We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I'd stay here again” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungaria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungaria
Ranked #3 of 33 Hotels in Lido di Venezia
Certificate of Excellence
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“I'd stay here again”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

The hotel is located along the street that runs from the port of Lido and the beach, on the Adriatic side of the island. And the exterior of the hotel looks quite marvellous. You get the feeling of stepping back in time when you enter, and we were greeted by a very friendly staff at the front desk. Our room was spacious and clean with a large bathrom, including a bath tub. The breakfast had a buffet with a wide range of choices. It is recommended to try the spa, which is located in the basemen. You can book different treatments, and the thai massage was exquisite!

We had dinner at the hotel's restaurant one evening. That was the only thing we was not completely satisfied with, and that keeps me from giving the hotel a 'very good' instead of 'excellent'. Service was friendly, although a little slow. And the food was good, but not remarkably so. We had expected a little more.

However, this will not keep us from coming back here. As for food, there are restaurants along the street you can try instead. And, it's fantastic to have your nest out on the Lido di Venezia, instead of inside the crowded city.

And the smiling and friendly staff was something we really appreciated. They made us feel really welcome. Free wifi would have been nice, though.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lars-GL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

843 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    333
    348
    109
    30
    23
See reviews for
171
467
23
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

Lovely hotel. We stayed here for two nights on a recent trip to Venice. This hotel exudes charm. It was a very convenient walk to the dock for the water taxi. The rooms and hallways, though "old world" were very clean, the beds were comfortable, the bathrooms were well equipped, good tub and shower. The dining room had a beautiful spread of breakfast items. The service was impeccable and although we did not do much sightseeing on Lido, the surrounding areas seemed charming. The hotel's reception area is small by today's standards but there is seating in the exterior terrace area near the hotel's entrance. What we liked the best was that, although it's a short boat ride away from Venice, the Grande Albergo Hotel and Lido felt far removed from the hustle and bustle of Venice.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MerryGoWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

This hotel looks great from the outside and has a constant steam of tourists taking photos of the exterior. Yes, the inside is a little dated, but the helpful staff, amazing spa, quality, large rooms and fantastic spread at breakfast more than make up for it. It's close to the ferry port and the beach, well worth a stay.

Room Tip: Room 103 was allocated to us and is above the entrance to the hotel. Accordingly, everyone walking b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MJS_84_84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed for five days this hotel has a quaint palace type charm. Yes, it is a little worn in places but has that shabby chic feel and a certain olde world glamour.

Breakfast was plentiful with many choices and service was attentive. Reception staff were efficient and friendly offering helpful advise.

We found the hotel ideally placed and thoroughly loved our little boat trip over to st marks each morning to start our day. Restaurants around were pretty good though the open air one exactly opposite is not worth it.

The gelato bar across from the entrance is to die for - I will say no more...

Room service was fine and the bed was huge and comfy. Well worth a stay in a short break and we would stay at this hotel again

It was easy to find we caught the boat from the airport and literally got off at the dock and walked up the main road. It is a three minute walk and you cannot miss it on your right.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Candace R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

Stayed in a triple room in July. Definitely very impressive facade and rooms, great breakfast, good location, only a couple of minutes walk from Lido water taxi station and only 10/15 mins from central Venice water bus stations on the boat.
Nice terrace area for drinks on warm summer evenings.
Only a couple of points for the hotel to consider to improve things:
There was no real useable public lounge area, there was a room between breakfast and reception which seemed out of use (could be a great lounge)
The terrace are could maybe use some medium / large plants and/or classy parasols to break up the space a bit?
In the same trip we spent 3 days in hotel Al Vagon in central Venice. The Hungaria offered larger room, better facilities and included breakfast for not much more in cost.
Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank warny15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
138 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

My friend and I travelled to Venice for a short break during a European vacation we were taking during 2012. The service was excellent and the use of the on site spa was absolutely brilliant. The outdoor terrace and entertainment was very nice and we consumed more than one bottle of wine out there. It is in the heart of wonderful local cuisine and down the road from a nice beach. It is a wonderful way to explore Venice and a perfect way to relax away from the hustle and bustle of the main islands.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeremy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

The first thing that pops to mind is the Grand
Budapest Hotel. It's been said elsewhere in reviews but it's so true. It's a little triply how surreal the outside looks. Beautifully taken care of. It's also an old property, and the rooms are perfectly clean and nice, but the furniture is antique. And that's what they're going for. Expect that when you go in. It's a nice spot, there is a nice patio where you can get drinks and chill, and the island of Lido is a serious highlight being so far away from the bajillion tourists on Venice island. But, it's not the most adorned hotel on the inside despite the exterior sexiness of the buildings structure. The other key to remember is that getting to lido will, at the very least, involve a 7€per person fee and a 45min maximum trip each way to the main island. So, you need to estimate *at least a 14€ per person added charge per day to get back and forth to the island. Trade that in for a way less busy location (Lido) that has a lot of added charm, a clean room that may be way cheaper than the main island, and a free breakfast, and you've got a good trade off in my opinion, but it's something to keep in mind...

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank PaiPiper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lido di Venezia hotels
0.3 mi away
Residence Le Ville del Lido
Residence Le Ville del Lido
#1 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Panorama
Hotel Panorama
#2 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 765 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Villa Pannonia
Hotel Villa Pannonia
#4 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Villa Laguna
Villa Laguna
#7 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Excelsior
Hotel Excelsior
#10 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 837 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Boulevard Hotel
Le Boulevard Hotel
#9 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungaria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungaria

Property: Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungaria
Address: Gran Viale Santa Maria Elisabetta 28, 30126 Lido di Venezia, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Lido di Venezia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Lido di Venezia
#3 Luxury Hotel in Lido di Venezia
#5 Family Hotel in Lido di Venezia
#7 Romantic Hotel in Lido di Venezia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungaria 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grande Albergo AUSONIA & HUGARIA is a historic residence in Venice with a one-of-a-kind atmosphere with a Thai SPA and wellness center. The hotel is just a few minutes from the dock where the "vaporetto", the local public water-bus transportation, leave every 10 minutes for Saint Mark's Square, the downtown of Venice. The suggestive boat trip is just 10 minutes long and takes you through the Saint Mark's basin.The hotel is a welcoming gem in Liberty style with period furniture, large frescoed halls, perfect for any type of event, a renowned restaurant and rooms with every comfort for a romantic and exclusive stay.Every year, many national and international stars select the Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungaria for their stay in Lido during the Mostra Internazionale d’Arte Cinematografica (the Venice Film Festival) to appreciate the beauty and charm of the timeless structure and the superior service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and TravelUp so you can book your Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungaria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grande Albergo Ausonia And Hungaria Wellness & Spa On Venice Lido Hotel
Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungaria Province Of Venice, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing