We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best balanced between city and contry in venice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungaria
Ranked #3 of 33 Hotels in Lido di Venezia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 July 2010

Lido Island, this hotel located in, is 15 minutes boating from SanMarco Square.
Compared to such a closer location, this is so quiet and comforatble to stay at.
There is a convinient supermarket nearby, and beach is also easy to access.
Not only external looks but internal is good including breakfast room.
One thing to complain...night sound arond this hotel is a little bit noisy.
That's all!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tokyo-Rome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (922)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

455 - 461 of 922 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2010

I came upon this hotel purely by chance with a last minute deal and was not sure what to expect when i arrived. My friend and i arrived about midnight and the outside of the hotel was stunning, with the lights shining on the tiles and decor. we were shown to our room which was not particularly massive but did the job because we were planning on being there very little because of all the sights! However when day broke and we got up it became obvious the hotel inside was a little tatty and a bit dated however we couldn't fault the cleanliness or tidiness. It is marketed as having "art deco" rooms however this does not seem to be true, we had one frame on the wall that could be classed as this.
The breakfast was superb, with every choice you could possibly want and a gorgeous morning room to eat it in. The location was perfect because in one direction was the beach (which is NOT attached to the hotel - 10 min walk) and the other side was the boat stop over to venice itself, st marks square in 10 minutes max!
The spa attached to the hotel is a traditional thai spa and done very well, however, it feels a little wierd being in italy, but the massage was incredible! There is no pool at the hotel and no lounge to sit in inside when it gets too hot on the beach or the terrace.
Considering we were doing a 5 day sightseeing tour none of these were particularly big issues, especially as we got a good deal. However if i was spending a week relaxing, or paying full price, i would seriously reconsider. not quite the 4* i was expecting for the price.

Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
Thank countrybumpkinUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2010

The hotel was built about 100 years ago in the centre of the Lido, one of Europe's most glamourous beach destinations of that time. Today, it hasn't lost anything of its glory. The renovated building facade in Art Nouveau style is really beatiful. Inside, the hotel is also brought up to today's standards.
While centrally located on Lido, the hotel is only a few hundred metres away from the dockside where the vaporetti connect up with the rest of Venice. Frequency of the boats is very high, as the Lido site is part of the main lines. There are also direct connections with e.g. the lovely Burrano island or with the Marco Polo airport (via the Alilaguna line).
The advantage of staying on the Lido island is that, while you are still within very easy reach of all of Venice's must-see parts of the city, you can actually relax in the evening "away from it all". If you have the time and can stay for a week or more, you can also blend in a day where you simply stay on the Lido island and enjoy the beach or rent a bike.
The hotel serves a good breakfast. The breakfast room however can be busy and gets very hot with the sun on the glass walls and ceilings. At the -1 level, an entire floor has been converted to a Thai massage / health center, which is very professionally run. We enjoyed a great massage (a well deserved treat, as Venice can be wearing you down).
The hotel bar can be used for pre- or after-dinner drinks. While a set menu is offered for dinner, we didn't find it very attractive. There are plenty of restaurants nearby, so there is no risk of running short of choice.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank De_Frank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2010

We stayed in the Ausonia & Hungaria in July 2010 it was our first time to Venice and unsure of where to stay on Lido or in main Venice, we are so delighted to have stayed on Lido, the Hotel is fantastic, location, staff, rooms etc we couldn't fault it. Our superior room was a great size for 3 of us, we enjoyed our glass of wine on the terrace in the evening and our breakfasts in the morning. We would highly recommend this hotel and also staying on Lido in July when it's hot, having the beach to swim in and great restaurants and wine bars within a 5 min walk makes it the perfect place to stay when in Venice. 10 mins from Marks Square in the boat, we will definitely be back to Ausonia and Lido. Thanks for a great hol.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nuala23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2010

Venice was completely booked so a clerk found us this hotel. We were reluctant at first because it was in Lido but it turned out to be only 15-minute boat ride. The hotel was so beautiful and clean. Many tourists stopped to take pictures of the hotel from the street. Food was also less expensive on this island. The buffet was good but not fantastic. The room was small but it was typical in many places in Europe. The staffs Aureliano and Ordalisa were very helpful and wonderful.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NinhDzoan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2010

We went to the hotel for our 25th weddinganniversary. The hotel was beautiful, the staff were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble.Our room although not huge was lovely with a very good ensuite and a fridge.The public rooms were sympathetically restored and very grand.The buffet breakfast,laid out in a huge conservatory/orangery, was varied with a hot and cold selection.There was a spa at the hotel but there is a charge to use it, although you can book spa packages. The hotel was a 5 minute walk from the boat to Venice.The boats runday and night.There are some really good restaurants nearby.We will definitely go back.We stayed for 3 nights and as we had an evening flight home didn't vacate our room until 4 at no extra cost.The beach was a 10 minute stroll, very busy on a Sunday.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RosieOWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2009

We were very surprise that so many things you can find on the same place with this hotel and its location! It is located on the islad Lido(on eof the island of Venice) just 10 minutes from Saint Marco's square. First it is so easy to reach from from airport taking the waterbus Alilaguna name. Once you reach the Lido you will feel peace and oazi with bealive it or not the beach! It is so amazing...looking the sunsets, drinking the italian wines...The hotel has so beautiful terrace where we enyoed our evenings...The weather was very good thou..
The thing that suprised us is hotel's amazing spa center with the Lanna THai massagies and humid part like sauna, turkish bath, aromatic bath...it was so good realixing there after a long day walking in Venice! Venice is busy so I raccomand staying at Lido where you can find your peace and relax, and specialy in this hotel!
The staff was so helpful explaning us everything that we wanted to know and see, breakfast is good as you can find a little bit of everything...
Oh I amost forgot to mention the beach! It is another thing that suprised us that the Venice is so well known for its beach and small houses name "Capanas". Half othe island is sand and half is rocks,that means whatever you like there is there! So good food, good staff, beautiful place, gorgeous hotel with the spa center, beach, peaceful and 10 minutes from Saint Marco's square what do you need more from your vacation?! :)))

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kujovic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lido di Venezia hotels
0.3 mi away
Residence Le Ville del Lido
Residence Le Ville del Lido
#1 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
388 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Excelsior Venice
Hotel Excelsior Venice
#10 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
971 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Panorama
Hotel Panorama
#2 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Villa Pannonia
Hotel Villa Pannonia
#4 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
328 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Mabapa
Hotel Villa Mabapa
#6 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
553 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Boulevard Hotel
Le Boulevard Hotel
#7 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungaria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungaria

Address: Gran Viale Santa Maria Elisabetta 28, 30126 Lido di Venezia, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Lido di Venezia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Lido di Venezia
#3 Luxury Hotel in Lido di Venezia
#5 Family Hotel in Lido di Venezia
#7 Romantic Hotel in Lido di Venezia
Price Range: £51 - £489 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungaria 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grande Albergo AUSONIA & HUGARIA is a historic residence in Venice with a one-of-a-kind atmosphere with a Thai SPA and wellness center. The hotel is just a few minutes from the dock where the "vaporetto", the local public water-bus transportation, leave every 10 minutes for Saint Mark's Square, the downtown of Venice. The suggestive boat trip is just 10 minutes long and takes you through the Saint Mark's basin.The hotel is a welcoming gem in Liberty style with period furniture, large frescoed halls, perfect for any type of event, a renowned restaurant and rooms with every comfort for a romantic and exclusive stay.Every year, many national and international stars select the Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungaria for their stay in Lido during the Mostra Internazionale d’Arte Cinematografica (the Venice Film Festival) to appreciate the beauty and charm of the timeless structure and the superior service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungaria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grande Albergo Ausonia And Hungaria Wellness & Spa On Venice Lido Hotel
Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungaria Province Of Venice, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing