We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonably priced hotel in an expensive city”
Review of Hotel Rigel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Rigel
Ranked #15 of 33 Hotels in Lido di Venezia
Certificate of Excellence
Matlock, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Reasonably priced hotel in an expensive city”
Reviewed 12 June 2013

Me and my mother booked to stay at this hotel from 04/06/13-11/06/13. When we arrived at the hotel we were told that basically we didn't have a room at the hotel for the first night due to an overbooking.

We were taken over to the Villa Delle Palme, just over the road which was a 3 star hotel like the Hotel Rigel and they booked us in for the night there and we were told to come back over to the Rigel in the morning so they could give us the rooms we were supposed to have. The rooms we got at the Villa Delle Palme were on par with those at the Rigel and if anything were slightly better as they had an in-room safe and a little fridge which we did not have at the Rigel.

Once we got into the Hotel Rigel we found the place to be clean and to the standard that we expected based on the information that we read about the hotel. The staff on the front desk were friendly and helpful and the breakfast room was well run and had a good selection. The Hotel does seem a little dated in places from the normal key locks to the décor though the décor does not seem too out of place in Venice.

The good thing about the hotel is that it is a short walk from the main Vaporetto stop on the Lido, there are numerous restaurants, cafes and a few bars nearby and there is also a small supermarket called Billa nearby for those going self-catering.

During our stay we had no real issues to report and the only time we needed to go to reception was to hand in the room keys before going out each day. This in itself is not a major issue but it is a little annoying though I have experienced this in other hotels in Italy so it is not something unique to the Hotel Rigel.

All in all we enjoyed our stay in the hotel and on the Lido and would consider staying here again.

Room Tip: Superior Singles are excellent for lone travellers who like a large bed but don't mind a small r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zebramanii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    149
    60
    14
    13
See reviews for
60
147
30
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Madikeri, India
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2013

the Rigel was surprisingly lovely. it is mins away from the vaporetti stop. there are restaurants close by breakfast is good and the small garden is pretty. one of our rooms was very small. we were travelling with our grown up children. lido is a great place to stay,

Room Tip: book the standard double
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ista660
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

I was not pleased with my experience here. I found the man at Reception to be rude when we checked-in and thereafter. Upon walking into our room, there were carpet stains all over, and I found ants within the first 10 minutes. When we asked reception about it, we were told "It's nature!". Sorry, I'm not camping, I don't want nature in my bed with me. You have to pay for everything - WiFi (which was spotty at best even in the reception area), even the maps had a price. We spent as little time as possible during our 3-day stay. Will not be returning.

Room Tip: Find a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mokie1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2013

Booked this hotel on advice of Tripadvisor and was not disappointed. Stayed 4 nights. Very friendly staff, who speak good English despite my poor attempt at Italian & they bend over backwards for you. The reception desk is open 24 hours. Basic but good rooms with a veranda & good En-suite facilities. There were a few bangs in the night & could hear guests if they came back in the early hours - that's if you're are a light sleeper. The hotel is set away from the main village so there is no traffic/general noise. Continental breakfast was good with plenty of choice & can eat indoors or in a pretty garden. Lido is a lovely island with a friendly atmosphere & have no problems staying here then hopping on a Waterbus into Venice.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karl E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2013

We stayed at the Rigel for 4 nights at the beginning of May. Overall a great hotel; friendly and helpful staff, a decent buffet breakfast every morning and all at a very reasonable price (considering that this is Venice). A couple of issues we had were that the air conditioning would not work. From what I could gather (slight language issues) the air con system hadn't been turned on yet for the summer, but it was very warm in the room unless we kept the doors onto the balcony open all night, allowing the mosquitos in for nightly feasts! Secondly, the bed was two singles attached together leaving a gap in the middle and the pillows were rather hard. Those negatives aside, definately a hotel worth staying at if you're visiting Venice and it was quite nice to get away from the swarms of tourists on the main island in the evenings.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2013

Very nice clean hotel in a quiet residential street on the Lido. Good buffet breakfasts and comfortable room with everything needed. Only problem was very hard uncomfortable pillows. We stayed here for 4 nights in late April 2013. We mainly chose this hotel for its position as we wanted a quiet retreat from the bustle of Venice, and it provided exactly that. The position near the vaporetto stop is very convenient.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fordshan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2013

We stayed at Hotel Rigel for 2 nights during our honeymoon trip around Italy. When booking our stay, we weren't sure if we would like staying in Lido as it is about a 10-15 minute water taxi ride from St Marks Square, Venice- but we are so happy we decided to stay here and in Lido. Lido is such a nice & charming place to stay! Hotel Rigel was warm, inviting, and very accommodating. The decor is cool, very 60's style. Our room was on the street side and had a lovely little balcony with french doors opening out onto it. They had a bottle of champagne waiting for us in our room too! The hotel is located only about a 5 minute walk from the Vaporetto station. We visited Venice for two days, and each night came back to have dinner in Lido at places the hotel staff recommended. Also, I would recommend taking a bike ride around Lido one day (they have a bike rental place near by), and there is a small beach on the island too! This is a great place to stay while visiting Venice, we would stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alise T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lido di Venezia hotels
0.6 mi away
Venezia 2000 Hotel & Residence
Venezia 2000 Hotel & Residence
#6 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
561 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Boulevard Hotel
Le Boulevard Hotel
#9 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
820 reviews
0.1 mi away
Atlanta Augustus
Atlanta Augustus
#14 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Helvetia
Hotel Helvetia
#25 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
363 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Panorama
Hotel Panorama
#2 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
819 reviews
0.1 mi away
Biasutti Hotel
Biasutti Hotel
#17 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rigel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rigel

Property: Hotel Rigel
Address: Via Enrico Dandolo Lido 13 | Lido Di Venezia, 30126 Lido di Venezia, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Lido di Venezia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Lido di Venezia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Rigel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel Rigel, built in the 60's, is situated on one of the most important islands of Venice. Its importance and uniqueness are due to being the only one facing the Adriatic Sea on one side and on the other the basin of St. Mark's, just before the historical Square of St.Mark's, centre of the ancient Republic of Venice. Another characteristic that makes it unique, compared to all other islands of the Lagoon, is the possibility to reach it by car, avoiding problems and costs of car-parking either in Mestre (mainland) or at the Tronchetto (car-park). The hotel has 42 rooms on three floors connected by lift. The rooms nearly all have classical-style furnishings, are luminous, some with a small balcony and all with bathroom, shower, air conditioning, telephone with direct outside line, satellite TV, and a wireless internet connection. There is an internet point in the Hall. The Buffet breakfast is open from 7,00 to 10,00 a.M. In the breakfast room on the ground floor, while the restaurant is only open for organised groups. The hotel bar is open 24 hours a day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Rigel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rigel Hotel Venice
Hotel Rigel Province Of Venice, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing