We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A different Venice...”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Excelsior

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Excelsior
Ranked #10 of 33 Hotels in Lido di Venezia
London
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“A different Venice...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2012

First of all it must be said this hotel is big...very big indeed.The reception areas are grand and lavish & the whole hotel is on a scale that recalls a bygone era which is reinforced by the photographs of stars from the golden age of film who stayed there in the Lido's heyday.It would be hard not to be impressed by the sheer magnificence of it all.
The welcome from the staff was courteous and professional and our room (Grand deluxe with garden view) both overlooked part of the garden & the Adriatic as well.The Moorish inspired room was large,comfortable and pitch black when blinds and curtains pulled (a very good night's sleep) but the bathroom fairly ordinary in comparison to other areas of the hotel.
The shuttle boat from the hotel to the San Marco area left regularly every half hour either to the Danielli hotel or the Europa and was a lovely twenty minute ride.Often times,late at night (the last boat from Venice back to the hotel departs at midnight),we would be the only couple on the boat and it really did feel like our own private launch.
There's not a great deal to see in the immediate area surrounding the hotel and this certainly is a good option if you want to escape the hustle & bustle of the city.Should you not want to take the boat across to Venice,there are two very acceptable restaurants close to hand...La Tavernetta & Valentinos.
Breakfast was served in a big dining room with a good choice of both hot and cold dishes,and there was even Prosecco to hand for those who want an early morning boost.
Prices in the hotel for drinks,meals and sundries are expensive as is befitting of a 5 star hotel but there are options both locally & of course in Venice itself.
Prices vary greatly for the rooms so best to check out several sites for the best deal but having just returned home I am already missing the whole experience & would return in an instant.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonPianoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndreaMariani, Responsabile reception at Hotel Excelsior, responded to this review, 16 September 2012
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for the time spent leaving such a nice review over the Excelsior.
Tha Staff, the Management and I are looking forward to have you and your partner again as our beloved Guests.

Best regards

Andrea Mariani
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

842 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    336
    251
    126
    76
    53
See reviews for
166
432
10
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Level Contributor
48 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2012

A trip from London to Venice, one night on the Venice Simplon Orient Express (see separate review) was an experience we had been talking about for some time and then combining this with a relaxing holiday on Venice Lido for 11 days from 29 June - 8 July.

We left the train at Venice's Santa Lucia station and although we could have taken a water bus this would not have taken us anywhere near to the hotel, it would have involved a bus journey or a 30 minute walk. So with searing temperatures of 45c we got a water taxi directly outside the station for 80 euros door to door - money, we felt, very well spent.

The journey of 35 minutes took us to the hotel's private mooring which is off the Grand Canal. The first view of this launch is absolutely stunning, a beautiful vibrant colour splash of many flowers, disembarking and walking along a red carpet and up an imposing marble staircase to the reception and concierge.

We had opted for a superior room but without a balcony or sea view as this would have increased the cost of our stay by almost £1,000. The room was very spacious with a fridge and dressing room with plenty of storage and a safe.

There was a very nice large bathroom with two basins, bath robes and slippers but cheap horrible smelling toiletries.

The air conditioning was super efficient and kept the room lovely and cool which was much needed with such high outside temperatures. The ceiling was covered in beautiful padded fabric, however there were very large dirty marks from the air conditioning unit.

The bed was extremely comfortable and when we asked for extra pillows they were brought immediately. We were also missing a bedside lamp and again this was attended to straight away. Our room was kept spotlessly clean by our chamber maid.

The lounge and terrace areas were spacious and pleasant with photos around the corridors of the hotel in bygone days as well as famous film stars who had stayed in the hotel.

We did not dine in the hotel and we did not see the dining room in use once for those who did. The room looked quite depressing & neglected and the original chandelier, as could be seen in photos, had been replaced by a more modern tacky one which seemed a real shame.

There were a number of shops in the hotel selling newspapers & drinks, Murano glass items including jewellery, Ferrari merchandise and women's & men's designer clothing & shoes.

The pool area was lovely with plenty of sun loungers and towels laid out for you. However the pool itself was in a bad state and needed to be replaced with tiles missing and broken stone work.

The gardens were magnificent and well maintained, they lead down to the hotel's private beach which can also be used by people who are not staying there. We had thought that for residents there would be no charge; how wrong we were. To hire two beds and an umbrella at a daily rate of 20 euros pp is affordable but a cabana at about 260 euros/day is somewhat excessive, hence the pool was always busy and the beach quiet.

Breakfast is served until a very respectable 10.30am and is taken in an open but covered very pleasant area parallel with the gardens. Although there is a good choice of food; pastries, breads, cheeses, salamis & hams, smoked salmon, yoghurts and hot choices, the 'fresh' fruit salad was often not fresh (mushy strawberries & kiwi perhaps from the day before) and very watery, cheap juices. When the manager overseeing breakfast was told this, he was defensive and denied there was anything the matter with the juice. The cappuccino was one of the best we have ever had.

The hotel operates a free shuttle in one of its passenger motor boats on the hour to St Marks Square, a 10 minute ride. It drops you by the Danieli Hotel. To return it is on the half hour.

As we were staying at the hotel on a b&b basis, we found a number of good restaurants to eat within a 20 minute walk from the hotel. The walk to the centre of the Lido takes about 30 minutes along the coastal road (Lungomare) or you can get a bus there. You buy bus tickets from the tabacchi opposite the hotel. From here you can also buy a large bottle of water at 1.50 euros, alot cheaper than the 8 euros around the pool.

All in all, we were comfortable in our room and enjoyed the pool area but for the very high rates the hotel charges there are a number of areas that need attention; it would be interesting to see if in a few years time were we to return, that changes had been made.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room on a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank awmw2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndreaMariani, Responsabile reception at Hotel Excelsior, responded to this review, 19 September 2012
Dear Guest,

first of all I would like to thank you for the time you spent on reviewing the Hotel Excelsior.

We understand that your experience at the Excelsior did not meet your expectations.
During this winter the Excelsior will undergo a complete refurbishment of the rooms and in 2013 of all the common areas.

We would then like to invite you to return next year and in 2014 as well so that we will be able to show you that your concerns did not pass unheard.

We thank you for the detailed review you wrote and we will surely take your remarks in very high consideration during the refurbishment.

Best regards

Andrea Mariani
Front Desk manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire Uk
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2012

We had a lovely few days on the lido the boat serviceTo Venice is excellent the breakfast copious
The rooms are large and unmodernised but charming and lots of character
We were disappointed to see diggers on the beach and the pool was closed but the reception desk were apologetic and tried to make amends
Bumping into a world famous film director at breakfast who there the film festival added to the glamour factor

Room Tip: Sea view rooms recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank malabar10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2012 via mobile

Booking this hotel came with high expectations, the location, reputation and let's not forget the cost. So you can imagine the surprise when we were told at check in that the swimming pool was closed due to the film festival due to start next week. When I asked why we weren't informed of this at the time of booking, the receptionist informed me that they just knew about it! Having only booked a couple of weeks ago and the film festival has now been going for years, as you can imagine, this answer didn't really ruling true. She did offer us a 50% discount on the beach kabanas, when she saw the expression on my face, the offer was then changed to free - in other words, "if, we can get money out of clients then fine, if they complain give it to them free" they also didn't add the fact that the normally lovely beach is now a building site, again for the film festival - I hope the picture I will be uploading will tell the story, but alas you won't be hearing the drilling that has been going on all day.

Of course things happen at hotels, repairs, emergencies, film festivals etc, but at least give clients the opportunity of making the decision whether or not to put up with disruption and not be so arrogant and complacent that they inform you at time of arrival, this is something you would expect at a 1star hotel in a third world country ( have stayed in these and they treat clients better)

The moral of this saga is that 5 star hotels shouldn't lose sight of who and what their priorities are and that pass reputation counts for nothing if you don't manage expectations. Lessons should be learnt from The Four Seasons hotels, which have got it absolutely right, clients come first.. All the time. I'm afraid Excelsior, your glory days are over.

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank gobiLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knutsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2012

We travelled to the Lido having spent several days in Venice itself. We aimed to spend a few days on the beach after the rigours of exploring the historical aspects of Venice in the summer heat. The Excelsior is directly on the beach and is a huge building, constructed in a moorish style complete with minorettes and domes and early twentieth century details. It has several well appointed restaurants, bars and even a whole, cool, basement complex of expensive shops selling fashion, furs(!) and the inevitable substantial examples of Murano glass.The lobby is vast with a bronze fountain, a large staircase and a substantial seating area looking out on to the terrace, private beach and piers. One of these tunnels leads beneath the road to a private landing stage with a fleet of free hotel taxies which run you to St Marks and back every hour. It had the feeling of San Simian in Citizen Kane with its mooring poles, vines and plush carpet. This service alone saves you hundreds of Euros compared to taking a private boat. We were shown to our room on the third floor which we loved. It would not be to everybody's taste but it was very large and extremely well appointed with a balcony, motorised shutters a hallway and a generous bathroom with twin marble sinks and a shower and bath. The sleeping area was divided in to two by a Moorish arch and column with a bed the size of a football pitch. Crisp spotless linen and a range of pillows. Sunken lights in a tented ceiling illuminated the bed. The rest of the room had a small table, chairs a dresser and a screen. They were pail blue and the walls were clad in quilted eastern style fabrics. It looked like a set from the Arabian nights which we really took to. Even a confirmed modernist like myself warmed to its charm. The beds were turned back, small jellies and little rugs appeared every evening by the bed. The room even had a door bell. In the courtyard of the block there was an Arabian garden complete with palms and fountains modelled on the Al Hambra. The air con was quiet if you put it on the lowest setting which aided a good nights sleep. We spent a lot of time on the edge of the pool being attended to by the staff and later taking in the local night life. We couldn't find fault with the service and we found it very attentive. I feel that it could all be seen as intimidating by some though and their efforts to be courteous and helpful interpreted as stand-offish. The staff do smile and often tell a joke if they feel they can. Lots of their guests must be wealthy, preoccupied and distant so they are used to watching their manners. Once they see you are friendly they are to. My only complaint is the price of the beach tents. A day's occupancy was approaching nearly 300 Euros! The pool and the actual beach are free, so why bother. Just wander the corridors, sit on the balconies, terraces and in the bars. You'll probably enjoy it if you give it a chance. The photos in the bar show that Errol Flynn and Clark Gable did! The breakfast buffet in the Taverna had more food than you could shake a long stick at. Including a breakfast glass of prosecco if you wished and decent slice of streaky bacon and well cooked eggs.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Voycey V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndreaMariani, Responsabile reception at Hotel Excelsior, responded to this review, 23 August 2012
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for leaving such a nice and detailed review over the Excelsior.
We put our efforts every single day in order to make our Guests' experiences unique and something not to forget at all.
It is always nice to receive such a good review, especially towards the end of our peak season when a "Well done!" is something we do really appreciate and helps us to keep on doing our best.

Thank you very much again, the Staff of the Excelsior and I are really looking forward to having you as our Guest again soon.

Best regards

Andrea Mariani
Front Desk manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lido di Venezia
Residence Le Ville del Lido
#1 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
Giudecca
Hilton Molino Stucky Venice Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Panorama
#2 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 778 reviews
Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungari...
#3 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Excelsior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Excelsior

Property: Hotel Excelsior
Address: Lungomare Guglielmo Marconi 41, 30126 Lido di Venezia, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Lido di Venezia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Lido di Venezia
#9 Luxury Hotel in Lido di Venezia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Excelsior 5*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located right on Venice Lido beach, the Hotel Excelsior is a masterpiece of Venetian architecture dating back to the early 1900. An exclusive 5 star Deluxe Resort, of Moorish style and recalling a fabulous Venetian Renaissance palace, the Hotel Excelsior is ideal for family holidays, romantic getaways, conferences or special events in Venice.Stunning halls overlooking the sea, highly creative, contemporary Italian cuisine and competent, skilled staff, become ingredients of the hotel’s recognition and awareness among the best wedding and special events locations. Welcome to the Hotel Excelsior, for more than one century the best match of luxury, history, tradition with comfort and service, carefully built around you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TravelUp, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Excelsior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Excelsior Venice Lido Hotel
Westin Venice
Venice Westin
Hotel Excelsior Province Of Venice, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing