We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, friendly, good value and convenient location.”
Review of Hotel Giardinetto

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Giardinetto
Ranked #10 of 33 Hotels in Lido di Venezia
Certificate of Excellence
Pas-de-Calais, France
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Comfortable, friendly, good value and convenient location.”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Long & short of it: It has quirks, it's not perfect... but we liked it and if possible will return on our next trip to Venice.

This is a small hotel - only 13 rooms. It was refurbished in 2013 and is generally in very good order. The reception area is suitably cosy and just next to it is the small breakfast area. Coffee is good here and the breakfast, whilst not offering a huge choice, is of good quality and ample. In common with many smaller Italian hotels these days, there is no drink-making facility in the rooms but both hot & cold drinks are available 24/7 in reception on payment of standard bar prices.

Rooms are a little on the small size (ours had no place to open a suitcase so we used the spare bed) and air-conditioned. We thought they were very good for the price we paid. The A/C makes a small noise every 5~10 minutes which may annoy some people. They are trying to get this fixed but it's proving difficult, so be aware! I have to admit, we thought it was going to be a real problem but to our surprise it wasn't.

Reception service is great! Friendly but professional, knowledgeable and helpful.

The hotel is 2 minutes walk from the Vaporetto stop. From there, you can get a boat to Venezia (the main island). They run frequently and take about 15 minutes to San Marco (St Marks). In the summer season there are boats which go directly to Murano as well as other, less frequented islands of the lagoon. There is an "Alilaguna" service which runs from the airport (Marco Polo) and eventually arrives at Lido (the island this hotel is on). Only use it if you have a load of luggae - it's very expensive and takes longer than the alternative, Airport bus to Piazzale Roma (4€ if booked in advance) and then the normal vaporetto to Lido. Oh, and if you're there for more than a day, buy a transport ticket from veneziaunica.it (not to mention museum tickets etc). It's a bargain and, apparently, cheaper than buying the same thing in Venice itself.

There are plenty of restaurants nearby, including one with the same name as the hotel and part of the same building... which somehow we never tried :/ Prices range from reasonable to top whack... but this is Venice and it *is* expensive. Food quality varies pretty much with price. There are a few other shops on Lido which will satisfy most traveller's needs. The municipal beach, a few minutes away on the bus (your vaporetto pass works on the buses too), is free... but the rent for an umbrella, use of changing room, toilets, etc., etc., is extortionate. Get there early enough and you can claim a patch under the bridge that crosses the coast road and avoid needing an umbrella. the rest is manageable :)

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Low_Light_Images
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    79
    14
    2
    5
See reviews for
25
101
17
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sutton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

The Giardinetto is set just the other side of a road from the waterbus terminus at Lido. That makes it very convenient indeed if you have just arrived from a long trip to get there or a heavy day in Venice. You will be greeted by an air-conditioned reception area and a smiling and very helpful member of the reception staff. The young lady we saw most often, Giulietta, was, on several occasions, more helpful than we could have reasonably expected. The room was very comfortable and more than adequately large, considering the time we spent in it. There was no 'hospitality tray' in the room but there was access to drinks in reception. The only real annoyance was the noise produced by the A/C unit. There was, apparently, a technical reason for this and we did kinda get used to it. There is no lift but the hotel only has two floors, so worth bearing in mind.

A wonderful experience all round.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Sadly, one of my grandparents died six days before the booking and so l could not travel. The manager of Hotel Giardinetto refused to cancel my booking and does not answer any emails sent directly by me.

Out of six hotels and five flights that I have booked, this is the only establishment that has refused to offer any support at this incredibly difficult time.

Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
4 Thank wildwanderer85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

If you're looking for a mix of city trip and beach holiday then the Lido is perfect. It's 10 min boat ride away from the main lagoon islands of Venice, plus there is a beach on Lido, which is very long so there is plenty of space for everyone.

We picked this hotel after reading reviews and we felt it was exactly how we thought it would be for the money: a cute, friendly hotel with enough amenities and extras to keep you happy in an excellent location. If you're expecting masses of luxury then you'll be disappointed - it's essentially a nice place to sleep (what more do you want in Venice anyway).

The only drawback, as mentioned in other reviews, is the strange air conditioning system which makes a buzzing sound every now and then. Reception told us to have it on in the day and turn it off at night - not ideal but it was a simple solution.

The staff are great and very helpful and this hotel is near local shops and restaurants. Being opposite the vaporetto stop is perfect. Highly recommended if you're not ridiculously fussy.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tictac132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampere, Finland
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

We chose this hotel because it's good reviews on every sites. We are very happy for that choice. It was just so great. Only one thing was not so nice,  noisy air conditioning! Every 5 minutes it made a rattling noise. We didn't hear that sound all the time, but even we put it off, that strange little sound was heard. Suddenly it vanished and came back again. Anyway, we slept well with that sound, not a big deal for us. 
We were at #204 and didn't have a view to laguna, but we just slept in our room, so it wasn't a problem at all. 

Hotel has a great location in Lido, just across vaporetto (waterbus) stop (St Maria Elisabetta (S.M.E). and only 10 mins walk to the free beach.
It's very easy to get there from Marco Polo Airport with Alilaguna boats. 
See http://www.alilaguna.it/en and very good instructions with directions and photos in http://europeforvisitors.com/venice/articles/alilaguna-and-water-taxis.htm 

Buses give you an easy way to get around Lido island. Everyone goes by St Maria Elisabetta (S.M.E). 

Just buy ACTV pass and you can go almost anywhere very easily, also to Pellestrina and else. http://www.veneziaunica.it/en/ecommerce/products/pack/biglietti-turistici-actv 
With same ACTV pass you can travel by all waterbuses to anywhere very easily. Almost every waterbuses visit to S.M.E.

Our room (#204) was very clean and beds were comfortable with extra pillows. We had a small safebox and a small fridge too, which was very nice with our drinks. 
Everything worked well and staff were very friendly. They gave us a map and good instructions about going around. Reception is open 24 hrs, which is nice too. 

There are difficult stairs to 2nd floor, but first floor is accessible with wheel chair also (with elevator in stairs). 

Breakfast had delicious, still warm croissants, white bread and meat, tinned fruit and yoghurt with some serials or else. And of course, strong coffee and tea and fresh pineapple and orange juices. 
They even made us very early breakfast when we checked out very early in the morning. That was great service and no extra costs! Thanks to them!!

Plenty of restaurants and coffee places around, supermarket just around the corner and bike-rental on next door. 

Nice, little and very clean hotel and not too expensive either. 

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank JamiFIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We chose this hotel on the strength of Tripadvisor reviews and, while we were pleased with our choice, we found it difficult to believe no one else mentioned the bizarre air conditioning! Every 5 or 6 minutes it would make a very loud rattling noise. Reception advised it was a problem throughout the hotel and we would just need to switch it off at night! Not great in July.
The hotel were very good at responding to my emails before our stay and gave good instructions for getting to the hotel from the station.
It has a great location across the road from the vaporetto stop and 5/10 mins walk from the free beach. The windows are double glazed and have shutters but some outside noise can still be heard if you are a light sleeper. We were a bit concerned we could hear the music from the restaurant below through the floor but it finished just after ten so it wasn't a problem for us.
Our room was small but clean with laminate floors which wasn't great when the people upstairs were heavy footed. The beds were comfortable and there were extra pillows in the cupboard. Our room also had a safe and a small fridge. The bathrooms looked new and managed to fit everything into a very small space.
Reception staff were friendly and the breakfast had a selection of delicious croissants, bread and meat, tinned fruit and yoghurt and cereals. They even started breakfast early for us the morning we left.

Room Tip: We were in room 101, facing the lagoon but our windows were small so the view wasn't fantastic b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sooz322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

Lovely little hotel, my single room was small but it was clean, looked over the water and had everything I needed.

A stones throw away from the water buses, it's easy to get around...about 10/15 mins to San Marco (tho beware there are some very slooooow routes).

Staff are friendly, area very clean, good breakfast, nice outdoor area.

All in all I had a very pleasant stay, great value and would definitely recommend to others.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gemwho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lido di Venezia hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Panorama
Hotel Panorama
#2 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
817 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riviera Hotel
Riviera Hotel
#12 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
430 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Laguna
Villa Laguna
#7 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Venezia 2000 Hotel & Residence
Venezia 2000 Hotel & Residence
#6 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
561 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungaria
Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungari...
#3 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
888 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Boulevard Hotel
Le Boulevard Hotel
#9 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Giardinetto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Giardinetto

Property: Hotel Giardinetto
Address: Piazzale Santa Maria Elisabetta 3, 30126 Lido di Venezia, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Lido di Venezia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Lido di Venezia
#10 Family Hotel in Lido di Venezia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Giardinetto 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Completely renovated in March 2013, Hotel Giardinetto is situated on the peaceful island of Lido di Venezia and enjoys an enviable position. The lagoon view makes it an enchanting place to spend a relaxing or business holiday in the famous floating city, Venice. Hotel Giardinetto is centrally located in front of the terminal navigation and only 10 minutes by boat from Piazza San Marco and is easily accessible from all other major attractions. The hotel offers to guests a stylish and functional to the needs of both individuals and groups who want to take advantage of Venetian hospitality. The friendly and attentive staff is at your disposal to satisfy all your needs for leisure or work. Parking place, upon availabilty at Le Ville del Lido Residence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Fastbooking, Lastminute, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Giardinetto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Giardinetto Hotel Venice
Hotel Giardinetto Province Of Venice, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing