We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“5 star......I don't think so”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Excelsior

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Excelsior
Ranked #10 of 33 Hotels in Lido di Venezia
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“5 star......I don't think so”
Reviewed 29 May 2013

So disappointed. This hotel has so much history and from the front looks so grand. But in reality it's old fashioned, cold, with no atmosphere and a boat ride away from Venice!! Our room was large but old fashioned, and if you crammed your neck you could see the beach. Breakfast was very basic. Customer service was non existent and the free boat over to Venice was often packed and you sometimes had to walk 10 mins away to get it due to the tides. The pool hadn't been used for years, it was full of mould and leaves the whole place looked like it was about to close.

This was an expensive hotel, and I wouldn't rate it more than a 2 star. Would definitely not stay here again. Oh and there is really nothing to see or do on the Lido, so go stay in Venice!!

Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank MrandMrsM2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management2013, Direttore generale at Hotel Excelsior, responded to this review, 31 May 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your feedback; we are sorry to read your comments concerning your stay in September 2012, as we don't feel that "old fashioned, cold" and "no atmosphere" are terms which correctly suit our Resort.
The Hotel Excelsior is a masterpiece of Venetian architecture dating back to the early 1900, an exclusive 5 star Deluxe Resort, of Moorish style and recalling a fabulous Venetian Renaissance palace, considered for more than one century the best match of luxury, history, tradition with comfort and service, carefully built around our Guests.

We are pleased to inform you that during Winter 2012-2013 our Resort undertook strong renovation works, promising the best in terms of comfort, in a refreshed and charming ambiance. New carpets with warm and welcoming colors, restoration of unique Excelsior’s style tapestries, replacement of bathtubs with large showers, most of them also suitable for two people, updated furniture: everything has been realized caring and paying maximum respect to the unique Moorish style of the Resort.

In addition to this, maximum attention has been paid to hotel’s technical features, caring of travelers’ needs who wish to keep in touch with the rest of the world: all accommodations feature new plasma TVs with IPTV system, carrying many web applications; a new broadband WIFI connection has been installed – free of charge to Hotel’s guests – and extended to the Excelsior Beach, providing service coverage while enjoying outdoor relaxing time.

Please also note that our swimming pool is regularly used by our Guests every day, and it is subject to attentive hygienical controls by our Staff.

We hope, therefore, to have the chance to welcome you back soon to the Hotel Excelsior, and demonstrate you our new redesigned style, surrounded by our attentive service.
Thanking for your kind attention, we remain at complete disposal for any further assistance and send our sincerest regards,

The Management
Hotel Excelsior
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

841 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    335
    251
    126
    76
    53
See reviews for
166
431
10
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
111 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2013

Ideally located. Old Luxury Hotel tastefully refurbished. Big rooms (Grand deluxe). Big bathroom but small uncomfortable shower in the bathtub, although there is plenty of floor space to install a luxurious shower. Excellent breakfast. Nice pool and private beach areas.

There is a 15 min. boat shuttle service offered by the Hotel; every hour to and from Piazza San Marco until 23:30. Private Taxi boats cost € 145 from the Passenger Pier Terminal (Cruise ships) to the Hotel and € 90 from the Hotel to the Railroad Station; taxi boats take at least 4 passengers and probably more.

The Hotel is ideal for a combining visiting Venice and recreation at the pool or beach. The weak point is the Service in all areas including the Front desk, housekeeping and the Restaurant. For 24 hours we had no light in the bathroom. Of two main elevators one did not work for 48 hours!! Despite complaining twice, the floor in the room was not clean. Service at breakfast is slow and disorganized. At the pool the attendants refused to bring umbrellas, “maybe tomorrow” (there were none either), and this despite the fact that they spent more time talking to each other than caring for their guests. Nobody smiles, one feels being an intruder.

Because of the beautiful Hotel, comfortable rooms and ideal location we will return. By visiting Venice you must accept the fact that is overrun by tourists, very expensive but absolutely gorgeous and unique.

Room Tip: Grand deluxe rooms with balcony facing the sea, I believe the floor level is of no importance, no no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Markus S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management2013, Proprietario at Hotel Excelsior, responded to this review, 22 May 2013
Dear Sir,

We would like to thank you for have shared your thoughts with us, and we are sorry to read that your stay was partially disturbed by an unlucky combination of negative points. We deeply apologize if you feel that our service – usually appreciated for the attention and care given to our Guests – did not completely satisfy you during your recent stay.

As you correctly highlighted, one of the main elevators was not available for some hours because of maintenance controls – we apologize for this, but works were due to guarantee, as always, the top in terms of safety to our Guests. Safety is one of our top priority.

Your observations have been shared with our Managers and Staff and have been discussed, as observations allow us to better improve our service and the attention to our Guests.
Please kindly consider what you pointed out as an unusual situation, and not our routine; we are happy to know that you will choose our property again and that we will have the chance to welcome you back again, and demonstrate the effective level of our legendary Hotel Excelsior.
Thanking in advance for your kind attention, we remain with our sincerest regards,

The Management
Hotel Excelsior
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
97 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2013

I booked a last minute break to the Hotel Excelsior Venice Lido for 4 days in May 2013. Looking at the previous reviews I wasn't entirely sure what to expect but as it was a short break I was happy to take the chance. Also the hotel was reported to have recently reopened after a major refurbishment so was happy to wait and see. We arrived at the hotel at around 10.00am by Private Water Taxi from the airport and the only thought that entered my head as we arrived was 'Wow'. The Hotel certainly looked the part from the outside. We were greeted by Leonardo on the dock who was friendly and helpful taking our bags and storing them until our room was ready. The'wow' feeling continued as we entered the reception area. As we had been on an early flight we were too early for check in which was at 2pm but we were expecting this. We were given guest cards so that we could take the complimentary boat transfer into Venice if we wanted to and were told where things were in the Hotel. We were asked to come back around 1.30pm - 2pm when the room should be ready. We decided to stay on the Lido and walked down to the main area where we found lots of great restaurants and bars all of which are in walking distance of the Hotel. Some were pricier than others but overall they were great value for money.

When we returned to the hotel at 1.30pm the room wasn't ready and we were asked to come back after around 40mins. We were starting to get tired having been up since 3am and so decided to stay in the hotel and wait. At 2.15pm we returned to reception and unfortunately the room still wasn't ready. The reception staff were very friendly and called housekeeping to see when it would be ready and they were advised that it should be only a few more minutes. After 10 minutes a lady from reception went to check the room herself then came back and escorted us to the Deluxe Double we had booked. The room was fantastic. Huge, a really big bed probably a super kingsize, huge floor to ceiling wall to wall wardrobes, a separate small hall area. seating area, dressing area, good sized bathroom with large shower and double sinks and large windows/doors which opened out onto a balcony overlooking the beach. The room far exceeded all of our expectations. The room came with lovely bed linens, soft towels, big fluffy dressing gowns, slippers and great toiletries.

There was a fully stocked mini bar but this was rather expensive, as was the room service menu. A small coke from the mini bar was around 7 times the cost of the same size coke from the shop across the road. Still it is a 5* hotel and I guess this has to be expected.

The hotel staff were working hard to get it open ready for the season but there was still a lot of work going on. That said, no-where other than the end of the main pier was off limits.

The outdoor pool was a good size and there was plenty of seats seats and loungers. Towels were provided, but a word of warning, the pool was absolutely freezing!

We stayed on a B & B basis and we found breakfast to be a typical continental cooked and cold buffet. There was something for everyone and everything was fresh. When we stayed the hotel was fully booked and the breakfast staff were totally overwhelmed. We had finished our breakfast before we were able to get a pot of hot water for our tea, and the staff were a little offhand at times when you tried to get their attention. When the hotel was less busy on the Monday and Tuesday morning, everything was much smoother, the drinks arrived immediately, we were seated immediately in a good seat with a view out to sea and the staff were very attentive. It felt to us like the staff were under a lot of pressure from the Head Waiters and the MaitreD' when they were busy and there was a completely different atmosphere when the pressure was off.

The cleaning staff and those who did the evening turn down were unobtrusive, efficient and did an excellent job all round. The reception staff were helpful, but it seemed at times that the more people that were behind the counter, the more likely you were to have to wait to be acknowledged. The same has to be said for the Concierges. When there was only the one person there they were friendly and always gave a greeting and a welcome but when there were two and sometimes three Concierges there they would also fail to acknowledge you.

I was glad on the day of checkout that I had brought my pre-printed paperwork with me as they tried to charge me for the room which I had already paid for in advance. When I pointed this out it was quickly rectified with a smile.

Overall I have to say the hotel is fantastic. Definitely worth every penny we paid to go there and we will definitely go again. Despite being out of season, we did not feel that we missed out on anything. We preferred the quiet relaxed atmosphere on the Monday and Tuesday and loved the location. We much preferred staying at Lido rather than Venice itself and the complimentary water taxi provided by the Hotel is such a gift and takes you directly to St Mark's Square almost every hour through till late and picks you up again on the half hour.

Room Tip: Go for the Deluxe Double on the Beach Side if Possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tinamorgan991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeddah, Makkah, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2013

The notion of "avoid having high expectations to spare yourself from disappointment" perfectly applies here!

Pro's:
The hotel has a beautiful location - away from the traffic and noise of tourists at the old city. The hotel offers a complimentary water shuttle to the San Marco and back several times throughout the day. Make sure you stand in line 15 minutes ahead of schedule to avoid getting left behind "Oops still talking about the pro's - can't help it :)"
The rooms are ok - decoration is weird but I guess tastes vary. There was a tread mill and light weights in the room which was cool. There is a beautiful jogging area along the coast right next to the hotel which is also pretty cool.

Con's:
Service with a smile is the holy grail of the hospitality business. Not a single smile was given to the guests. As a matter of fact there was a tall, thin young lady with glasses that was startled most of the time and had weary eyes. The front desk employees need to be more welcoming - the cold attitude is a turn off!
Service is a bit slow - Asked for an adapter and waited for nearly 40 minutes to get it!
They charge 33 euro's per day for parking!
No complimentary water for heaven's sake?????
The toilets were lacking tooth brushes and basic amenities - I was staying in a junior suite btw!
The beds are stiff - and now so is my back!

Net - huge gap between what I expected and what I experienced. Hope this helps!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hosam A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelExcelsiorVenice, Proprietario at Hotel Excelsior, responded to this review, 14 May 2013
Dear Sir,

We are sorry to know that we did not meet your expectations and your recent stay was disturbed by a combination of negative circumstances. We would like to explain that what you have pointed out does not reflect our routine; as you are aware, our Resort is an historical property dating back to 1908 and for more than a century it has been considered as the best match of luxury, history, tradition with comfort and service, thanks also to the professionalism of our trained Staff. Year after year, our loyal repeat Guests come back to our Hotel Excelsior and love to be welcomed by the same smiling employees; we are sorry if, during your stay, you did not feel our usual welcoming attitude, but we are sure what you described is an unusual situation; as you can read from other comments reported below by other travelers, our gentle manners are usually noticed and appreciated.
Concerning parking fee, it is well-highlighted at the moment of the reservation of the service and – being provided by an external company – it is not under our direct management, and rates are settled by the provider itself. The requested daily fee is approximately the same applied in Piazzale Roma car terminal in Venice, therefore those are usual rates for parking fees in Venice surroundings.

We hope to have the chance to welcome you back to our Hotel Excelsior and demonstrate that our usual standard is not what you kindly highlighted; we thank you for the attention and remain at complete disposal for any further clarifications.
Sincerest regards,

The Management
Hotel Excelsior
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2013

I travelled with five friends for a long weekend in May 2008 - It was heaven on earth. I had my own large double bedroom suite looking out onto the sea, i loed the way the staff looked after us be it chocolates on your pillow, your bed turned down for you every night, exceptional food and thewonderful staff couldn't do enough for you - My one complaint was the lady who ran the boutique in the hotel wasn't exaactly helpful or friendly - But that didn't stop me having a blast

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mes1993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelExcelsiorVenice, Proprietario at Hotel Excelsior, responded to this review, 11 May 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your nice feedback and we hope to have the chance to welcome you back soon - during last winter months we renovated our rooms and suites, in full respect of our traditional Moorish style, and it could be a good occasion to experience your redesigned Excelsior!
Please also kindly join our Facebook fan-page to be updated with our latest news, or visit our web-site.

Thanking for your kind attention, we remain with our sincerest regards,

The Management
Hotel Excelsior
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Venice
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2013

Hotel is stunning and in a perfect location for visiting Venice. The staff were friendly and went out of their way to help you. The free shuttle to Venice was a special treat and one we apreciated very much. It was nice to come back to the hotel, away from the hustle and bustle at the end of our day. The sea view room was perfect, clean and spacious. The views stunning :)
A perfect weekend in a beautiful city

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Fizzaug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelExcelsiorVenice, Proprietario at Hotel Excelsior, responded to this review, 26 April 2013
Dear Sir,

Many thanks for your kind review, we are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we met your expectations!
Please feel free to join our Facebook fan-page to keep in touch with us and be updated with our relevant news.

We hope to have the chance to welcome you back soon to Venice Lido and in the meantime remain with our sincerest regards,

The Management
Hotel Excelsior
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monaco
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2013

We went late April arriving late Thursday evening. The hotel was dead, no atmosphere, but we were upgraded to a lovely 7th floor room with a balcony. It was a battle to get food other than a "toastie" at 11.25pm. The food and bar drinks are overpriced and nothing special. Building work going on immediately on the beach. Air conditioning didnt work (still in heating mode) and the gym was closed as was the pool.

Views great, room great, i liked the quiet location (apart from 3 JCBs right outside!).

Make sure you get the free shuttles from the Lido to Venice. Generally they were crowded and ran too infrequently. Miss one and its 60 euros for 5 minutes to Venice, unless you want to walk 30 minutes to the awful public boats.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Manxflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelExcelsiorVenice, Proprietario at Hotel Excelsior, responded to this review, 26 April 2013
Dear Sir,

We are sorry to read your review and would love to better investigate in this matter; if you could please e-mail us your name and surname, you would allow us to better understand what happened during your stay at our Resort.

Our hotel undertook strong renovation works during last winter months and are sorry to notice you did not feel the ambience and the atmosphere. With reference to what you kindly pointed out concerning our food service, please kindly note that we provide room service available during the day and the night, with a selection of plates by our Executive Chef, and not only sandwiches.

We hope to have the chance to welcome you back to our property and demonstrate that what has been highlighted in your review is not our “routine”, but an unlucky combination of negative circumstances.
At disposal for any further clarifications, we remain with our sincerest regards,

The Management
Hotel Excelsior
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lido di Venezia
Residence Le Ville del Lido
#1 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
293 reviews
Giudecca
Hilton Molino Stucky Venice Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Panorama
#2 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
778 reviews
Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungari...
#3 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Excelsior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Excelsior

Property: Hotel Excelsior
Address: Lungomare Guglielmo Marconi 41, 30126 Lido di Venezia, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Lido di Venezia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Lido di Venezia
#9 Luxury Hotel in Lido di Venezia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Excelsior 5*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located right on Venice Lido beach, the Hotel Excelsior is a masterpiece of Venetian architecture dating back to the early 1900. An exclusive 5 star Deluxe Resort, of Moorish style and recalling a fabulous Venetian Renaissance palace, the Hotel Excelsior is ideal for family holidays, romantic getaways, conferences or special events in Venice.Stunning halls overlooking the sea, highly creative, contemporary Italian cuisine and competent, skilled staff, become ingredients of the hotel’s recognition and awareness among the best wedding and special events locations. Welcome to the Hotel Excelsior, for more than one century the best match of luxury, history, tradition with comfort and service, carefully built around you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Excelsior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Excelsior Venice Lido Hotel
Westin Venice
Venice Westin
Hotel Excelsior Province Of Venice, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing