We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our wedding in Excelsior : A dream come true !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Excelsior Venice
Ranked #11 of 33 Hotels in Lido di Venezia
Paris, France
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Our wedding in Excelsior : A dream come true !”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We got married in hotel Excelsior Lido Di Venezia three weeks ago.
Everything was perfect and gorgeous. Sala Stucchi is just incredibly beautiful. The menu by Antonio Sanna was delicious and the wedding cake delicious as well, the service with zero mistakes.
Besides the perfect setting with the perfect food and cocktail for 120 guests, the organization by the Excelsior team was very efficient and met our expectations : there was an event just before our wedding and in Sala Stucchi as well, however everything (tables, chair covers, table names, tableau de mariage, gifts for the guests, central bouquet...) was ready on time and with zero mistakes. During the whole wedding, Excelsior coordinators were there, always ready.
We had a wonderful experience having our wedding in Excelsior, it's a magic place : romantic, elegant and above all professional !
Highly recommended if you want your dream to come true in Venezia !!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MyrouFafouM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

890 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    362
    261
    130
    83
    54
See reviews for
184
453
11
94
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this hotel - to the point that we cancelled our planned trip to Florence & Tuscany area so that we can relax and experience Lido a little more.

The hotel is away from the hustle and bustle of St Mark's square - water taxi to and from the Sta. Lucia train station will cost you Euro 90.00 to 100.00, but the hotel experience will more than make up for it. They provide a free boat shuttle to and from St Mark's square, so it's cool.

They give you excellent and full attention the moment you step into their property. The property itself is huge and has it's own character. They have a very nice beach and pool area and also ample of sitting areas around the hotel where you could hang out and relax.

We booked an ocean view room with king size bed and it is worth the small upgrade cost. The room was huge and newly renovated.

The breakfast is one of the best free/included breakfast that we had (best is Sofitel-Manila). Lot's of hot food and fruit selection, the breakfast room is big and has a nice view of the beach and hotel ground.

We were also impressed that they do room service twice a day, they call the second one turn down service, done at around 7pm.

Couple of criticisms - shower get hot and cold and weak water pressure. Also, almost all of the outlets in the room were too loose for the plug/adapter that we brought (and worked in other hotels).

Room Tip: get room 332
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dimfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blandford Forum, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Excelsior Hotel is the centre for the Venice Film Festival and displays many photographs of the well known film stars of Hollywood who have stayed. Our second time, with sea view room is excellent for swimming in the sea or the large pool--Very safe for children. Buffet breakfast is sumptuous. It has so much choice with ice cold prosecco included to start the day. Rooms are large with 2 balconies. Arrival can be by Hotel's own launch from San Marco (on the hour) - or Water Bus (15 Euros) from airport to Lido with a short bus ride or 20 minute walk. Launch returns on the half hour and costs 4.50 Euros per person. Views are magnificent. Pianist in the cocktail bar provides a good atmosphere. Lido restaurants are very good -- even a very good Indian. Ideal for having a combined sea side holiday with Venice just there. Ideal holiday for us.

Room Tip: Go for sea view or the Venice side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 755Win
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We have just come back from this hotel and we were very happy with our stay. The bar staff were lovely and the service was amazing . The front desk staff could maybe use a little happiness spread among them . Meals were excellent, but small portions for what you pay. Drinks are expensive but this is compensated with the olives and nuts and crisps that are given when you order a drink, so its not too bad . The only fault that I could find was that the hotel bar was plagued by mosquitoes and I heard a few people complain. I got some really nasty bites from sitting there, so I believe they have to address this problem big time.

There is a complimentary boat that runs every hour which is great for taking you to Venice City. Transport can be very expensive , so if you don't want to pay the 125 Euros for a water taxi to take you to the airport when leaving, walk into town and you can get the river boat to the airport 15 Euros each.

The hotel was spotless and well looked after . I don't think I will return to this hotel however, as I did not find the type of guests who stay there to be particularly friendly, a lot of stuck up snobs, who very rarely smiled. This is just my opinion.

Room Tip: Hotel beds are very hard in my opinion
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kathleen h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Beautiful, well maintained grounds - beach was pristine, inner courtyard and pool area well groomed and grand.
Rooms are very spacious, decorated in faux-Moroccan style, believe they were newly refurbished in 2013.

Loved the fact that pretty lavish breakfast buffet had soya milk, almond milk and small selection of packaged gluten free products as well.
Complimentary boat service to and from Venice.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank iradar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Quiet environment (it was still pre-high season), Moroccan-style decor, spacious rooms and discreet, quiet service, while on the Adriatic Sea with miles of white sandy beaches - all the while I felt we were still basking in the hotels glory days. The upkeep of the hotel is terrific given the harsh weather they must experience at times, off season, from the sea and their island location. The included breakfast was sumptuous and the open air dining area with the sea view and sounds was a true pleasure.The private hotel boat shuttle worked liked a charm to get us to Venice's St. Mark's Square drop-off every day if we wanted to sight see and enjoy the multitude of fabulous restaurants in and around the square. Besides the architecture and history that enthralled, restaurants like Do Forni were the ultimate in dining pleasures. We were with a smaller group tour with Gate1 Travel and the included hotel in Venice was the Excelsior, a treat we never would have imagined with any group tour; all their hotel selections on our Wine and Art Tour of northern Italy were amazing. I am singling out The Excelsior since any online photos and descriptions do not do it justice. We are experienced travellers and are a bit more "cosmopolitan" as Giorgio our tour guide kept reminding us when we did not like a certain wine or lingered too long over the art in Venice .... :-) Will definitely return for a destination vacation to the Excelsior on Venice Lido

Room Tip: Your options are a balcony room overlooking the street and cove/boat docks/greenbelt in the front o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We stayed here for one night during our 5 night stay on the Lido. I booked the Excelsior for a treat on my boyfriends birthday. We arrived a little before check in so had lunch which was amazing, they even popped a little candle on my boyfriends dessert! Our room was amazing, I loved the view over the courtyard and venice and the added extras were so lovely too! I loved the fluffy bath robes and sweets! The pool area was fab too with a view over the sea and a huge pool to have a swim.

All our meals were great including breakfast which had everything to choose from, a Procecco was just what I wanted to start my day!

My boyfriend and I had a great time while staying here and would love to go back one day.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lornabowley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lido di Venezia
Residence Le Ville del Lido
#1 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
353 reviews
Giudecca
Hilton Molino Stucky Venice Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungari...
#3 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
879 reviews
Quattro Fontane Hotel
#20 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Excelsior Venice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Excelsior Venice

Property: Hotel Excelsior Venice
Address: Lungomare Guglielmo Marconi 41, 30126 Lido di Venezia, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Lido di Venezia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Lido di Venezia
#10 Luxury Hotel in Lido di Venezia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Excelsior Venice 5*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located right on Venice Lido beach, the Hotel Excelsior is a masterpiece of Venetian architecture dating back to the early 1900. An exclusive 5 star Deluxe Resort, of Moorish style and recalling a fabulous Venetian Renaissance palace, the Hotel Excelsior is ideal for family holidays, romantic getaways, conferences or special events in Venice.Stunning halls overlooking the sea, highly creative, contemporary Italian cuisine and competent, skilled staff, become ingredients of the hotel’s recognition and awareness among the best wedding and special events locations. Welcome to the Hotel Excelsior, for more than one century the best match of luxury, history, tradition with comfort and service, carefully built around you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Excelsior Venice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Excelsior Venice Lido Hotel
Westin Venice
Venice Westin
Hotel Excelsior Venice Province Of Venice, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing