We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel”
Review of Hotel Rigel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Rigel
Ranked #15 of 33 Hotels in Lido di Venezia
Certificate of Excellence
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good hotel”
Reviewed 26 September 2012

We stayed at the Rigel September 2012. The hotel was in a good position on Lido 10 minutes to beach and waterbus stop. It takes ten to twenty minutes to get to Venice depending on which stop you get off at. Our room was a good size with air con. The room was cleaned daily with fresh towels. The only downside is no safe in the room although you can put it in the hotel safe in reception which is open 24 hrs a day. Breakfast was the usual continental style which was a good start to the day. The staff were very helpful and friendly. I would recommend the Rigel to anyone staying here as it is a lovely Island to stay on after a long day sightseeing.

Room Tip: I would recommend getting a waterbus pass. We got one for a week it cost 50 Euros. I think you have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loopy327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    149
    60
    14
    13
See reviews for
60
147
30
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2012

Very convenient location for water bus, beach and local restaurants. Down a quiet side street. Rooms were average, paid extra for a superior room, but not sure that this is what we got. Breakfast was a complete waste of time, one morning even the bread was stale.
Reception staff on the whole were very efficient, friendly and helpful.
We had a brilliant time on he Lido and in Venice, if you want a budget hotel, this will do just fine.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frances41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level 6 Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2012

Not far from the vaporetto station and the public beach. Nice oldfashion hotel. Funny 60's design. Clean and quiet. Horrible breakfast though - better go somewhere else. There are many good cafes near the hotel with great coffee and delicious brioches.
Historic Venice is 15-20 minutes by vaporetto. Lido is charming and enjoyable. Come and see ))

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank asioto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2012

I have been on vacation in Venice ( Lido) and we stay at Rigel Hotel, it is clean,frendly and near by waterbuss station in Lido.
Staff is frendly, rooms is nice and clean and really relaxing hotel with a little garden.
lido is nice to stay when you are on vacation in Venice, beach is near by, and lovely restaurants, absolut one of my favorit place.

i`ll go back to Lido and Rigel

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annalena113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uppsala, Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
200 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2012

Situated near the Vaporetto-station at Lido, it only takes 10 minutes with boat to central Venice. Fine rooms with beautiful details (beds, lamps, curtains), good breakfast in the garden, calm location but bars and shops nearby.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank klasherman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Invercargill, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2012

Our room was on the small size but that seems to be the norm in Venice and Italy in general. The hotel is a bit dated but clean and comfortable. The street is very quiet however there are several cafes and restaurants not far from the hotel, a bit cheaper than in Venice proper.

The main Lido vaporetto stop is close by (we had no trouble walking there with our luggage) but not too close to get disturbed by the noise. The water buses for Venice island are frequent.

If you are going to stay on Lido I recommend to get an ACTV tourist travel card for the vaporetto (and some buses) as it will soon pay off with your daily journey(s) to and from Lido, and elsewhere. You can buy these also online at www.veniceconnected.com and retrive them from the machine at the vaporetto stop. You can get a 12-hour, 24-hour,… 7-day travel card (you can also choose to include airport transfers). Depending on the season, a discount is available if you buy online a week or more ahead.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Antipodean1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilkley
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2012

I used this as a base for Venice on a short photo trip - it was near the waterbus and in a quiet location. Good service and the room was good value for money - I only booked a single and it was a decent size for the price.

Staff were very knowledgable and friendly.

Breakfast ok but plenty of it and tasty enough to start the day.

The hotel has a slightly dated charm which was a refeshing change from some of the modern tacky hotels nowadays. If I get the chance to go back to Venice and want good value for money this will be on my list.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lido di Venezia hotels
0.6 mi away
Venezia 2000 Hotel & Residence
Venezia 2000 Hotel & Residence
#6 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
561 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Boulevard Hotel
Le Boulevard Hotel
#9 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
820 reviews
0.1 mi away
Atlanta Augustus
Atlanta Augustus
#14 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Panorama
Hotel Panorama
#2 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
817 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Helvetia
Hotel Helvetia
#26 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
363 reviews
0.1 mi away
Biasutti Hotel
Biasutti Hotel
#17 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rigel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rigel

Property: Hotel Rigel
Address: Via Enrico Dandolo Lido 13 | Lido Di Venezia, 30126 Lido di Venezia, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Lido di Venezia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Lido di Venezia
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Lido di Venezia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Rigel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel Rigel, built in the 60's, is situated on one of the most important islands of Venice. Its importance and uniqueness are due to being the only one facing the Adriatic Sea on one side and on the other the basin of St. Mark's, just before the historical Square of St.Mark's, centre of the ancient Republic of Venice. Another characteristic that makes it unique, compared to all other islands of the Lagoon, is the possibility to reach it by car, avoiding problems and costs of car-parking either in Mestre (mainland) or at the Tronchetto (car-park). The hotel has 42 rooms on three floors connected by lift. The rooms nearly all have classical-style furnishings, are luminous, some with a small balcony and all with bathroom, shower, air conditioning, telephone with direct outside line, satellite TV, and a wireless internet connection. There is an internet point in the Hall. The Buffet breakfast is open from 7,00 to 10,00 a.M. In the breakfast room on the ground floor, while the restaurant is only open for organised groups. The hotel bar is open 24 hours a day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Rigel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rigel Hotel Venice
Hotel Rigel Province Of Venice, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing