We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just a wonderful vacation,”
Review of Hotel Rigel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Rigel
Ranked #15 of 33 Hotels in Lido di Venezia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 August 2012

I have been on vacation in Venice ( Lido) and we stay at Rigel Hotel, it is clean,frendly and near by waterbuss station in Lido.
Staff is frendly, rooms is nice and clean and really relaxing hotel with a little garden.
lido is nice to stay when you are on vacation in Venice, beach is near by, and lovely restaurants, absolut one of my favorit place.

i`ll go back to Lido and Rigel

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annalena113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (340)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

132 - 138 of 340 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2012

Situated near the Vaporetto-station at Lido, it only takes 10 minutes with boat to central Venice. Fine rooms with beautiful details (beds, lamps, curtains), good breakfast in the garden, calm location but bars and shops nearby.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank klasherman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2012

Our room was on the small size but that seems to be the norm in Venice and Italy in general. The hotel is a bit dated but clean and comfortable. The street is very quiet however there are several cafes and restaurants not far from the hotel, a bit cheaper than in Venice proper.

The main Lido vaporetto stop is close by (we had no trouble walking there with our luggage) but not too close to get disturbed by the noise. The water buses for Venice island are frequent.

If you are going to stay on Lido I recommend to get an ACTV tourist travel card for the vaporetto (and some buses) as it will soon pay off with your daily journey(s) to and from Lido, and elsewhere. You can buy these also online at www.veniceconnected.com and retrive them from the machine at the vaporetto stop. You can get a 12-hour, 24-hour,… 7-day travel card (you can also choose to include airport transfers). Depending on the season, a discount is available if you buy online a week or more ahead.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Antipodean1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2012

I used this as a base for Venice on a short photo trip - it was near the waterbus and in a quiet location. Good service and the room was good value for money - I only booked a single and it was a decent size for the price.

Staff were very knowledgable and friendly.

Breakfast ok but plenty of it and tasty enough to start the day.

The hotel has a slightly dated charm which was a refeshing change from some of the modern tacky hotels nowadays. If I get the chance to go back to Venice and want good value for money this will be on my list.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2012

The Rigel is a nice, quaint little hotel in a quiet residential area on Lido island. We stayed there one night just to try something different from Venice. We were very happy to have done so, as we enjoyed Lido very much. The hotel is near the vaporetto, and also close to the main street with a lot of shops and restaurants, a very nice area. The beach is a little farther, but still within easy walking distance. There is a small lift, so you don't have to carry your luggage up the stairs. My only complaint is that our room was too small, but there was nothing wrong with the room itself. We were actually transferred there by another hotel we had a reservation at, due to some problem with some of the rooms at the original hotel. I don't know if the referring hotel ate some of the cost, but we were only charged 100 euros for the night, which seems like a great price for 4 people.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rfarrFromCal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2012

This hotel is a short walk away from the vaporetto stop at the Lido, and for the budget conscious traveller there are a number of reasonably priced restaurants in the neighborhood. A Billa supermarket is close by which definitely helps too. The location was quiet, the service at the front desk professional,and the breakfast was adequate but not outstanding. The service at breakfast can be erratic,very likely due to short-staffing. The room was average in size and equipped with two single beds(pushed together to make a double-not too comfy).The bathroom was well equipped, and everything was very clean.The miniature balcony would be adequate for a few plants but really is not suitable for anything else.If you seek relatively reasonable accommodation in a city that is notorious for its high prices,this hotel can be recommended. It is also quieter than a place right in the middle of Venice with its large tourist crowds. We did not mind the 15 minute boat(vaporetto) ride to Piazza San Marco.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CharlotteKelowna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2012 via mobile

Stayed here in May 2011 and stayed for 5 days. This hotel was overall a pleasure to stay at.
The staff are very helpful and friendly to the point that a girl on reception went well out of the way to get a lead for my girlfriends laptop as wouldn't work only to find she had to flick a switch on it.
The breakfasts are ok, basic continental with cooked meats pastries cereal and yogurt, highlight is the quality of the coffee and eating outside on the garden terrace.
The rooms are typical venetian style, very retro, in need of tidy here and there but were very clean and were cleaned more than possibly needed but standards must be high. We had a standard double and the size was too be expected, if want space to sit other than bed then go for upgraded room. There was a little balcony on room also which was nice to sit at, unfortunately not much of view other than other buildings and part of canal.
Location - decided to stay on Lido rather than Venice itself due to budget, don't think would get this quality of hotel on the main island for the price. very easy to get to and from main island and around lagoon as vaparetto stop is short walk from hotel. only problem is Lido seemed to shut up shot after 10 pm, this may be due to time want and if on height if season may be better.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank graemej80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lido di Venezia hotels
0.2 mi away
Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungaria
Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungari...
#3 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
924 reviews
0.6 mi away
Venezia 2000 Hotel & Residence
Venezia 2000 Hotel & Residence
#4 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
582 reviews
0.4 mi away
Residence Le Ville del Lido
Residence Le Ville del Lido
#1 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Pannonia
Hotel Villa Pannonia
#5 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
328 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel La Pergola di Venezia
Hotel La Pergola di Venezia
#19 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
361 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Panorama
Hotel Panorama
#2 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rigel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rigel

Address: Via Enrico Dandolo Lido 13 | Lido Di Venezia, 30126 Lido di Venezia, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Lido di Venezia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Lido di Venezia
Price Range: £43 - £165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Rigel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel Rigel, built in the 60's, is situated on one of the most important islands of Venice. Its importance and uniqueness are due to being the only one facing the Adriatic Sea on one side and on the other the basin of St. Mark's, just before the historical Square of St.Mark's, centre of the ancient Republic of Venice. Another characteristic that makes it unique, compared to all other islands of the Lagoon, is the possibility to reach it by car, avoiding problems and costs of car-parking either in Mestre (mainland) or at the Tronchetto (car-park). The hotel has 42 rooms on three floors connected by lift. The rooms nearly all have classical-style furnishings, are luminous, some with a small balcony and all with bathroom, shower, air conditioning, telephone with direct outside line, satellite TV, and a wireless internet connection. There is an internet point in the Hall. The Buffet breakfast is open from 7,00 to 10,00 a.M. In the breakfast room on the ground floor, while the restaurant is only open for organised groups. The hotel bar is open 24 hours a day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Rigel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rigel Hotel Venice
Hotel Rigel Province Of Venice, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing