We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, friendly staff, best of both worlds with the sights and a beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Panorama

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Panorama
Ranked #2 of 33 Hotels in Lido di Venezia
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great location, friendly staff, best of both worlds with the sights and a beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2009

This hotel was ideal for the purpose of visiting Venice. We stayed in a lagoon view room and were not disappointed. The view was fantastic, the vaporetto to St Marks square stopped just outside the hotel and ran very regularly during the day. The journey only took about ten minutes and we were very happy to be out of the centre of venice and so close to a lovely beach, it was like having two holidays in one. The staff on reception were very helpful, particularly the rooms manager who could not do enough to help, with a smile for everyone.

The only reason that we have not scored full marks is the air conditioning. It worked but was only a light breeze and at the hottest time of the year it could make sleeping uncomfortable. Having said that it wouldn't stop me going back there again.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank piesrcool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

782 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    461
    269
    35
    13
    4
See reviews for
140
441
12
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
57 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 482 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2009

The hotel has a convenient location on the island of Lido, far from the main attractions of Venice but close to the Vaporetto (water bus) station. It is housed in a pleasant looking, mustard colored building. The interior, however, is unbefitting for a four star hotel. Our room had broken window handle, the safe was unsafe with a failing lock, and the electric outlets had hazardous knots of cables dangling from them. The breakfast confirmed that this wasn’t a four star hotel, as it had absolutely no fresh ingredients. Everything seemed canned, pre-cooked or refrigerated. Finally, there was a single internet-connected computer, using an archaic system of magnetic cards for access, which sometimes worked and sometimes didn’t.
Be aware that the hotel’s location is far, far from the main attractions of Venice in San Marco. On the upside, it means that restaurant prices are lower, that you can see how real Venetians live, and that the only decent beach in Venice is nearby. On the downside, it entails an hour long boat ride from the train station or the parking in Piazzale Roma. It also involves a 20-30 minute Vaporetto rides to San Marco, and means that you cannot return to your hotel by foot. The vaporetti are both expensive (6.5 euro per ride or some 30 euro for a 48 hours ticket) and run infrequently at night.
The bright spot was the staff: pleasant, polite and always ready to help, either with a electric adapter, a phone call, or directions. Everybody spoke English and was upbeat. They deserve working for a better hotel.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank WarmWhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roosendaal, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2009

Stayed here for a week in July 2009 before going to the Tuscany region. This hotel and the area are perfect for a mix of relaxing at the beach and spend your time with great eating/drinking, sight seeing and shopping (in this case in Venice)
The hotel itself is perfectly located: waterbus in front of the hotel and a 10 (ten minute) walk to the beach area.
Breakfast is average, rooms as cozy, but not luxurious(take a superior room, great view of Venice) and what a friendly staff at the reception.........kind and helpfull......everyone of them.......chapeau!!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CHJLaros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redding,CA
Level Contributor
136 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2009

We stayed here the night before our cruise. It was so nice to get off the vaporetto after a long flight and just walk across the street to the hotel. Front desk was very helpful in telling us which boats to take to which sights, where to eat on the Lido, etc. Price includes an expanded continental breakfast with some pretty awesome pastries. Room was small, but with a great view of the water.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank goldiep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
milton keynes
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2009

The Hotel Panorama is very conveniently situated just opposite the Vaparetto stops on the Lido. This means you can start the day with the most stunning vista in Venice as you approach make the crossing from Lido to the main island, whilst you are somewhat away from the tourist throngs. To get to/from Marco Polo airport you can take the #5 ACTV bus from the Piazzale Roma and then boat to the hotel - this is covered if you have the ACTV day ticket. Or you can go directly to/from the airport to Lido by boat, but this will cost you 16 euro with luggage.

The hotel has a very nice rooftop terrace from which you can see across the lagoon to the the main island. The bedrooms are comfortable, have minibar, room safe, aircon and Sky TV. The bathrooms look like they've been recently refurbished and are very clean. Staff were friendly and helpful.

Breakfast was a decent continetal spread, with croissants, bread, ham, cheese, yoghurts, cereals, and some cakes. Just ask for freshly made coffee of your choice.

All in all a good overall package.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank whatdidtheromans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2009

The Panorama thoroughly deserves the good reviews it gets on this site.

The hotel was literally a walk-in straight off the Alilgiuna water bus. It was spotless and all the staff very friendly and helpful. We asked for double superior and our room was at the front of the hotel with a fantastic view over the lagoon and St Marks. There is also a really nice terrace area with the same views. Some reviews have commented on the noise due to the hotels waterfront location. This is fair comment, but the noise is not excessive and can be avoided by keeping the doors closed and using the AC.

Ther lido is generally fairly sedate and has really nice beaches. It is cheaper than central Venice and only a few minutes by the vaparetto bus, so a really good location.

Our only criticism of the hotel was that fresh coffee should be served at breakfast rather than through a machine.

Overall, great hotel and good value.

Helpful?
1 Thank SheffieldCatface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Hampshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2009

My husband and I spent 2 nights at Hotel Panorama before we took a cruise to the Greek Isles and Croatia from Venice. The staff was very pleasant and helpful. Eugenio and Sabrina were both very nice. We got to know Sabrina more. She is a lovely person and is very helpful. (Note: I found that the staff was more helpful and friendly the more I talked to them. If I wasn't so chatty with them, I don't feel that I would have gotten to know them as much.) This was our first time in Europe so we were a little nervous about where to stay and the only language we know is English. We stayed here based on the price and recommendations of other reviews on Trip Advisor. The only person who didn't speak english was the maid (she also worked in the breakfast room). The hotel is VERY convenient- right across the street from the water buses. The bus system by the way was good and easy to follow. (Although on Friday (our only full day in Venice) the water buses were on strike. Thankfully there were still water buses going back and forth from Lido to San Marco so the strike really didn't impact our vacation.) I loved the water bus rides because everything around you is so picturesque and amazing (I would stand during the rides rather than sit below in the seats). My husband who doesn't like crowds and such was very happy that we stayed on Lido. The room size was fine. It seemed small at first but then once I got use to it it didn't seem as small. We stayed in a standard room with a view. We could have upgraded to a room with a view of St Marks but we didn't feel it was worth the extra 30 or 40 euros per night. Plus there was construction going on around the water bus/waterway in front of the hotel. Just a word of caution- there were some hotels that we saw near St Mark's square that had noisy construction going on. I would have been upset if I payed top dollar for a hotel in that area and there was noisy/ugly construction going on. On Saturday morning before we left to go to the cruise ship, we rode a 4 wheeled bicycle for two around Lido for only 10 euros per hour. It was so much fun! Lido is a beautiful area. My only disappointment with Lido was the fact that the beaches weren't open. You could still go to the beach but it was dirty and there was trash and such around. The beaches open in June. If I went again, I would go in June rather than May. As for restaurants, we ate at the Grand Viale and the Roxy. Both were good. The Grand Viale was better although the service was a bit better at the Roxy. The fettuccine carbonara was amazing! Had we stayed longer I would have like to have tried a few of the other restaurants that were recommended but weren't on the main road near the hotel. We had pizza at the Hotel Rialto (next to the Rialto Bridge) one afternoon- although a bit pricey, it was excellent. I could just go on and on about our stay.....I wish we had more time to explore Lido and Venice. I recommend at least 4 days.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lmmNewHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lido di Venezia hotels
0.5 mi away
Residence Le Ville del Lido
Residence Le Ville del Lido
#1 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Laguna
Villa Laguna
#7 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Pannonia
Hotel Villa Pannonia
#6 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungaria
Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungari...
#3 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 859 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Excelsior
Hotel Excelsior
#10 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 843 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Mabapa
Hotel Villa Mabapa
#4 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Panorama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Panorama

Property: Hotel Panorama
Address: Plaza Santa Maria Elisabetta 1 | Lido, 30126 Lido di Venezia, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Lido di Venezia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Lido di Venezia
#1 Romantic Hotel in Lido di Venezia
#2 Luxury Hotel in Lido di Venezia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Panorama 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Panorama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Panorama Hotel Venice
Hotel Panorama Province Of Venice, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing