We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing !!!!”
Review of Hotel Excelsior

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Excelsior
Ranked #11 of 33 Hotels in Lido di Venezia
Venice
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Amazing !!!!”
Reviewed 24 April 2013

Hotel is stunning and in a perfect location for visiting Venice. The staff were friendly and went out of their way to help you. The free shuttle to Venice was a special treat and one we apreciated very much. It was nice to come back to the hotel, away from the hustle and bustle at the end of our day. The sea view room was perfect, clean and spacious. The views stunning :)
A perfect weekend in a beautiful city

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Fizzaug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelExcelsiorVenice, Proprietario at Hotel Excelsior, responded to this review, 26 April 2013
Dear Sir,

Many thanks for your kind review, we are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we met your expectations!
Please feel free to join our Facebook fan-page to keep in touch with us and be updated with our relevant news.

We hope to have the chance to welcome you back soon to Venice Lido and in the meantime remain with our sincerest regards,

The Management
Hotel Excelsior
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

853 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    344
    253
    126
    76
    54
See reviews for
170
436
10
92
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Monaco
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2013

We went late April arriving late Thursday evening. The hotel was dead, no atmosphere, but we were upgraded to a lovely 7th floor room with a balcony. It was a battle to get food other than a "toastie" at 11.25pm. The food and bar drinks are overpriced and nothing special. Building work going on immediately on the beach. Air conditioning didnt work (still in heating mode) and the gym was closed as was the pool.

Views great, room great, i liked the quiet location (apart from 3 JCBs right outside!).

Make sure you get the free shuttles from the Lido to Venice. Generally they were crowded and ran too infrequently. Miss one and its 60 euros for 5 minutes to Venice, unless you want to walk 30 minutes to the awful public boats.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Manxflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelExcelsiorVenice, Proprietario at Hotel Excelsior, responded to this review, 26 April 2013
Dear Sir,

We are sorry to read your review and would love to better investigate in this matter; if you could please e-mail us your name and surname, you would allow us to better understand what happened during your stay at our Resort.

Our hotel undertook strong renovation works during last winter months and are sorry to notice you did not feel the ambience and the atmosphere. With reference to what you kindly pointed out concerning our food service, please kindly note that we provide room service available during the day and the night, with a selection of plates by our Executive Chef, and not only sandwiches.

We hope to have the chance to welcome you back to our property and demonstrate that what has been highlighted in your review is not our “routine”, but an unlucky combination of negative circumstances.
At disposal for any further clarifications, we remain with our sincerest regards,

The Management
Hotel Excelsior
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2013

For years every time I see the Venice Film Festival on TV I make myself a promise,"One day I will visit The Excelsior" well last Monday I made it. The hotel is open after the winter break, the beach is still hidden behind banks of sand which are put there to keep the sea out, but work was apace getting things back to normal. We were welcomed by the superb staff had a drink on the terrace in the warm sunshine and light breeze. Eventually we walked down to the shore-line and wandered out on to the piers watching the fish swim in the shallows. At 2pm we decided to have lunch which was superb and we sat there for a couple of hours just enjoying the atmosphere. The public rooms and the bar area are quite sumptuous and we peeked into the main restaurant which is palatial. Definitely No 1 on our list when we visit again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Keith C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelExcelsiorVenice, Proprietario at Hotel Excelsior, responded to this review, 22 April 2013
Dear Keith,

Thank you for your nice comment, we are pleased to know that you experienced our Resort and that we met your expectations!

Having a drink on the terrace of our Blue Bar is one of the best way to experience our Hotel: did you try the Excelsior Spritz? It is our exclusive aperitif, created by our barman Tony and specifically dedicated to our Resort.

Please feel free to join our Facebook fan-page to keep in touch with us and be updated with our latest news from Venice Lido.

Hoping to have the chance to welcome you back soon, we remain with our sincerest regards,

The Management
Hotel Excelsior
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chandler, Az, USA
Level Contributor
75 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2013

OH MY GOSH!!! We had no idea what a great find we had until we arrived and checked into
this magnificent hotel. It felt more like a palace, than a hotel. It was on an island right in Venice.
A beautiful beautiful private boat takes you back and forth on the Grand Canal to the main part of
Venice. This was free to guests, and ran all day, and also took us to the airport via canals, when
we checked out. I think there was a small charge for the trip to the airport, but what a treat.
The rooms are huge, the bathrooms are amazing, and beautifully furnished, with both a commode and bidet, and shower and tub, and huge mirrors, luxury amenities, and every conceivable fancy luxury you can imagine. They have doormen, concierge service, and umbrellas, and anything you could possibly need. When you walk out the back door you go down high steps right out to the sea. A beautiful beach with a private cabana for you, and outdoor lounge and restaurant seating. Here is the best part: It cost less than any comparable hotel on the Grand Canal in Venice. The Lido Island has charming restaurants, reasonable bus service all over the island, and parks, and it is like another world, with no hustle and bustle, and
authentic Italian cuisine, outdoor seating areas, and charm. We cannot wait to go there and stay at this amazing amazing hotel. We were there in September of 2010 or 2011. But just have to tell travelers about this great find.

Room Tip: It would be amazing to have a room overlooking the sea on the backside of the hotel. We did not hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chandlercruisers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelExcelsiorVenice, Proprietario at Hotel Excelsior, responded to this review, 22 April 2013
Dear Sir,

Many thanks for your kind and detailed review! We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay at our Resort and that we met your expectations.

As we noticed you experienced our property in 2010 and 2011, we are glad to inform you that - in occasion of last grand reopening on 10th April - the Hotel is now presenting renewed rooms and suites, promising the best in terms of comfort, in a refreshed and charming ambiance: new carpets with warm and welcoming colors, restoration of unique Excelsior’s style tapestries, replacement of bathtubs with large showers, most of them also suitable for two people, updated furniture... Everything has been realized caring and paying maximum respect to the unique Moorish style of the Resort.

We hope to have the chance to welcome you back soon to Venice Lido and remain with our sincerest regards,

The Management
Hotel Excelsior
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
94 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2013

We stayed at the Excelsior Venice for 2 nights in September when Venice was a little more quiet (after the Film Festival) and the Lido season was at an end. The hotel is sumptious and has a Moorish, or Moroccoan design that evokes a more Arabian Nights/Alhambra experience than a Venitian palace. We didn't swim in the Adriatic, but our room had a sea and beach view that was spectacular, with a separate sitting room. Although not in Venezia proper, we loved taking the complimentary motoscafi taxis of varnished wood and white leather direct to San Marco square. What a way to experience Venice!! I would recommend to people who want to experience a different aspect of Venice, while staying close to the lagoon.

Room Tip: A sea view is a big plus!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChazInLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

The hotel is certainly not a 4 or 5-star hotel, it's probably a 3-star hotel. I've been to a few of the nice hotels in Italy and I am quite forgiving, not very picky, but always happy with the hotels I stay at. This one, hovever, is NOT up to standard. It's old and outdated, needs remodelling, and the restuarants are noisy and remind of an all-inclusive establishment in Egypt. The service in the restaurants is slow and not very friendly. Always when I have been in Italy everyone has been kind and helpful, but not here. Orders are mistaken and delayed and when you politely and kindly ask them to give you what you ordered, they forget. The location is perfect, however. This is my first negative hotel rating ever, so trust me, I'm not a complainer.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank PeterPilotSweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arnhem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2013

I was really excited about the hotel! The impression of the hotel in the beginning is that it seems quite old and could use a make over, but it matches with the Venetian impression of grandeur, romance and nostalgia. Something that I liked a lot, it feels like you're thrown back in the time.The room was spacious and i liked the interior, again a bit old, but in style with the rest of the hotel. The breakfast was absolutly great, in a big ballroom with silver cutlery, a nice view and even champagne/prosecco.

The beach is on one side of the hotel and on the other side you can take the free shuttle boat to Venice, it drops you off nearby San Marco square. It departs several times a day, more frequently in high season as far as I know. This is wonderfull, you can be at San Marco square and just 15 minutes later you can be back in your hotelroom. When I travelled I compared prices and the hotels at Venice were much more expensive but with this boat service it is almost like you're at Venice centre.

The staff was not particularly friendly, but we've had a pleasant experience with the concierge who helped us printing boarding passes when the public computer didn't work.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lot_Dub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lido di Venezia
Residence Le Ville del Lido
#1 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
Giudecca
Hilton Molino Stucky Venice Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Panorama
#2 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 793 reviews
Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungari...
#3 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Excelsior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Excelsior

Property: Hotel Excelsior
Address: Lungomare Guglielmo Marconi 41, 30126 Lido di Venezia, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Lido di Venezia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Lido di Venezia
#10 Luxury Hotel in Lido di Venezia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Excelsior 5*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located right on Venice Lido beach, the Hotel Excelsior is a masterpiece of Venetian architecture dating back to the early 1900. An exclusive 5 star Deluxe Resort, of Moorish style and recalling a fabulous Venetian Renaissance palace, the Hotel Excelsior is ideal for family holidays, romantic getaways, conferences or special events in Venice.Stunning halls overlooking the sea, highly creative, contemporary Italian cuisine and competent, skilled staff, become ingredients of the hotel’s recognition and awareness among the best wedding and special events locations. Welcome to the Hotel Excelsior, for more than one century the best match of luxury, history, tradition with comfort and service, carefully built around you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Excelsior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Excelsior Venice Lido Hotel
Westin Venice
Venice Westin
Hotel Excelsior Province Of Venice, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing