We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value indeed”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Rigel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Rigel
Ranked #14 of 33 Hotels in Lido di Venezia
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Great value indeed”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2010

This hotel is situated in Lido di Venezia, 5 minutes by foot from the ferries and 15 minutes by foot from the beach. The rooms are clean and airconditioned with a rather big bathroom with a good supply of towels etc. There were two balconies in our room. We paid 400 € for 5 nights in our family room (4 beds) including breakfast - great value indeed! Eating breakfast in the hotel was a true pleasure, excellent service and variety. The only things we missed in our room was an ironing board and ironer but it was said that it was not possible due to fire security. Also, the WiFi internet should be free in my opinion (paid 6 € for 3 hours) and should be possible to use in the room, not only in the lobby. Other than that, I cannot find anything bad to say about this hotel. A great find.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    144
    54
    14
    13
See reviews for
56
142
29
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
College Station, TX
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2010

This small, quiet hotel on the Lido, a short water taxi trip away from Venice, is lovely. The rooms are not chock full of amenities, but are clean and pleasant. The breakfast is wonderful -- great bread, cold cuts, cheese, yoghurt, fruit and cereal - don't expect an American breakfast, but why would you want one in Italy? There is a lovely patio to sit upon, and this hotel is only a block away from one of the promenades, worth a stroll all by itself. The staff is helpful, and speak English.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dianne95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2010

Well we have just returned from this hotel on Venice lido - great place to stay and the location of the hotel just off the main street. Clean hotel - great feel to the hotel. 3* and very Italian feel to it - faded elegance. Well worth a visit but try and request a balcony room - breakfast good, basic but all you need to set you up for the day - go and Enjoy!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gotorob-Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2010

We only stayed at this hotel because the better ones were booked up due to the Venice film festival. The long and short is that i wouldn’t stay here again. I could have over looked some of the bad points if it were cheaper but in the end your paying for the location with this one as its only five minutes to the locally shops etc and the bus boats into Venice.

Upstairs it reminded me of the hotel in the shining! The decor in the rooms was old fashioned and the whole place looked grubby. My room was dark, the AC didn’t work very well and no in-room safe. Breakfast was very poor the cereals tasted like cardboard.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Primary9000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2010

Do use this hotel for lower cost accomodation than on the main islands and a good nights sleep in a clean, comfortable room. Don't use it for convenience- more later. Being on the Lido, the hotel is cheaper than those in Venice itself which is exactly why we chose it. Just 5 minutes walk from the water bus stops with a frequent service to Venice access is easy but time consuming. From P le Roma bus station, where you will probably arrive in Venice, take the Line 1 Vapporetto (Waterbus) all the way down the grand canal and across the lagoon to Lido. We chose the 48 hour pass for 28 Euros each so you can hop on and off anywhere, on all numbered lines, so it is good value and saves time buying tickets. This will take about an hour. Other, slightly quicker routes are available but this is the prettiest way to start your hoilday.
On arrival, our initial impression was we had stepped back into the 60's with lots of 'brown' in reception. The staff were polite and, although we were early got us into our room an hour early. Not much in the way of facilities, not even a vending machine. No kettle in rooms. All tv is italian. But we just wanted somewhere clean and quiet to sleep and could not fault the Rigel for that.
DON'T use this hotel if you have an early flight to catch, especially from Treviso. Despite catching the 6:30am (first) water bus that would get us to the bus station in time for the 7:30 bus to Treviso on arrival we found the 7:30 bus does not run on Saturday, only a 6.50 bus which you cannot make in time from the Rigel. There are not any water taxis on Lido at that time as an alternative. Knowing we had a flight to catch the taxi driver charged 90 Euros. It is easy to misread the timetable and not spot the 7:30 - which has the Ryanair flight linked to it on the timetable, does not run on every Saturday. The timetable changes frequently so I cannot give an more specifis advice.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Essexpenguin56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2010

I and my husband have stayed there twice. The first time we stayed there in 2006 with my son, it was a pleasent hotel albeit with a very basic breakfast but hey we were in Italy! and if you wanted you could eat it outside and because we are smokers it was perfect for us as we could enjoy a cuppa with a ciggerette, (you smokers will understand what I mean!) and if you wanted more coffee you could have it. the staff that were there then were lovely, it had a bar downstairs and the staff would serve you drinks whenever you wanted one.

fast forward to 2008 and what a change.. the room we had was OK, the breakfast was the same, however, It was as if we were being rationed i.e. if you asked for more well the looks you got.. and as for having your breakfast outside forget it despite it being glourious weather.. that meant that they had to put the cushions on the chairs and the table cloths on the tables so no chance.. fair enough we let that go, however if you have been to Lido then you would know there really isn't a lot to do there on a night time if you don't want to catch the boat into Venice itself except relax and enjoy your surrounds, and what better way then to have a drink.. at your hotel, unlike last time, this time NO WAY.. the bar was never open, infact one of the nicer staff told us to go and buy a bottle of wine and gave us the glasses to drink out of! and do not get me started on the American School Parties.. that were coming and going all night. this hotel has gone down badly. I will never go there again.

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shell12London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2009

This hotel is terrible, and has so many things wrong with it that its almost the Italian Fawlty Towers. I dread to think what the poorer hotels in Venice must be like. Why it has a good rating on this website I can't imagine.

The issues I had included the following:
- a poorly maintained bathroom with an electrical fitting hanging loose and wires visible
- corridors that look like a prison, with horrible dated decor throughout the hotel
- a poor breakfast made of cheap food (such as the Tesco Value-style cornflakes)
- late arrivals checking in at 1 - 2am most days stayed there, often making a huge amount of noise. The walls are cardboard thick and so are the doors, plus the corridors echo and amplify any sounds.
- noisy rattling air conditioning at any speed, and sounding like it was about to break at top speed.
- No safes in the rooms to store your valuables in.
- Poor cleanliness of the towels and the bedsheets (not being washed thoroughly enoughed).

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frogcurry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lido di Venezia hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Pannonia
Hotel Villa Pannonia
#4 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
0.4 mi away
Residence Le Ville del Lido
Residence Le Ville del Lido
#1 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
0.6 mi away
Venezia 2000 Hotel & Residence
Venezia 2000 Hotel & Residence
#8 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Panorama
Hotel Panorama
#2 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 781 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riviera Hotel
Riviera Hotel
#12 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
0.6 mi away
Russo Palace Hotel
Russo Palace Hotel
#7 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rigel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rigel

Property: Hotel Rigel
Address: Via Enrico Dandolo Lido 13 | Lido Di Venezia, 30126 Lido di Venezia, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Lido di Venezia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Lido di Venezia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Rigel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel Rigel, built in the 60's, is situated on one of the most important islands of Venice. Its importance and uniqueness are due to being the only one facing the Adriatic Sea on one side and on the other the basin of St. Mark's, just before the historical Square of St.Mark's, centre of the ancient Republic of Venice. Another characteristic that makes it unique, compared to all other islands of the Lagoon, is the possibility to reach it by car, avoiding problems and costs of car-parking either in Mestre (mainland) or at the Tronchetto (car-park). The hotel has 42 rooms on three floors connected by lift. The rooms nearly all have classical-style furnishings, are luminous, some with a small balcony and all with bathroom, shower, air conditioning, telephone with direct outside line, satellite TV, and a wireless internet connection. There is an internet point in the Hall. The Buffet breakfast is open from 7,00 to 10,00 a.M. In the breakfast room on the ground floor, while the restaurant is only open for organised groups. The hotel bar is open 24 hours a day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Rigel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rigel Hotel Venice
Hotel Rigel Province Of Venice, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing