We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay at The Excelsior”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Excelsior Venice
Ranked #10 of 33 Hotels in Lido di Venezia
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We decided to stay at the Excelsior as it was excellent value for money and had it's own private water taxi shuttle to St Marks Square every 20 minutes.

The hotel itself has a lovely old glamourous atmosphere, and is situated on it's own private beach complete with cabanas. The pool area is very pleasant with lots of sunbeds and places to relax. The bedroom was a suite and extremely large, the only negative point in my opinion was the lack of tea and coffee making facilities.

Breakfast is an extravagant affair in the lovely bright ballroom, excellent choice of foods, cooked, continental etc and lots of gluten free choices, the Italians are very switched on regarding senze glutina :-) Cava was also served which was a decadent touch and the waiter service impeccable.

From the airport or cruise port the hotel is very easy to reach using the Alilaguna blue line and is a short taxi ride for the Lido S.M.E. We found this very easy with a 2 year old and luggage in tow as opposed to staying on Venice Island and having to carry luggage etc through the narrow streets and over bridges.

We would stay here again when we next visit Venice.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Womble1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (943)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Excelsior Venice
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

357 - 363 of 943 reviews

Reviewed 30 October 2013

We stayed at the hotel for three nights. Be aware that October I presume is their low season because the beach was blocked off and we could not access it to go for a walk on it. That was the first disappointment. The second was that the pool was shut. We had read about this hotel and about the pool being its feature. Forget it, it was a pool of stagnant water. Our room was fine on the 7th floor except that the air-condition did not work and the room was hot and stuffy. Opening the door to the balcony was a huge mistake as we were bitten to bits by the mosquitoes for the rest of the stay. In terms of the food at the hotel, eat elsewhere unless you want to pay their inflated prices. Breakfast was a buffet with a wide choice for all tastes. It would have been nice to expect complimentary tea and coffee in the room for what we had paid for to stay at the hotel but there was no provision of that service. The hotel did provide a free shuttle for their guests to San Marco but from October, the shuttle ran once an hour. They were very good to put our bag onto one of their shuttle on the last day at a time specified by us so that we did not have to lug our bags around whilst squeezing every last minute of sightseeing. We have stayed in a variety of hotels and taking into account what we had paid for, this hotel is trading in its past glory.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Serene C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

The Hotel Excelsior is large and nicely decorated and the hotel rooms and bathrooms are massive with plenty of storage.

However, the staff were in complete chaos for the majority of our stay (e.g. long queues at reception, taking hours to deliver baggage etc). Their excuse was that the hotel was full so they were very busy. However, I think a 5-star hotel should still be providing an exemplary service to its guests even when full.

Also, I found some of the facilities to be a bit basic. For example, the hair dryer was a massive plastic machine with very little power. I honestly think I could have dried my hair faster by blowing on it with my warm breath. The wi-fi was very slow and I was constantly having to log back in. There are no free bottles of water in the room. A 5-star hotel should do better than this.

In addition, the restaurant was extremely expensive.

I probably wouldn't stay here again as I don't think it's good value for money (but then again I'm not sure that anywhere in Venice is!)

Maybe it just wasn't suited to my personal taste - I prefer small, friendly hotels.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Depending on one's views, the 1920s meeting and convention oriented facility with seeming acres of unused space either inspires or repulses. It certainly isn't warm and inviting in appearance but eventually succeeds, although it takes work. About 2 lagoon miles from Venice proper and reached by free and convenient free hourly motor launch that docks at the foot of Piazza San Marco. Rated five star deluxe the property is often lower in cost than other deluxe properties in this very expensive locale. Faded photos throughout of mostly long-forgotten Italian movie stars and directors should be replaced, updated, or properly framed. The sea-front location has benefit in season, but otherwise is rather desolate with unappealing rough and dark sand no comparison to the Caribbean or Florida beaches. Excellent dinner menu and preparation, with many guests receiving 20% discount for first meal, but still very expensive in an area with little outside choice. Dinner, previously served in enormous dining room (now the breakfast room) is now served - at least in October - in an unspiring, small, adjacent meeting room, itself nearly empty at a time when the hotel was nearly sold-out. Moderate sized guest rooms, well-appointed with dark mixed pattern fabric wall coverings. Bright baths, some with showers (but no hand rail), below-average toiletries. Full HD 46 inch flat screen TV. The property is not for everyone, but with an open mind it does work.

Room Tip: No benefit in rooms facing Venice proper - too distant.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jeromeoconnor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

We were fortunate to get a "deal" on this hotel which made it very affordable. It was wonderful and probably worth even the published prices. The best part was the private motor launch which departed every half hour from the hotel's own mooring and which took us to a very central point by Bridge of Sighs very close to St Marks' Square. This boat ride took about 15 minutes (depending on the driver and time of day or night) and was a lovely part of the holiday and was almost never busy. We never tired of the view as we approached Venice from the Lido. The hotel itself was amazing with a beach front on the Lido yet backing onto the canal in a peaceful and restful location away from the crowds of tourists in Venice. The beach huts" on the beach front were wonderful but the daily rate made them out of the question! However, when we visited in June the beautiful pool was empty with only a very few guests making use of the poolside facilities and it was all we needed. The hotel was spotlessly clean, with impressive marble floors and reception foyer. We tried the restaurant one evening for a "silver service" meal. There were only a handful of guests in there yet we were asked if we had made a reservation and when we replied we had not we received a worried, quizzical look and were told there could be a problem seating us. When my husband suggested we could be seated at one of the many empty tables we were given a choice of at least 30 tables! No-one else came in after us and the restaurant remained almost empty for the duration! The meal was good, but expensive, and we ate better with more atmosphere in many restaurants in Venice. Our room was basic and standard as one would expect from an online deal, but it was clean and offered all we required although there was no balcony and only a small window overlooking their inner courtyard which was very pretty. Make sure you have maps of the city before you arrive at the Lido - you can get a water boat direct from the airport using the Alilaguna water bus service (Blue Line) which stops at Piazza SM Elisabetta on the Lido. From here its best to get a taxi. All in all this is the only place to stay in Venice; we have stayed many times before in the heart of the city, and also in the backwaters, but it is always crowded and hot even if you are a Venice lover! Staying in the Excelsior gave the perfect compromise; all day in the peace and tranquillity of the poolside and then in the late afternoon we would take the hotel launch and look round Venice and then eat there in the evening catching the last bus back to the hotel. Wonderful! We found breakfast to be good, not amazing though for a 5*. Plenty of choice, but hot foods nearly always cold or warm and choice, whilst good, not as good as many other hotels we have experienced. However, there was always plenty and I think we had been spoiled by a couple of other places we visited recently. Would we go back? Most definitely - this is THE place to stay if you want to see Venice at it's best.

Room Tip: Best to pay extra for a room with a view and balcony
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Harribones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

We've been in Venezia on september 2013. It was great, surprising, romantic....UNFORGETTABLE !!! But take a luggage with wheels and a little pullover.
FIVE STARS : Yes it is expensive, yes it is big, yes it is a very famous palace, yes lots of stars have already been there, but you are a star...so you can't ignore that 10 minutes from Venezia, on a little island called LIDO with its unique beach (12 km), you can find PARADISE !!!
But be careful, because, "Excelsior" is unique, you will dream about it every night, it will be like an obsession !!!! You will never forget it...and you will return there, sure !!!!!
My husband offered me 4 days in Venezia for our wedding birthday (20 years, yes), he choose LIDO island because there were not too many tourists, it was peaceful !!!!
You want to test it, so from the Airport-San Marco, take a boat (Alilaguna company) blue line, there will be a stop on Lido island. Then ask to a bus driver wich bus you have to take to the hotel Excelsior (8 minutes). Don't forget to have a walk on evening on Lido, it's very romantic, then come back to the hotel from the beach.
Don't forget to indicate to the hotel that you are coming for a birthday, they offered us a bottle of Champagne and strawberries...
A private boat takes you every half hour to "San Marco piazza"Venezia (from 09h30 am till 11h30 pm) the same from Venezia to the Hotel.
We found two very good restaurants for romantic evenings : "Do Leoni" and its famous sommelier Samuel BASTON, near piazza San Marco (address : Riva degli Schiavoni, just behind the statue equestra of the king Victor Emmanuel II with its lion -
and "Trattoria Corte Sconta" the best pasta in Venezia....(in CASTELLO) , you have to book for this restaurant 15 days before your arriving, especially for dinner.
The best way to have lunch, is surely to buy "Tramezzini" (from 1euros70 to 3-4 euros) popular and inexpensive snack sandwiches available at many Venetian bars throughout the day.
Ok enjoy and live the present time !!!! each second in Venezia will be unforgettable !
CIAOOOOOOOOOOO
Only for lovers !!!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LIOUBOV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

All I can say is "WOW", this hotel was the highlight of all hotels ever for me! Service was incredible, rooms were quality beyond belief. Views, dining, breakfast was amazing. Movie Star quality in my opinion. Loved, Loved, loved it!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tana48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lido di Venezia
Residence Le Ville del Lido
#1 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
372 reviews
Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungari...
#3 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Giudecca
Hilton Molino Stucky Venice Hotel
Quattro Fontane Hotel
#18 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Excelsior Venice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Excelsior Venice

Address: Lungomare Guglielmo Marconi 41, 30126 Lido di Venezia, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Lido di Venezia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Lido di Venezia
#9 Luxury Hotel in Lido di Venezia
Price Range: £218 - £468 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Excelsior Venice 5*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its unique beachfront location overlooking the sparkling Adriatic Sea, the five-star Hotel Excelsior Venice is uniquely positioned to offer guests a tranquil haven just 15-minutes from Venice on one of our courtesy boats. Located on the fashionable Venice Lido beach, Excelsior was built in 1908 and quickly became the ultimate destination for the world’s rich and famous. Today, Hotel Excelsior, with its unique Moorish architecture and enviable beach location, continues to offer guests the same five-star elegance and splendour that has been enjoyed for more than 100 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Excelsior Venice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Excelsior Venice Lido Hotel
Westin Venice
Venice Westin
Hotel Excelsior Venice Province Of Venice, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing