We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel in peaceful location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Viktoria Palace Hotel
Ranked #23 of 33 Hotels in Lido di Venezia
Burnley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
557 reviews
137 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 293 helpful votes
“Good hotel in peaceful location”
Reviewed 25 December 2012

There are mixed reviews on here about the Victoria Palace and I find it unbelievable that someone thinks it is the ‘Worst Hotel on Earth’. I have travelled to almost 90 countries and I can think of many hotels far worse than the Victoria Palace!
I am very particular about the cleanliness of hotels and I found our room and the hotel to be clean. The room was on the small side but it was comfortable and nicely decorated and furnished.
The view from the balcony of the lagoon was far reaching, yes in the foreground was the bus stop but beyond that was interesting with plenty to see of the lagoon and the constant passing of sea vessels and not to mention the sunsets. (See my photos of views from the room)

Breakfast was fine with a reasonable selection of food and it was lovely to sit on the terrace to eat it. The hotel staff were not over friendly but helpful and amiable when we approached them. It is situated in a quiet area, peaceful and relaxing a welcomed contrast to the hustle and bustle of Venice
As for getting to St Marks square I don’t know how it can take 90 minutes to get there as written on a previous review. We spent 5 days travelling from the lido to different areas of Venice. The buses stop right outside the hotel every 15 minutes and take no more than 5 minutes to get to the waterbus stop, in fact you can walk there in 15 minutes. The waterbus across to St Marks takes no longer than 20 minutes and I never tired of that journey. It never took us more than 30 minutes to reach St Marks from the hotel. We used waterbuses from the lido to access many different areas of Venice and the lagoon. There are no restaurants close by but there are several in the central area near the waterbus terminal on the Lido and with frequent buses running till late it was easy to get to them. We also ate in Venice proper in one of the closest districts Sant' Elena at the Osteria Dal Pampo where we had a good quality meal for a very reasonable price.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a lagoon view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank simply-peregrinating
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    88
    35
    14
    27
See reviews for
31
111
6
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2012

We Sadly had booked this last Minute as our Hotel the Sans Clemence in Venice had gone bankrupt and could not accommodate us 2 weeks before we were due to go to Venice !we thought it would be OK as we struggled to find something nice !we were so wrong !! It is the pits !! It is the on the lido and takes you an Hour and half to get on a bus and a water bus to Venice St Marks Square , we were told a lot less ! On arrival our room was dirty and i did not dare put anything in the wardrobe and to be honest there was so little space you could not swing a cat in the room !! the views (balcony lagoon view) !!! was horrid all you could see was the bus stop and all the people lined up at the bus stop to see you ! we left the very next day and moved to a nice hotel in Venice called the Bonvecchiati Hotel and this was 5 minutes walk to St Marks square ! This Horrid Hotel could not be more removed from being a Palace

Room Tip: Dont Bother !! go some where else unless you like dirty small rooms !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lido di Venezia hotels

San Jose, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 6 October 2012 via mobile

We spent a couple HORRIBLE nights there. Every night we had to ask the front desk to turn up the air in our room to no avail. They would check their computer and say okay, one clerk actually got up and came to the room when I went down for a second tome that evening to discover the fan wasnt blowing air. As many customers that were complaining about the same issue, u would think they would get it together.At one point we were tempted to sleep in the hallways just to get relief! Being so far from the City Center, there needs to be more flexibility in their dining options. FYI, if u r staying on this island bring plenty of mosquito replellant!!!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tammyl_1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2012

From the start it was everything we asked for, having flown to Italy we didn’t speak a word of Italian so the first recommendation is to the staff. Everyone one of them helped us learn the language and order everything we needed. The hotel its quiet and beautiful. The rooms are fantastic; we stayed in room 40 which is an Annex (separate from the hotel). The rooms we very secure with doors like a vault and all the security is electronic proximity access. The shower was great, one of the “overhead” showerheads. The rooms have first class air conditioning which is both powerful and efficient and I can tell you now that given the 35 degree heat, the minute you walk in your room you appreciate the relief immediately. The second recommendation is the cleaners, we never actually saw them but they were amazing. We are a British couple who both smoke and drink. We left at different times in the day and every time we came back the room was like we just arrived, sheets perfect, everything organised, they even aligned our shoes in the wardrobe! Regardless of the time the staff were always on hand to help up, from getting a drink or explaining the local town and where to go they were there every step of the way. The breakfast is cold meats which were always fresh and the coffee is great, no sneaky charges for anything, the landscape is excellent with a cracking garden, sun beds and little escapes. If i were to visit Venice again I would defiantly stay here again. Although this review is made for the hotel its worthy or a few hints for the local town (Lido) first of all, the wine is generally served in litres but is weak (ABV). Go for a bottle. (pinot grigio is good) we ate at every restaurants on the main street (via elisabetta) and the food varies from restaurant to restaurant . Avoid the side road restaurants as they are pretty moody and have no time for British people. Our favourite one was next to Via Negroponte. Service was excellent and the staff were spot on. Anyway, im not getting paid for this so enjoy and make sure you get mosquito repellent and a bicycle to explore the island.

Room 40

Room Tip: see above, the review pretty much has all required
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Room_40_GB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2012

For the love of Lido, this place is nice. The staff are friendly, the views at sunset are dreamlike. This place will probably be my favourite place I have been for a long, long time.

If I was to find fault in anything, it would be that the rooms need to have their own kettle. The only way to get a drink, without resorting to tap water, which is drinkable, is to buy from the bar. A bit cheeky.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Traveller072012_30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san diego, ca
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2012

We stayed at this hotel Oct 2010, we enjoyed the nice quite atmospher, keep in mind you are in an island across from Venice. We didn't know this but again it was a very nice surprise. It seemed to me like a magical island just about everyone uses a bicyle to get around the island I just loved it. The hotel was nice not crowed in Oct. and the foold was very good. I enjoyed taking the water taxi and looking at Venice from the water it was another view. I suggest you take a water taxi all around the island just so you can enjoy all the sights of Venice and Lido. Would stay at this hotel again. The last transfer from the main land to Lido is at 11pm. After that no more until the next day!

Room Tip: ask for the view to Venice rooms, in October the other side has no view and many mosquitos. We chan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank angielopez2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague
Level Contributor
65 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

Read the reviews on TA to select this hotel and so glad we did. It was perfect. But, think about what type of holiday stay you want before selecting it. Lido is perfect if you want to escape the crowds of Venice and the hotel is perfect if you want to escape the crowds of Lido. If you are looking for parties, this isn't for you. And although you can get back to hotel in 45 mins from Venice island so could do a break half way through the day, we went out and stayed out
On recommendations on TA we asked for room overlooking the lagoon....stunning, stunning views
Downside is that it was smaller than the rooms on the garden side, but what you lose with one thing you gain with the other
Staff were great, and it's very nicely decorated, the gardens are lovely to sit and have an evening drink in
Only reason it doesnt get a 5 is the breakfast experience. On Saturday morning with lots of people, the chef left at 9:30 even though it was served till 10, so there was no replenishment of the eggs or fresh bread. Several people complained and although it was annoying, you dont exactly starve in Italy!
Read David B's reviews on how to get there and around, they work perfectly
When we were there it was hot, hot, hot....so caught bus to water taxi stand in morning and walked back in evening....lovely
All in all a perfect hotel for a romantic weekend

Room Tip: Lagoon rooms smaller than garden rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank HarriPrague
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lido di Venezia hotels
1.0 mi away
Villa Edera Hotel
Villa Edera Hotel
#32 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
211 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Pannonia
Hotel Villa Pannonia
#4 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
292 reviews
0.6 mi away
Russo Palace Hotel
Russo Palace Hotel
#8 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Venezia 2000 Hotel & Residence
Venezia 2000 Hotel & Residence
#7 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
534 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Panorama
Hotel Panorama
#2 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
778 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Mabapa
Hotel Villa Mabapa
#6 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viktoria Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viktoria Palace Hotel

Property: Viktoria Palace Hotel
Address: Riviera San Nicolo' 50, 30126 Lido di Venezia, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Lido di Venezia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Lido di Venezia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Viktoria Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Viktoria Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buon Pesce Hotel
Buon Pesce Venice
Viktoria Palace Hotel Province Of Venice, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing