We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Helvetia
Ranked #27 of 33 Hotels in Lido di Venezia
Reviewed 2 May 2011

We just came back from visiting Venice. Staying at this hotel has certainly made the trip much more pleasant. First of all, it is less than 5 minute walk to the hotel after coming out from the Lido waterbus stop. That's a big plus, after seeing how some of the people needed to drag their lugguage up and down numerous bridges when staying at the main island.
Also, it is easy access to the beach which makes the children very happy.

The hotel room is big and it is comfortable for four of us staying in the room. The bathroom is very modern. After seeing some of the toilets in Rome and Venice, going back to the bathroom in the hotel is even a nice and relaxing experience.

The only thing I found a bit strange is the arrangement for the breakfast. I booked the family deal available on the hotel web site. When I went to breakfast on the first day, I was told that my booking did not allow us to have eggs and yogurt or I need to add extra 2 EURO. This is not what I expected and I couldn't remember seeing this on my booking. Given all the choices available, eggs and yogurt are literally the only two extra items excluded. We do feel that this makes it unnecessarily complicated.

We would recommend the hotel to include the costs for all inclusive breakfast. Given the 1 or 2 EURO differences in the hotel bill, that's minimum. Yet, when we were told about paying for this 1 or 2 EURO at the breakfast, it just seems a bit awkward.

Lastly, it is not just this hotel but other Italian hotels. They all expected the guests to leave the keys when we went out. We don't mind doing that. Yet, with young children, we at times need to go back to the hotel room many times before going sightseeing. Keep getting keys and returns keys seems to be a bit more work than necessary.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LovelyToGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (374)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

175 - 181 of 374 reviews

Reviewed 26 April 2011

we have just come back from a 3 night stay at the Helvetia. We were a group of 10 all in our mid 50,s to 60 and have travelled to many parts of the globe we all thought the Hotel was excellent .The rooms although small were spotless and all the staff were friendly and helpful. A special thankyou to the matradee at breakfast who tried very hard to seat us all at one table but was thwarted by inconsiderate customers, he was very apologetic. The Hotel is well situated on the Lido and a short walk to the beach where you can get nice wine and pizza. Venice is lovely but expensive £1.50 for a pee!! Staying on the Lido you have the best of both.

Room Tip: convenient location
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandrapow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2011

lovely little hotel with extremeley friendly and helpful staff. very convienient for the water bus stops to venice and the islands. Rooms are small but very adequet and clean fresh linen everyday will definately return

Room Tip: room at back of hotel quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vfreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2011

We have just come back from the Hotel Helvetia, from arriving to departing everything was stress free,which considering we were a party of seven was mainly due to the Hotel staff who were always helpful and friendly and ready to give advice .The location of the Hotel was perfect,very near the vapouretta stop but also a short stroll from the beach .The cleaniness of the Hotel was outstanding and we were asked on many occasions but the maids if we wer happy with our rooms.One of the many things about the Hotel which made our week special was the lovely garden which you can relax and have a glass or two of wine after a busy day in Venice .Many Thanks to everyone at the Hotel for making our holiday so special .

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leeds40ish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2011

just got back from venice and had a great time with my wife and another couple we where unsure of our travel arrangements booked through expedia but had a great time.
the rooms are small but are really clean and very comfortable the breakfast was ample and the staff very friendly the whole trip was great the water taxis where easy to use and the hotel is perfectly located for you to get all other venice, the beach is at the end of the road you can see st marks square from the hotel all be it from a distance but this ment you could get into the hustle and bustle of the city with ease yet get back to the hotel where it was more relazed would recomend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bills60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2011

When I reserved the hotel I read the breakfeast was included but when I arrived on hotel the breakfest was not included, the parking was expensive (15 euros/day), the A/C was not working and no one offered our water mineral as courtesy as I readed after and finally the WIFI was too expensive (18 EUROS by 20hours).
The hotel it's clean, very well located and the receptionists are too nice. The only problem really was the extra taxes ( breakfest, parking and wifi). There's a lot of places to eat near the hotel (breakfest, dinner, lunch), a good way it's buy a vaporetto's pass for the days ( all young people have a discount <30 years).
I would suggest for everyone try to find a hotel with wifi, breakfest and parking included, it's a best way.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank samzalak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HelvetiahotelVenezia, Manager at Hotel Helvetia, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2011

We thank the client for the compliments about hotel staff and the service. The client must have booked a room-only rate, in that case breakfast is not included in the price, as is written on the reservation. The WIFI costs Eur 12 for 20 hrs in our hotel, and not Eur 18 as the client reports here.
Best regards
Helvetia Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2011

Well situated and convenient to water taxis, restaurants, shops and public transportation. Hotel staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Our rooms were small but clean and well kept. Public areas were spacious and also well kept. There is also a lovely courtyard area with seating for breakfast. We especially appreciated that hotel guests have access to a private beach. We have stayed at other hotels on Lido but have never returned to them, but we look foward to staying at Hotel Helvetia again on our next trip to Lido.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EL23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HelvetiahotelVenezia, Manager at Hotel Helvetia, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2011

Dear El23,
Thank you and we look foward to hosting you. We do our best to make our guests feel at ease when in Venice, as to remember their stay with us and in this particular city as something fabulous. Best regards, Helvetia Concierge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lido di Venezia hotels
0.1 mi away
Biasutti Hotel
Biasutti Hotel
#17 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
364 reviews
3 mi away
Ca' del Moro Foresteria
Ca' del Moro Foresteria
#26 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
311 reviews
0.5 mi away
Venezia 2000 Hotel & Residence
Venezia 2000 Hotel & Residence
#4 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Pergola di Venezia
Hotel La Pergola di Venezia
#19 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
361 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riviera Hotel
Riviera Hotel
#9 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
447 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Giardinetto
Hotel Giardinetto
#12 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Helvetia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Helvetia

Address: Gran Viale 4, 30126 Lido di Venezia, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Lido di Venezia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Lido di Venezia
Price Range: £79 - £247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Helvetia 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A pretty hotel just a canal-hop from Venice, the Helvetia Hotel offers a break from the norm. Set down a leafy boulevard in the heart of Venice Lido, the Helvetia is a world away from your run-of-the-mill city hotel. Inside, it brims with Venetian flair and sophistication, while outside there’s a lovely flower-filled garden where you can enjoy al fresco breakfasts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Helvetia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Helvetia Hotel Venice
Hotel Helvetia Province Of Venice, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing