We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant and clean hotel for your family.”
Review of Hotel Rigel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Rigel
Ranked #15 of 33 Hotels in Lido di Venezia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 November 2012

What a find Lido is. If you get stressed by crowds, this is the place for you. It is a stone's throw from the hype of Venice but close enough to be close for the day visit. We found the accommodation options in Venice to be far out of our budget so, opted for Trip Advisor's recommendations and stayed at Rigel for one night. It was a good call.

The local trattorias along the main street offer good fresh food at a reasonable price. (Gelato bars too!) The beach is unusual, with many bathing houses lining the shore. It was a nice place to walk. The houses are well kept and the streets are pretty.

Our family of 4 was well accommodated in a smallish room but it was very clean and beds were comfy. The breakfast out in the small courtyard was very nice, the coffee is outstanding while the hot chocolates impressed our teens. The breakfast staff work very hard and were happy to provide coffee top ups.

Great value for money. It is more than we thought it was going to be. We recommend it.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BulldogsFans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (345)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

125 - 131 of 345 reviews

Reviewed 16 October 2012

If you are visiting Venice then I'd recommend staying on the Lido and not in the city itself. But I'd be hard pressed to recommend this hotel.

It's location is excellent as its only a very short walk to the water bus. The hotel itself on first appearances is ok but the room we stayed in for three nights was anything but. As soon as we entered the room we noticed a damp smell and reported it straight away. Later we were told they'd checked and everything was to their satisfaction only to find that on our last night when it was raining the window leaked and the carpet was wet.

Room Tip: Room 310 had a leaky window when rained which I'm sure the staff were aware of but pretended not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AdrianoMagliocco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2012

Found the hotel easily our room was small but beautifully furnished bathroom compact and well equipped room cleaned daily fresh towels. Breakfast good, fresh tablecloths put out for every diner lovely peaceful location sat on the little terrace with a bottle of wine in the sunshine in October in magical Venice heaven!Got the 72 hr water bus pass at Tourist information at Marco Polo airport used this many times really efficient and relaxing way to get round Venice.What a city this is, many people have the impression that it is not clean and a bit smelly but we found it to be the opposite in fact we kept getting the aroma of the flowers and food.A good time of year to visit as not overcrowded,all in all found hotel amazing value for money can't fault it.

Room Tip: room 102 quiet and sunny with little terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 207Marina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2012

The hotel is situation in a nice quiet location, clean and tidy, rooms nice had a balcony. Nice garden to sit out in. Breakfast was good, staff helpful, plenty of bars and cafes reasonably priced nearby, would recommend this hotel to anyo e looking for somewhere to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wendy j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2012 via mobile

I will have to be honest in my review and state my stay here was less than satisfactory.
I had planned a quite getaway with my partner to unwind but that was never going to happen in this hotel. The building is relatively clean but in need of refurb to bring it into the present era. The staff did there job but by no means over friendly or friendly for that matter.

A group of teenagers stayed in the room next to us and we could here there conversations and more till the early hours.5 am on one night before I could get sleep.i rang reception many times but no action was taken.

The location is not to far to the dock were you take the 15 to 20 mins boat trip to Venice's central st marco square at a cost of €13 daily return as far as I remember. Not many nice restauraunts or eaterys around this hotel.

Breakfast was alright but nothing to write home about... Look elsewhere in my opinion!

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dufferman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2012

We stayed at the Rigel September 2012. The hotel was in a good position on Lido 10 minutes to beach and waterbus stop. It takes ten to twenty minutes to get to Venice depending on which stop you get off at. Our room was a good size with air con. The room was cleaned daily with fresh towels. The only downside is no safe in the room although you can put it in the hotel safe in reception which is open 24 hrs a day. Breakfast was the usual continental style which was a good start to the day. The staff were very helpful and friendly. I would recommend the Rigel to anyone staying here as it is a lovely Island to stay on after a long day sightseeing.

Room Tip: I would recommend getting a waterbus pass. We got one for a week it cost 50 Euros. I think you have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank loopy327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2012

Very convenient location for water bus, beach and local restaurants. Down a quiet side street. Rooms were average, paid extra for a superior room, but not sure that this is what we got. Breakfast was a complete waste of time, one morning even the bread was stale.
Reception staff on the whole were very efficient, friendly and helpful.
We had a brilliant time on he Lido and in Venice, if you want a budget hotel, this will do just fine.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frances41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lido di Venezia hotels
0.2 mi away
Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungaria
Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungari...
#3 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
936 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Pannonia
Hotel Villa Pannonia
#4 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
330 reviews
0.4 mi away
Residence Le Ville del Lido
Residence Le Ville del Lido
#1 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Panorama
Hotel Panorama
#2 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
859 reviews
0.6 mi away
Venezia 2000 Hotel & Residence
Venezia 2000 Hotel & Residence
#6 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
584 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riviera Hotel
Riviera Hotel
#10 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rigel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rigel

Address: Via Enrico Dandolo Lido 13 | Lido Di Venezia, 30126 Lido di Venezia, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Lido di Venezia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Lido di Venezia
Price Range: £41 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Rigel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel Rigel, built in the 60's, is situated on one of the most important islands of Venice. Its importance and uniqueness are due to being the only one facing the Adriatic Sea on one side and on the other the basin of St. Mark's, just before the historical Square of St.Mark's, centre of the ancient Republic of Venice. Another characteristic that makes it unique, compared to all other islands of the Lagoon, is the possibility to reach it by car, avoiding problems and costs of car-parking either in Mestre (mainland) or at the Tronchetto (car-park). The hotel has 42 rooms on three floors connected by lift. The rooms nearly all have classical-style furnishings, are luminous, some with a small balcony and all with bathroom, shower, air conditioning, telephone with direct outside line, satellite TV, and a wireless internet connection. There is an internet point in the Hall. The Buffet breakfast is open from 7,00 to 10,00 a.M. In the breakfast room on the ground floor, while the restaurant is only open for organised groups. The hotel bar is open 24 hours a day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Nozio Netplan srl, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Rigel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rigel Hotel Venice
Hotel Rigel Province Of Venice, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing