We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful mosaic facade.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungaria
Ranked #3 of 33 Hotels in Lido di Venezia
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Beautiful mosaic facade.”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

This was a lovely hotel, there is a beautiful mosaic facade at the front. The rooms are typical of European hotels. Its in a good location on the Lido away from the crowds and a short walk to the beach. Dining room food was good and breakfast was substantial. Agree with other reviews, a great place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GeorgyLynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

865 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    343
    357
    112
    30
    23
See reviews for
176
478
23
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
67 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Hotel is located on Lido away from crowds of tourists. Water taxi/bus can easily take you back to crowds at canals. Plenty of nearby shopping and cafes/restaurants. Beautiful décor and charm at this hotel. Nice outside patio bar area. Basic smallish room with small bathroom (like most throughout Italy it seems). Clean & comfortable. Staff was very nice here.

Room Tip: Staying in a hotel away from all the crowds is a plus here. After riding the water taxis & gond...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dleg4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Littlehampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
433 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Not much to add to the other reviews. Location is fantastic, easy access to beach and Vaporetto stop. Several decent gelateria, cafes an restaurants. Also some expensive shops. Feels like the seaside. Hotel is great, good facilities, TV worked although SKY tv is a bit hit and miss. Breakfast was excellent with hot and cold buffet and relaxing room. Ate dinner with a group and it was a shambles although the food was quite nice.

Room Tip: Front can be noisy, especially if event on the verandah. Buses seem extraordinarily noisy. Some nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teacake_Taster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level Contributor
210 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

This hotel has mosaic art all over the front of it. It's a view all by itself. Our room was more like two rooms - a large bedroom with a king bed, two chairs and table with coffee pot, mini-bar, flat-screen TV, and a sitting room with a couch, end table and desk - very spacious and clean. It was on the top floor, front center/corner. I think this was the only hotel on our two-week tour with American TV news channels available, CNN and FoxNews. We were on a tour so I can't score the value since I don't know what it cost but it must be high - being in Venice and all. I told the desk clerk how much we enjoyed our room and were told "you must be in room 401, the junior suite." Like that must be the best of the house. How did we luck out with that? There is a patio bar at the front of the hotel surrounded by flowers and beautiful bushes. It's a great place to have a beer or glass of wine at the end of the day and suck in the luxury of this hotel. The only drawback is that it's on the island of Lido. Our tour bus had to take a ferry to get us to the hotel. Then water taxis are needed to get to the main area of Venice. But it's not as crowded on Lido as in Venice so the inconvenience was worth it. Loved this place. Hope we make it make again some day.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

My wife and I stayed at this hotel a few years back and while we are unable to comment on more recent renovations we found the property to have plenty of old world charm. Proximity to St Marks was very convenient by water taxi but far enough away from the teaming tourists to allow for relaxation. The fact that we still consider this vacation spot fondly years later, enough so to write this review, should convey the unique and special nature of this grand old lady.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CoopToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aldenham, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Sitting in the sheltered Bar of this Hotel overlooking the Main Street on Venice Lido sipping a Campari Soda is a great way to relax after the hustle & bustle of a day sight seeing in nearby
Venice. After a short Water Bus voyage across the Lagoon the Ausonia is situated a less than
10 minute walk from the Quay side and for a short stay you will not be disappointed. True it's an old hotel but then nearly all the Hotels on the Lido are quite old, this one is clean & comfortable.
Bedroom more than adequate if a little dark with brown furnishings but the bathrooms are new &
well equipped. Breakfast, buffet style is taken in a bright modern room and was excellent with more than enough variety to satisfy even the hungriest appetite.
There is a very attractive if rather formal restaurant in the hotel and many more within yards
Outside the confines of the Hotel.
Staff were more than attentive and polite from the Receptionist,Porter to the Barman who was particularly efficient & knowledgeable.
If I was visiting Venice again and wanted the quieter surroundings of a the Lido from the bustle
of Venice proper I would definitely stay at the Ausonia again.

Room Tip: Minimum upgrade one level from basic room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Norman J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
48 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

I hate the exterior decor and only booked the hotel as we got a great deal. Got a Junior Suite, which was actually 2 bedrooms simply knocked together, so 2 bathrooms, one with shower, the other with a bath (rare in Venice)! Each room quite small. Rooms very clean with solid, dark heavy furniture. Very comfortable beds. The hotel is a bit dated, a bit old worlde, with waiters in formal wear, even at breakfast. Breakfast was better than expected, actually had salad stuff which is all I eat for breakfast. The staff were very helpful.

Only complaint is the internet charge. They provide 20 minutes free each day, but you have to collect a daily password.You can pay 5 euros for unlimited use. In my view, the internet should not be charged separately, just lump it into the room charge.

Finally, the bright red, plastic carpet at the entrance looks awful. No need for it at all. But, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank footloose111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lido di Venezia hotels
0.3 mi away
Residence Le Ville del Lido
Residence Le Ville del Lido
#1 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Panorama
Hotel Panorama
#2 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 793 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Villa Pannonia
Hotel Villa Pannonia
#4 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Excelsior
Hotel Excelsior
#11 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 853 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Laguna
Villa Laguna
#7 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 531 reviews
0.5 mi away
Venezia 2000 Hotel & Residence
Venezia 2000 Hotel & Residence
#5 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungaria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungaria

Property: Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungaria
Address: Gran Viale Santa Maria Elisabetta 28, 30126 Lido di Venezia, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Lido di Venezia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Lido di Venezia
#3 Luxury Hotel in Lido di Venezia
#5 Family Hotel in Lido di Venezia
#7 Romantic Hotel in Lido di Venezia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungaria 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grande Albergo AUSONIA & HUGARIA is a historic residence in Venice with a one-of-a-kind atmosphere with a Thai SPA and wellness center. The hotel is just a few minutes from the dock where the "vaporetto", the local public water-bus transportation, leave every 10 minutes for Saint Mark's Square, the downtown of Venice. The suggestive boat trip is just 10 minutes long and takes you through the Saint Mark's basin.The hotel is a welcoming gem in Liberty style with period furniture, large frescoed halls, perfect for any type of event, a renowned restaurant and rooms with every comfort for a romantic and exclusive stay.Every year, many national and international stars select the Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungaria for their stay in Lido during the Mostra Internazionale d’Arte Cinematografica (the Venice Film Festival) to appreciate the beauty and charm of the timeless structure and the superior service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TravelUp, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungaria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grande Albergo Ausonia And Hungaria Wellness & Spa On Venice Lido Hotel
Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungaria Province Of Venice, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing