hotel after an arduous journey and in the midst of a storm to find our room was overbooked. We had no phone call/email prior to arriving at the reception.

We were put in a taxi to stay in a nearby hotel for our first night of a 3 night stay. Disappointed, I wrote an email to complain. We arrived back at the hotel on the second night of a 3 night stay to find we had been upgraded and there was a bottle of prosecco waiting for us. The breakfast was excellent, the spa enjoyable and the location is excellent for the city and surrounding islands.

I'm disappointed that I had to complain to be offered compensation, but the stay was enjoyable overall

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank jonners50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
303 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

The hotel is very pretty on the outside and inside. The restaurant and bar are very nice. There was a problem with the wifi reception. There are many restaurants within walking distance as well as a large grocery store and pharmacy. The hotel is from the 1920s and is well kept. The boat dock is only a block away to go to Venice. There is a very nice beach a few blocks from the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HectorFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We stayed at this hotel in Venice Lido as part of a rail excursion holiday of northern Italy whereas previously we stayed on the main island in a hotel near St. Mark's Square overlooking the Grand Canal Basin.
Having stayed in these two locations, I would recommend staying on the Lido as it is only a ten minute vaporetto ride (No. 1) to St. Mark's Square and is much quieter than Venice itself.
There are many places to eat on the Lido which, whilst they would lack the ambiance of those on the Venice, are cheaper and less crowded. It is also more relaxing to get away from the throngs around the popular spots in Venice.
The hotel room we stayed in was large and overlooked the front terrace bar area but we found the firmness of the bed mattress and pillows rather to firm for our older bodies. Apparently, softer pillows are available from reception on request. The bathroom had recently been refurbished using a rather bright green and white tiling colour scheme which gave it a slightly clinical feel. The shower was not easy to use as the high water pressure made the shower hose writhe like an agitated snake as there was no place to secure it on the wall that I could see so the water went everywhere but on me unless I held it firmly. A grill on the floor ensured the water drained away so no problem.
The restaurant and breakfast room were pleasant as was the terrace bar. The staff are helpful and polite.
I cannot comment on the value for money as it part of an inclusive tour.
I believe the hotel was featured in a film (Hotel 2010) but not having seen it that I recollect so I cannot comment further on this.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael-Newbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

The hotel is very well placed to get the most out of your visit to venice. Staying on the Lido allows you to escape the busyness of the main island and sample a quieter more residential environment - still with plenty of canals around and nice restaurants within 5 mins walk. The boat dock is only a 5-10 minute walk, we got the alilaguna from the airport for 27 euro and a 72 hour vaperetto pass for 30 euro, both are a regular reliable service with transfer to st marks only 15-20 mins.
The down side to Lido is that the beach is a mess but then you don't go to venice to sit on the beach.
The hotel is a beautiful building, and is clean and fresh inside. We stayed in a junior suite on the 4th floor facing the road but it was quiet with double glazing and a view across Laguna to St marks square.
The staff are really friendly and can't do enough to help, breakfast was good for a continental offering with bacon and scrambled eggs thrown in - you have to get there early to get the croissants though!
The spa was nice, we went there once to ease our legs after all the walking in venice.
The restaurant is interesting. if you do try it, it is worth trying the steak which although expensive is served in a very interesting way shared across the table with a central hot plate.
All in all a great hotel for your base, highly recommended.

Room Tip: Top floor is very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank durhamrower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lido di Venezia hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Excelsior Venice
Hotel Excelsior Venice
#11 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
908 reviews
0.3 mi away
Residence Le Ville del Lido
Residence Le Ville del Lido
#1 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
362 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Panorama
Hotel Panorama
#2 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Villa Pannonia
Hotel Villa Pannonia
#5 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
316 reviews
0.1 mi away
Biasutti Hotel
Biasutti Hotel
#17 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
346 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Mabapa
Hotel Villa Mabapa
#4 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungaria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungaria

Property: Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungaria
Address: Gran Viale Santa Maria Elisabetta 28, 30126 Lido di Venezia, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Lido di Venezia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Lido di Venezia
#3 Luxury Hotel in Lido di Venezia
#5 Family Hotel in Lido di Venezia
#7 Romantic Hotel in Lido di Venezia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungaria 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grande Albergo AUSONIA & HUGARIA is a historic residence in Venice with a one-of-a-kind atmosphere with a Thai SPA and wellness center. The hotel is just a few minutes from the dock where the "vaporetto", the local public water-bus transportation, leave every 10 minutes for Saint Mark's Square, the downtown of Venice. The suggestive boat trip is just 10 minutes long and takes you through the Saint Mark's basin.The hotel is a welcoming gem in Liberty style with period furniture, large frescoed halls, perfect for any type of event, a renowned restaurant and rooms with every comfort for a romantic and exclusive stay.Every year, many national and international stars select the Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungaria for their stay in Lido during the Mostra Internazionale d’Arte Cinematografica (the Venice Film Festival) to appreciate the beauty and charm of the timeless structure and the superior service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungaria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grande Albergo Ausonia And Hungaria Wellness & Spa On Venice Lido Hotel
Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungaria Province Of Venice, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing