We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Luxurious”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Excelsior Venice
Ranked #10 of 33 Hotels in Lido di Venezia
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Very Luxurious”
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We stayed 1 night at this hotel before embarking on a cruise and it was very pleasant. the pool was a little cool ( pretty cold actually) but the setting was lovely, beach access easy, restaurant very nice and the service excellent... just as one would expect from an up market hotel. A nice easy 20-30 min walk into Lido town, all in all a pleasant stay.

Room Tip: We were upgraded to a Superior room with a huge balcony. Very spacious overlooking the canal not the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

890 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    362
    261
    130
    83
    54
See reviews for
184
453
11
94
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm
Level 6 Contributor
365 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 319 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Already the entrance to the hotel is incomparable. You go by the complimentary shuttle boat in a canal which ends up by the hotel. The entrance and reception rooms are just gorgeous.

We were upgraded to a room on the 6th floor and had a balcony overlooking the sea with a fantastic view . It just simply could not be better! The reception staff were nice all the time trying to do their best. And they certainly succeeded .

Our room was huge and surely newly refurbished. Just amazing! We kept the balcony doors open all night enjoying the sound from the waves and the sea. How well we slept!

The breakfast was fantastic ! All we could have wished for - and a lot more! And the ceiling in the breakfast room(s). How beautuful !

Unfortunately , there is a "but." We were bitten by mosquitoes and had some 200 bites both of us. We thought there would be less mosquitoes if we kept the balcony doors closed. So we did and the heat in the room rose to about 30 degrees - night and day. We know from Sweden that if the aircondition is on mosquitoes seem to disappear or lessen. So we asked for the AC to start working , but were told that the AC was closed for the season , no matter what. We saw and spoke to other guests who were also badly bitten and discussed what to do.

So, were not for the mosquitoes, I think we would have been back every year.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AroundTheWorld000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, UK
Level 6 Contributor
534 reviews
136 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 529 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

This was one of our splurges. We booked a deluxe seaview room for 3 nights at the late season discounted price and, overall, we were very happy with what we got for the money. But even here not everything is perfect. Reception and concierge staff were friendly and helpful throughout and we checked in quickly without any problems. It’s just a shame some guests can’t wait their turn when there’s a queue.

The hotel website states that rooms have been upgraded over winter 2012/13. Our room 236 had obviously undergone refurbishment in the recent past, well in part anyway. In keeping with the overall hotel design it was finished in a sort of Moorish style, with lots of mirrors. Some people may not like the printed cloth linings covering some of the walls and part of the ceiling, (not really tapestries as claimed, which are woven), but we think they fitted in well with the hotel theme. Deluxe rooms are huge by normal hotel room standards. We estimate that it was about 50 sq mtrs in total, plus a small hanging balcony looking out over the Adriatic. You enter the room through a small entrance lobby and a second door, which means you can shut off any corridor noise, (if that ever happens here)! There was also good sound insulation between rooms. The main bedroom space had a huge 2M wide bed, which was perhaps a little too hard, a bench seat at the foot of the bed, a table and two chairs, but just one armchair and foot stool. We don’t think we’ve ever had so many wardrobes, all of which were mirror fronted, and one of which contained the no charge room safe. We had superb a 40 inch (yes 40 inch) flat screen Samsung TV with a stunning picture, but even though the hotel had a high proportion of English speaking guests, management can’t be bothered to provide a range of English language TV channels for guests. That was a shame because on the somewhat cool, dark evenings, it would have been nice to have watched an hour of TV before bed. The floor to ceiling curtains matched the fabric on the walls. They had a pull cord to open and close them but both the track and the cord used were really poor quality and the cord stretched as you tried to pull it and the curtains opened with great difficulty. One curtain wasn’t actually attached to the cord so you had to yank it closed manually, again with some difficulty. We know these aren’t major issues but this hotel does claim to be 5 star Luxe.

Opposite the bed was a reasonable sized dressing alcove that led to the bathroom, which actually had its own window. You could sit on the loo and look out over the Adriatic! With the lights on anyone outside could look over at you as there were only net curtains. Unfortunately, the bathroom either hadn’t had a full makeover or someone decided to cut corners. The wall tiles look to be pretty old and don’t look like they’ve been renewed. It had nice twin marble sinks with good lighting above, but a grubby old bath which had a new rainfall shower above and glass shower screen. The bath taps jut out from the wall just where you need to stand for a shower so it makes things a bit awkward – just who designs a bath/shower setup like this? Surely the grubby bath should have been replaced. It also had one of those dreadful 1970’s style tube hairdryers that you often find in downmarket hotels that haven’t had a makeover in 30+ years. Why? Surely a five star hotel should provide something better? You get full sized bath sheets here not nasty little standard bath towels, and all towels were superb quality. We also think the dressing gowns were possibly the best we have ever had in a hotel. You get the idea – some things are top quality while cutting corners and undoubtedly price on others.

We ate out for dinner so we can’t comment on the evening restaurant or bar, but we did think the hotel provided a pretty reasonable choice at its breakfast buffet and the staff we encountered were nice. But disappointingly, some aspects of the breakfast were poor and just shouldn’t happen in a 2 star hotel, let alone one of 5 stars. If you wanted to, you could choose a really nice glass of Prosecco with breakfast, and it really was good Prosecco, but almost next to it was a glass container with some yellowish liquid that was described as orange juice, which seemed to be some sort of squash drink made up from water and concentrate. It was without doubt the worst so called orange juice that we have ever had in any hotel and, quite frankly, for a 5 star hotel was a disgrace. The hotel also offers a reasonable hot buffet choice, except that it wasn’t, hot that is. All of the items were just about cold every day. Warmed plates might have helped a bit but not at the Excelsior, there were only cold plates on offer. This happens in a lot of hotels. Just how can any hotel kitchen not keep hot food hot; but in a 5 star hotel? We guess it’s not a management priority. Lastly, we chose tea rather than coffee. It was the worst hotel tea we have had for quite some time, simply because the water used was not much hotter than tepid. We know tea’s not a major beverage in Italy as it is in say the UK or Portugal, but surely the kitchens of a 5 star hotel should know that you need to use boiling water to make a decent cup of tea. We tried to get hotter water for our tea but without success. Maybe we should have stuck with the Prosecco.

We had one really nice sunny autumn day so we decided to sit by the pool. It doesn’t look as if pool maintenance has been a priority and the whole area could do with renovation. The wheeled beds are obviously quite elderly, the cushions are old and grubby, but the pool towels were good. It was disappointing to see all the mould growing along the grouting lines between the tiles at the bottom of the pool and where we were sitting, the pool terrace edges were all broken up and sharp. But none of that seemed to bother the numerous green lizards that were very busy all day long.

You’ll have read that the hotel provides a motor launch shuttle over to St Mark’s Square, which went once an hour, on most but not every hour throughout the day from 9am. It can get very busy, especially after the gap hours with no shuttle, so get there in good time and don’t lose your place in the queue; otherwise you may have some difficulty getting a place on board. You’ll also find that a lot of people don’t believe in queues.

If you arrive on the Lido by water boat at Piazza SM Elisabetta you may want to consider whether you are prepared to pay for a taxi transfer to the hotel. We did. It’s only 1.9km and it took just 3 minutes. But the price was an unexpectedly high €13. In Spain, that would have been a €5 ride. You can buy bus tickets at the ticket office that cost €1.30 for a single journey up to 75 minutes. If you pay on the bus it’ll cost €2.50 for the same thing. The bus to take to the Excelsior is the V route and get off at Lion’s bar stop about 50m from the hotel. Unfortunately, the V bus stops running at about 7.30pm. Just don’t do what we did one night and catch the no 11 bus that also goes past the hotel. The information wasn’t clear but it turns out the no 11 is some sort of express that doesn’t let passengers off at the Excelsior on the way out or pick up at the hotel on the way back. You too could end up with a long walk back to the hotel, because the driver won’t stop no matter how much you ask. It’s about a 20 minute walk to the Piazza end of Gran Viale SM Elisabetta where you’ll find at least a dozen places to eat. For basic Pizza & Pasta we found that restaurants Gran Viale and Stella were fine and not too expensive.

Remember, there's a Venice tourist tax per person for up to 5 nights that has to be paid direct to the hotel on check out. For the 2013 season that's €4.50 per person per night for a 5 star hotel on the Lido. It's probably lower out of season.

From our review it may sound like we didn’t have a good time at the Excelsior but we did and we’d happily stay here again. It’s just rankles that even 5 star hotels can’t be bothered to put in the effort to make things (almost) perfect. We’ll upload some photos after this review is posted.

Room Tip: Pay for a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MandH-eurotrippers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We stayed for 4 nights, in October,for our trip to Venice,
and enjoyed the services, an well organised shuttle to St Marco,
the breakfast ,room service , restaurant , room, are also very good , we enjoyed the stay ,
the only minus is the Wi FI , does not work properly, but the say that it will be better in the future ,::)

Room Tip: ask seaside !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eddymusic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

We had a wonderful four days staying at The Excelsior which included taking the complimentary motor launch to Venice each day.

I was anxious that the hotel would not be so good from some of the recent reviews so called and spoke to the concierge and reception staff the day before our trip. I was assured that we were being put in a room looking out over the Atlantic and, when I said that one of our party had a birthday during our stay, I was told that a bottle of wine would be placed in their room.

Two disappointments though neither spoilt our stay. Our room overlooked a courtyard but was high enough to give a small view towards Venice and the wine never materialised. As I said neither really mattered.

The hotel was very good and clean. However, one evening there were no towels in our room and an hour later I was calling Housekeeping and asking again; there was no consistency on the provision of a bath mat and the slip mat disappeared and never returned;

We were given a chocolate on our pillow when the room was turned down - your decide whether this made up for the above negative aspects.

We didn't use room service as the prices were so hefty.

Breakfast was provided looking out over the beach and Atlantic. There was plenty of food on offer. Unfortunately even though I helped myself to scrambled eggs immediately after a fresh supply was provided - the portion was cold. On each of the next day 3 mornings I asked the waiter for an omelette which was provided from the kitchen and was hot.

A variety of fresh breads were provided, some fresh fruit, cheeses and yoghurts and the usual variety of baked beans, mushrooms, two kinds of sausages, bacon - I can't say if these were hot as I didn't try any of them.

Tea, coffee, lemon, hot water and bottled still and sparking water was all provided to help yourself to as much as you wished. In addition, there was fresh juice.

I noticed Gluten free foods were also available - which is very useful to know as there are increasing amounts of people finding themselves with allergies.

The coffee bar was well decorated and furnished. The prices of drinks, alcoholic, non-alcoholic and teas and coffees were extortionately pricey. A cup of coffee cost around £12 which even for a five star hotel, in my opinion, is ridiculous. As the hotel is a little isolated, you don't get a lot of choice if you want a drink in the evening.

The hotel provides a complimentary motor launch service on the half hour right through to midnight. We only went into Venice one evening and this was a wonderful service.

We went over to Venice every morning and returned late afternoon. This was an exceptional service. We also booked a water taxi to pick us up from Marco Polo Airport and take us to the hotel on arrival, and another to take us back for our return flight to London. Again, a wonderful service.

The pool area is clean, chairs comfortable and towels provided though I didn't see a pool attendant at the pool. A waiter passed by but in reality we only spent one day by the pool and the weather was not great so I can't give a fairer opinion.

I was disappointed at the non availability of beach chairs, but not surprised as I had read about this on Trip Advisor. Only Cabanas on offer at 100 euros per day and from what I could see, awful wooden chairs with slight cushions were provided. I didn't bother asking for any alternatives as from what I had read, there is nothing else on offer to guests.

The hotel is a little isolated but we were very happy to take a walk in the evening to find a restaurant to eat in.

I would recommend:-

Pizzeria Ristorante Stella on Gran Viale Lido di Venezia which is a ten minute walk and where we had a very nice meal at a reasonable price.

Ristorante Valentino on Via Sandro Gallo was a special dinner and very very pricey. Not a wide menu but we all enjoyed our individual meals.

On Venice itself, we had a really nice snack lunch in a side street almost opposite the water bus starting point at S. Marco - Al Vecio Penansa; a delightful evening meal in Ristorante-Pizzeria Falciani which is found just off the square.


I feel I would like to recommend the hotel, but it does lack some of amenities that have been available in 4* hotels that I have stayed at let alone 5* hotels. We were there for a special occasion and it was just great for us but I wouldn't go there expecting a wow factor.

Great holiday.

Room Tip: A sea facing room would be much better, but it will cost you!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adeweston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Loved this hotel, it was total luxury, the food was fantastic, the room was very clean with a lovely view, I certainly would go back again.
Just be carefull with the food in the Bistro, its a bit pricey for what it is, but the hot chocolate is well worth the price.

Room Tip: Higher Rooms have a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

We stayed for 1 week at this hotel in July. I think we did very well as somehow we managed to get upgraded to a Venice view. The hotel was ok (not as good as it thinks it is!) and drinks were very expensive - 108 euros for 4 doubles!!!! (tia maria & jack daniels nothing fancy! ) The free boat every half hour to Venice was excellent and the redeeming feature to this hotel. Breakfast was reasonable too with a very good selection and, if you asked, you could get a decent cup of coffee. We spent most of our relaxation time by the pool as the only facilities on the beach were cabanas which I understood to be quite expensive - ok for a family but not just for 2 people. The one frustrating thing I found and it may seem petty, was that toiletries were provided, (no shower gel only bath foam) but if we used anything, it was never replaced by an identical item, so we ended up with an array of shower caps which we did not use! surely common sense is that you replace it with the same item or maybe this ploy saves money (leaving something they know u are not using!) I'm not too sure why this hotel gets 5 stars apart from the fact the rooms are large. We stayed in a 4 star in Sorrento last year and it was equally as nice AND, we got chocs every night but not at the Excelsior!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charemmie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lido di Venezia
Residence Le Ville del Lido
#1 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
353 reviews
Giudecca
Hilton Molino Stucky Venice Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungari...
#3 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
879 reviews
Quattro Fontane Hotel
#20 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Excelsior Venice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Excelsior Venice

Property: Hotel Excelsior Venice
Address: Lungomare Guglielmo Marconi 41, 30126 Lido di Venezia, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Lido di Venezia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Lido di Venezia
#9 Luxury Hotel in Lido di Venezia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Excelsior Venice 5*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located right on Venice Lido beach, the Hotel Excelsior is a masterpiece of Venetian architecture dating back to the early 1900. An exclusive 5 star Deluxe Resort, of Moorish style and recalling a fabulous Venetian Renaissance palace, the Hotel Excelsior is ideal for family holidays, romantic getaways, conferences or special events in Venice.Stunning halls overlooking the sea, highly creative, contemporary Italian cuisine and competent, skilled staff, become ingredients of the hotel’s recognition and awareness among the best wedding and special events locations. Welcome to the Hotel Excelsior, for more than one century the best match of luxury, history, tradition with comfort and service, carefully built around you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, TravelUp, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Excelsior Venice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Excelsior Venice Lido Hotel
Westin Venice
Venice Westin
Hotel Excelsior Venice Province Of Venice, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing