We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Less than 1 star hotel, bad in every possible way.”
Review of Hotel Helvetia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Helvetia
Ranked #25 of 33 Hotels in Lido di Venezia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Less than 1 star hotel, bad in every possible way.”
Reviewed 27 July 2012

Nothing good to say about this hotel. We were put in a smelly room, carpets filthy, I wore my socks only for 30 minutes and they were discus tingly stained from walking on carpet. Beds were saggy and smelt bad. You are not Llowed to eat or drink in room. Air conditioner faulty, breakfast bad. Worst part was attitude of rude and unpleasant staff. Hotel is 40 minutes from Venice main attractions. Wifi is €7 per hour! Don't stay here it is not even a two star hotel

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Richardclarke13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HelvetiahotelVenezia, Manager at Hotel Helvetia, responded to this review, 28 July 2012
Dear Richardclarke1,
It is strictly prohibited to bring food from outside and to consume it in the hotel's rooms. As far as the rest of your comment is concerned, we find it rather fantastic and we suggest you to try your luck in writing ficiton.

Best regards
Helvetia Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    149
    78
    32
    22
See reviews for
93
139
25
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2012

The beds in this hotel stink and sink intl the middle, our 4 nights here were like he'll on earth. The staff were rude and abusive when we asked to change rooms or hotels because I have undergone signal recOnstruction. They did not have any compassion. The halls smell of smoke , the carets stink and badly need replacing. The hotel is 30 minutes by boat to the closest. Attraction in Venice. The breakfast was awful,, after you eat the yougat they resent you with a € 2 bill. Wifi is not free they charge € 6 pee hour. Rooms dirty and smelly. Nothing good to say about this hotel. Avoid this hotel , book at your own peril.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Marellalouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HelvetiahotelVenezia, Manager at Hotel Helvetia, responded to this review, 27 July 2012
Dear Marellalouise,
We are really sorry that you have not enjoyed your stay with us in Venice. OnTripAdvisor so many guests have written that they have enjoyed our lovely hotel, lovely Lido of Venice, its sandy beaches and of course Venice itself. We really do care about every client and pay attention to every single detail: we are thoroughly sorry you have not enjoyed.
We hope you will read our answer and maybe contact us to better understand how we can further assist you.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lido di Venezia hotels

Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2012

Just retuned from four nights at this hotel, with our teenage children (16 and 18). Taking a big risk (in many ways) I booked a quadruple room and crossed my fingers it would be spacious and comfortable for us. Thankfully the risk paid off and we had two single beds and two z-beds in a perfectly ample sized room which was cleaned daily. The bathroom was also a good size, and plenty of storage in the bedroo. Air conditioning was v efficient which helped as it was very hot. If you are planning a similar family trip ask for room 42, on the third floor. Otherwise the hotel was fine, reasonable, and breakfast ok. Staff were helpful. The Lido was a welcome relief from the bustling crowds and heat we experienced in Venice itself. We found two nice restaurants within a stones throw from the hotel and there are some good shops - shoes, clothes, glass, supermarket etc. The beach is at the end of the road (10 min walk) - 21 euro for an umbrella, two beds and use of loos and showers. Well worth it to avoid coping with sand in everything and limited shade elsewhere. Overall, I would recommend staying on the Lido for value for money, cool breezes and generally less chaotic than Venice itself.

Room Tip: Room 42 on third floor was away from the road and a good size for our family of four.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bee66186390
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2012

Stayed here for 4 days had a good time beds comfy room nice small but nice, hotel is 1 min away from the vapporetto station and also 14 min bus ride to the haunted island of poveglia just south of the hotel...the only down side was the breakfest u had to pay extra for eggs and even ice but other then that good time will defiantly go back

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Markbaroudi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
152 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

The hotel is located just a minutes walk from the Vaporetto stop. The rooms were decent size and extremely clean. The rooms have air conditioning. Breakfast was included and was decent. The staff was really helpful. My wife was pregnant and they went out of the way to make our stay as good as possible. There are many restaurants nearby. I would definitely recommend this hotel. Nothing at fault and real value for money.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelleruk27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fremont, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012

First off, this hotel is located on Lido (look it up on the vaporetto map if you're confused- http://www.venice.nu/vapmap/vapomapLatest.jpg). It is not the typical Venice main area you're imagining with the gondolas and it is not close to the train station. I don't know if we took the wrong vaporetto line the first time to get to Lido, but it took us over an hour; they closed off some vaporetto lines that day for some reason. From the Lido island back to the train station was 40 mins on the vaporetto (Venice's public transportation system with ferries as opposed to buses).
Lido is like Venice's beach scene island. Hotel Helvetia is located on Lido, right next to the Lido vaporetto stop (that puts this hotel in a super convenient location like the other reviews mention). The hotel itself is clean, quaint, and reasonable. It outsources its internet, which you pay like 10 euros (?) for a certain number of hours. Don't buy the internet. It doesn't work in your room and only works a tad bit more in the lobby area. When I asked the reception about the horrible internet and wanting a refund, they told me to email their internet provider. Great...

I didn't get the breakfast included (thankfully) but my friend did and she said it was overrated (she said you had to pay extra for eggs or something?). I wouldn't mind staying again at Helvetia because it was clean and I like Lido. I was just caught off-guard about Lido's distance from the train station and the lack of internet.

If you're staying at Helvetia or on Lido, you should rent bikes (cheap and fun).

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanna Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Narrogin, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2012

This is a very comfortable hotel on Lido Island in Venice. I was expecting trouble to get to the hotel, but it is only a few metres away from the watertaxi wharf, and the taxis run very frequently. The room, reception and breakfast were great. I would always stay at this hotel in Venice.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dant_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lido di Venezia hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Rigel
Hotel Rigel
#14 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
327 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Pergola di Venezia
Hotel La Pergola di Venezia
#17 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
340 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riviera Hotel
Riviera Hotel
#13 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Belvedere
Hotel Belvedere
#26 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
59 reviews
0.2 mi away
Atlanta Augustus
Atlanta Augustus
#15 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
275 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Cristallo -- Lido
Hotel Cristallo -- Lido
#19 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Helvetia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Helvetia

Property: Hotel Helvetia
Address: Gran Viale 4, 30126 Lido di Venezia, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Lido di Venezia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Lido di Venezia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Helvetia 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A pretty hotel just a canal-hop from Venice, the Helvetia Hotel offers a break from the norm. Set down a leafy boulevard in the heart of Venice Lido, the Helvetia is a world away from your run-of-the-mill city hotel. Inside, it brims with Venetian flair and sophistication, while outside there’s a lovely flower-filled garden where you can enjoy al fresco breakfasts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Helvetia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Helvetia Hotel Venice
Hotel Helvetia Province Of Venice, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing