We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel is a work of art”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungaria
Ranked #3 of 33 Hotels in Lido di Venezia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 July 2014

This hotel has mosaic art all over the front of it. It's a view all by itself. Our room was more like two rooms - a large bedroom with a king bed, two chairs and table with coffee pot, mini-bar, flat-screen TV, and a sitting room with a couch, end table and desk - very spacious and clean. It was on the top floor, front center/corner. I think this was the only hotel on our two-week tour with American TV news channels available, CNN and FoxNews. We were on a tour so I can't score the value since I don't know what it cost but it must be high - being in Venice and all. I told the desk clerk how much we enjoyed our room and were told "you must be in room 401, the junior suite." Like that must be the best of the house. How did we luck out with that? There is a patio bar at the front of the hotel surrounded by flowers and beautiful bushes. It's a great place to have a beer or glass of wine at the end of the day and suck in the luxury of this hotel. The only drawback is that it's on the island of Lido. Our tour bus had to take a ferry to get us to the hotel. Then water taxis are needed to get to the main area of Venice. But it's not as crowded on Lido as in Venice so the inconvenience was worth it. Loved this place. Hope we make it make again some day.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (927)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

272 - 278 of 927 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2014

My wife and I stayed at this hotel a few years back and while we are unable to comment on more recent renovations we found the property to have plenty of old world charm. Proximity to St Marks was very convenient by water taxi but far enough away from the teaming tourists to allow for relaxation. The fact that we still consider this vacation spot fondly years later, enough so to write this review, should convey the unique and special nature of this grand old lady.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CoopToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Sitting in the sheltered Bar of this Hotel overlooking the Main Street on Venice Lido sipping a Campari Soda is a great way to relax after the hustle & bustle of a day sight seeing in nearby
Venice. After a short Water Bus voyage across the Lagoon the Ausonia is situated a less than
10 minute walk from the Quay side and for a short stay you will not be disappointed. True it's an old hotel but then nearly all the Hotels on the Lido are quite old, this one is clean & comfortable.
Bedroom more than adequate if a little dark with brown furnishings but the bathrooms are new &
well equipped. Breakfast, buffet style is taken in a bright modern room and was excellent with more than enough variety to satisfy even the hungriest appetite.
There is a very attractive if rather formal restaurant in the hotel and many more within yards
Outside the confines of the Hotel.
Staff were more than attentive and polite from the Receptionist,Porter to the Barman who was particularly efficient & knowledgeable.
If I was visiting Venice again and wanted the quieter surroundings of a the Lido from the bustle
of Venice proper I would definitely stay at the Ausonia again.

Room Tip: Minimum upgrade one level from basic room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Norman J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

I hate the exterior decor and only booked the hotel as we got a great deal. Got a Junior Suite, which was actually 2 bedrooms simply knocked together, so 2 bathrooms, one with shower, the other with a bath (rare in Venice)! Each room quite small. Rooms very clean with solid, dark heavy furniture. Very comfortable beds. The hotel is a bit dated, a bit old worlde, with waiters in formal wear, even at breakfast. Breakfast was better than expected, actually had salad stuff which is all I eat for breakfast. The staff were very helpful.

Only complaint is the internet charge. They provide 20 minutes free each day, but you have to collect a daily password.You can pay 5 euros for unlimited use. In my view, the internet should not be charged separately, just lump it into the room charge.

Finally, the bright red, plastic carpet at the entrance looks awful. No need for it at all. But, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank footloose111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

This exterior of this hotel could have served as the inspiration for the outside of the Grand Budapest Hotel in that movie. The hotel was very nice and clean and obviously pretty old. Our room was on the small side, pretty much like just about all the hotels we stayed at. The shower was really small reminding me of the one on the cruise we took a few years ago. Breakfast was very good with many choices. I may have this wrong but I think this is the hotel I dropped off 7 postcards for the U.S. at the front desk and none of them have made it to their addressees so far as opposed to the ones I mailed in Florence. Our tour director had warned us not to mail anything until we had gotten to Assisi but I guess I should have waited until Florence. The hotel does have a very good location with a grocery store just a few minutes away in walking distance with really good prices for soda and water to take on the bus..

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lytnnng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

This hotel has a 5-star facade with 3-star rooms, but is in a great location on Lido, one of the many islands of Venice, a 25-minute boat ride to St Mark's Square and away from the suffocating crowds. It has lots of old-world charm, but ask for a room on the top floor, because we could hear every movement in the room above, including running shower and flushing toilet. Our room was small, with a tiny bathroom. The hotel is an easy 15-minute walk to the beach and close to restaurants and the wharf.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ouzo10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We stayed there for 4 nights and we absolutely loved the place. From the outside it looks glorious and inside it is just as nice. We had a very warm welcome to the hotel which put us in a good mood straight away. The halls in the Hotel look a little dated ( it is a very old Hotel), but once we got into the room it was lovely. Nice wooden floors with a big bed, Bathroom was large and clean. It also had Sky TV which was a plus on the lazy mornings. It is clear to tell that the hotel has a lot of character and makes a difference to the bog standard hotel room.
We did have a small issue with the shower but they fixed it quickly. There was also a really nice bar outside and made the evenings in quite enjoyable.
The hotel is on the Island of LIDO which is about 20 mins waterbus from S Marco, or about 45 mins from the Bus station /Train station. Try and get on the water bus # 2 as it travels down the grande canal (great pictures) and is slightly quicker than the #1.
I would definitely recommend/stay there again!

NOTE: it costs 5 euors for the wifi but its a one off payment for the duration of your stay. There is a 3.20 euro city tax per person per night in Venice which you have to pay at the end of the stay.

Room Tip: I was in a room on the first floor and had no issues with it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Irfan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lido di Venezia hotels
0.3 mi away
Residence Le Ville del Lido
Residence Le Ville del Lido
#1 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
388 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Panorama
Hotel Panorama
#2 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
843 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Excelsior Venice
Hotel Excelsior Venice
#9 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Hotel Villa Pannonia
Hotel Villa Pannonia
#5 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
328 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Boulevard Hotel
Le Boulevard Hotel
#7 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
853 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Laguna
Villa Laguna
#6 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungaria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungaria

Address: Gran Viale Santa Maria Elisabetta 28, 30126 Lido di Venezia, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Lido di Venezia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Lido di Venezia
#3 Luxury Hotel in Lido di Venezia
#4 Family Hotel in Lido di Venezia
#7 Romantic Hotel in Lido di Venezia
Price Range: £48 - £247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungaria 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grande Albergo AUSONIA & HUGARIA is a historic residence in Venice with a one-of-a-kind atmosphere with a Thai SPA and wellness center. The hotel is just a few minutes from the dock where the "vaporetto", the local public water-bus transportation, leave every 10 minutes for Saint Mark's Square, the downtown of Venice. The suggestive boat trip is just 10 minutes long and takes you through the Saint Mark's basin.The hotel is a welcoming gem in Liberty style with period furniture, large frescoed halls, perfect for any type of event, a renowned restaurant and rooms with every comfort for a romantic and exclusive stay.Every year, many national and international stars select the Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungaria for their stay in Lido during the Mostra Internazionale d’Arte Cinematografica (the Venice Film Festival) to appreciate the beauty and charm of the timeless structure and the superior service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Expedia, HotelQuickly, Hotels.com, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungaria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grande Albergo Ausonia And Hungaria Wellness & Spa On Venice Lido Hotel
Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungaria Province Of Venice, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing