We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely nice location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Excelsior Venice
Ranked #7 of 33 Hotels in Lido di Venezia
Reviewed 22 December 2013 via mobile

I was there for business reasons.
The timing was not the best as we could not enjoy the beach facilities and the outdoor swimming pool.
Breakfast and dinner were over my expectations.
The bartenders have a great experience and take care of your needs and habits before they pur you any drink.
Reception staff is probably used to more important guest so we were not relly trated with particular respect or courtesy.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
Thank jordandoha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (975)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

370 - 376 of 975 reviews

Reviewed 28 November 2013

Let the Bar Manager, Antonio Micelotta treat you to what a FINE BAR ought to be - service and drinks superb with tasty treats of smoked salmon topped with capers on a thin cracker, salted almonds etc.. We love to sit AT the bar to interact and see the action ~ the BLUE room is exquisite in taste and ambiance - one looks out to the pristine white sands and 'board walk' through large windows that open outward while the room itself gives off a feeling of being IN the sea - a large hall, off to one side, filled with MURANO glass is truly eye-candy to both senses and pocket book. a wonderful way to START the evening. my parents used to stay at the hotel (back in the 'old' days), now 'updated' - complete with private boat launch through inlet canals that lead to the main Venice waterway - thank you Tony. ideal for family, solo, business, friends ~

Room Tip: the hotel is totally delightful with personable personnel - we were there in 2011 October.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 20neveradullmoment13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

This hotel is very elegant and grand. The room was huge and elegant, more like a suite, and was immaculate. It had a wonderful door that opened onto a balcony right on the sea. The staff spoke excellent English and were courteous and professional. However, we evidently were there during the off-season. The beach had closed for the season, and all the restaurants within walking distance were closed for the year. So we had no choice but to eat in the hotel bar, which was extremely expensive (at least we thought so -- we had 2 club sandwiches, one beer, and one soft drink, and the tab was 67 Euros - that's about $100 US.) Also, it was unseasonably warm when we were there (30-31 October), and the hotel's A/C had been turned off. We were very thankful for the sea breeze that night. The bathroom was elegant and modern, and even had a scale (!!). If it weren't for the off-season aspects, we might have given this wonderful hotel 5 stars.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Grace P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

We spent 3 nights here. The hotel is spectacular. The rooms are quite big. The staff is helpful. Great place to stay a little away from the hustle bustle of venice. We found our whole holiday really romantic. The beach is clean and nice. The hotel offers a private ferry ride to & back from San Marco Square till late night. The breakfast buffet had a huge variety. I am deducing 1 point because the hotel does not offer free parking for the guests. 50 EUR for 3 days parking a cabana on the beach at around 80- 100 Euros per day a on top of the room rate is a little too much!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Manu k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013 via mobile

This hotel has a great deal of history and has been renovated several times over the past 10 years. It is spacious and lovely with a beach. It is perfect for a getaway from the mainland of Venice after a hot day of shopping and sight seeing. I recommend it for 3-4 nights to enjoy Venice. The shuttle service worked well and the kids loved taking the boat. You do need to leave time for getting to the mainland- about 10-20 minutes depending on how you time it. Food was also good. It is an expensive hotel but well worth it.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mandy007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We decided to stay at the Excelsior as it was excellent value for money and had it's own private water taxi shuttle to St Marks Square every 20 minutes.

The hotel itself has a lovely old glamourous atmosphere, and is situated on it's own private beach complete with cabanas. The pool area is very pleasant with lots of sunbeds and places to relax. The bedroom was a suite and extremely large, the only negative point in my opinion was the lack of tea and coffee making facilities.

Breakfast is an extravagant affair in the lovely bright ballroom, excellent choice of foods, cooked, continental etc and lots of gluten free choices, the Italians are very switched on regarding senze glutina :-) Cava was also served which was a decadent touch and the waiter service impeccable.

From the airport or cruise port the hotel is very easy to reach using the Alilaguna blue line and is a short taxi ride for the Lido S.M.E. We found this very easy with a 2 year old and luggage in tow as opposed to staying on Venice Island and having to carry luggage etc through the narrow streets and over bridges.

We would stay here again when we next visit Venice.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Womble1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

We stayed at the hotel for three nights. Be aware that October I presume is their low season because the beach was blocked off and we could not access it to go for a walk on it. That was the first disappointment. The second was that the pool was shut. We had read about this hotel and about the pool being its feature. Forget it, it was a pool of stagnant water. Our room was fine on the 7th floor except that the air-condition did not work and the room was hot and stuffy. Opening the door to the balcony was a huge mistake as we were bitten to bits by the mosquitoes for the rest of the stay. In terms of the food at the hotel, eat elsewhere unless you want to pay their inflated prices. Breakfast was a buffet with a wide choice for all tastes. It would have been nice to expect complimentary tea and coffee in the room for what we had paid for to stay at the hotel but there was no provision of that service. The hotel did provide a free shuttle for their guests to San Marco but from October, the shuttle ran once an hour. They were very good to put our bag onto one of their shuttle on the last day at a time specified by us so that we did not have to lug our bags around whilst squeezing every last minute of sightseeing. We have stayed in a variety of hotels and taking into account what we had paid for, this hotel is trading in its past glory.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Serene C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lido di Venezia hotels
0.8 mi away
Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungaria
Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungari...
#3 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
935 reviews
0.6 mi away
Residence Le Ville del Lido
Residence Le Ville del Lido
#1 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
389 reviews
0.9 mi away
Villa Laguna
Villa Laguna
#8 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Hotel Panorama
Hotel Panorama
#2 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
859 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Mabapa
Hotel Villa Mabapa
#11 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
560 reviews
1.2 mi away
Venezia 2000 Hotel & Residence
Venezia 2000 Hotel & Residence
#4 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Excelsior Venice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Excelsior Venice

Address: Lungomare Guglielmo Marconi 41, 30126 Lido di Venezia, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Lido di Venezia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Lido di Venezia
#6 Luxury Hotel in Lido di Venezia
Price Range: £217 - £477 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Excelsior Venice 5*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its unique beachfront location overlooking the sparkling Adriatic Sea, the five-star Hotel Excelsior Venice is uniquely positioned to offer guests a tranquil haven just 15-minutes from Venice on one of our courtesy boats. Located on the fashionable Venice Lido beach, Excelsior was built in 1908 and quickly became the ultimate destination for the world’s rich and famous. Today, Hotel Excelsior, with its unique Moorish architecture and enviable beach location, continues to offer guests the same five-star elegance and splendour that has been enjoyed for more than 100 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TravelUp, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Excelsior Venice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Excelsior Venice Lido Hotel
Westin Venice
Venice Westin
Hotel Excelsior Venice Province Of Venice, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing