We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“luxurious”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Excelsior Venice
Ranked #11 of 33 Hotels in Lido di Venezia
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“luxurious”
Reviewed 12 January 2014

We stayed here before starting our cruise. Beautiful setting, middle eastern type decor in our rooms, huge bathrooms, phenomenal breakfast, attentive helpful staff. Loved the beach. They supply transportation to Venice hourly. I would recommend this to anyone----but it is quite pricey so be prepared for sticker shock!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank linda z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

897 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    365
    262
    130
    85
    55
See reviews for
187
457
11
94
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013

My sister and I arrived at 12:00 midnight. We took the vaporetto ( public transportation) to lido from the airport. It was 7 euro each. The journey was 40 minutes to our stop. We got off the boat and caught a public bus to the Excelsior which was the 3rd stop. We then walked 5 minutes to this palace on the sea. Wow ! I thought as I walked in. We were greeted with a smile and asked if we were the Hannon's. I like being expected. I had paid in full before arriving. So there was nothing to do but get the key and give a card. The porter took our bags to our suite. Our room was large with a nice sitting room, two queen beds and a huge bathroom with a tub and shower. The front desk attendant suggested we go the the bar before they close at 1am if we wanted a drink. Yeah I think we need one after a 14 hour flight and boat transport. The two bartenders were so friendly and created conversation to the point they stayed opened beyond 1 am. The hotel offers a 5 star breakfast in there ball room I believe? The tables and chairs were dressed for a queens arrival. The staff was on each guests requests. Coffee tea or a special anything you wanted. The food was displayed perfectly, buffet style with everything you could possibly want. The room overlooks the Sea and it's pier. The chandeliers are so spectacular you hurt your neck just staring at them. Ok I could stay in this room all day. Off to Venice. We had our own private boat launch to transport us to and from Venice daily. This was so special and convenient for us. Venice is very busy so leaving it after a full day of touring was a real bonus. Our stay was excellent. I would never stay in Venice after staying on lido. Walking the beach in the morning and gathering shells was a highlight. The food was excellent. It was my birthday and one other in the dinning room. They made a special cake for me and announced the celebration to the entire room which made the social scene perfect. We felt connected and by no means strangers. My sister Lynne was so skeptical of staying on lido. Before leaving she said it was her favorite accommodation ever. Along with its location. Thank you to the staff. Kathy Hannon San Diego California. Lynne Sargent Hanalei Kauai.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank kathyhannon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha, Qatar
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013 via mobile

I was there for business reasons.
The timing was not the best as we could not enjoy the beach facilities and the outdoor swimming pool.
Breakfast and dinner were over my expectations.
The bartenders have a great experience and take care of your needs and habits before they pur you any drink.
Reception staff is probably used to more important guest so we were not relly trated with particular respect or courtesy.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank jordandoha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013

Let the Bar Manager, Antonio Micelotta treat you to what a FINE BAR ought to be - service and drinks superb with tasty treats of smoked salmon topped with capers on a thin cracker, salted almonds etc.. We love to sit AT the bar to interact and see the action ~ the BLUE room is exquisite in taste and ambiance - one looks out to the pristine white sands and 'board walk' through large windows that open outward while the room itself gives off a feeling of being IN the sea - a large hall, off to one side, filled with MURANO glass is truly eye-candy to both senses and pocket book. a wonderful way to START the evening. my parents used to stay at the hotel (back in the 'old' days), now 'updated' - complete with private boat launch through inlet canals that lead to the main Venice waterway - thank you Tony. ideal for family, solo, business, friends ~

Room Tip: the hotel is totally delightful with personable personnel - we were there in 2011 October.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 20neveradullmoment13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ephrata, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

This hotel is very elegant and grand. The room was huge and elegant, more like a suite, and was immaculate. It had a wonderful door that opened onto a balcony right on the sea. The staff spoke excellent English and were courteous and professional. However, we evidently were there during the off-season. The beach had closed for the season, and all the restaurants within walking distance were closed for the year. So we had no choice but to eat in the hotel bar, which was extremely expensive (at least we thought so -- we had 2 club sandwiches, one beer, and one soft drink, and the tab was 67 Euros - that's about $100 US.) Also, it was unseasonably warm when we were there (30-31 October), and the hotel's A/C had been turned off. We were very thankful for the sea breeze that night. The bathroom was elegant and modern, and even had a scale (!!). If it weren't for the off-season aspects, we might have given this wonderful hotel 5 stars.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Grace P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 November 2013

We spent 3 nights here. The hotel is spectacular. The rooms are quite big. The staff is helpful. Great place to stay a little away from the hustle bustle of venice. We found our whole holiday really romantic. The beach is clean and nice. The hotel offers a private ferry ride to & back from San Marco Square till late night. The breakfast buffet had a huge variety. I am deducing 1 point because the hotel does not offer free parking for the guests. 50 EUR for 3 days parking a cabana on the beach at around 80- 100 Euros per day a on top of the room rate is a little too much!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Manu k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level 6 Contributor
242 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013 via mobile

This hotel has a great deal of history and has been renovated several times over the past 10 years. It is spacious and lovely with a beach. It is perfect for a getaway from the mainland of Venice after a hot day of shopping and sight seeing. I recommend it for 3-4 nights to enjoy Venice. The shuttle service worked well and the kids loved taking the boat. You do need to leave time for getting to the mainland- about 10-20 minutes depending on how you time it. Food was also good. It is an expensive hotel but well worth it.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mandy007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lido di Venezia
Residence Le Ville del Lido
#1 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Giudecca
Hilton Molino Stucky Venice Hotel
Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungari...
#3 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
880 reviews
Quattro Fontane Hotel
#20 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Excelsior Venice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Excelsior Venice

Property: Hotel Excelsior Venice
Address: Lungomare Guglielmo Marconi 41, 30126 Lido di Venezia, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Lido di Venezia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Lido di Venezia
#10 Luxury Hotel in Lido di Venezia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Excelsior Venice 5*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located right on Venice Lido beach, the Hotel Excelsior is a masterpiece of Venetian architecture dating back to the early 1900. An exclusive 5 star Deluxe Resort, of Moorish style and recalling a fabulous Venetian Renaissance palace, the Hotel Excelsior is ideal for family holidays, romantic getaways, conferences or special events in Venice.Stunning halls overlooking the sea, highly creative, contemporary Italian cuisine and competent, skilled staff, become ingredients of the hotel’s recognition and awareness among the best wedding and special events locations. Welcome to the Hotel Excelsior, for more than one century the best match of luxury, history, tradition with comfort and service, carefully built around you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Excelsior Venice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Excelsior Venice Lido Hotel
Westin Venice
Venice Westin
Hotel Excelsior Venice Province Of Venice, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing