We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok type!!”
Review of Hotel Helvetia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Helvetia
Ranked #25 of 33 Hotels in Lido di Venezia
Level Contributor
164 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Ok type!!”
Reviewed 4 September 2012

Little pricey for what you get. I would book this atleast for the location. It's just 5-10 mins walk to the Lido beach and the locale is strewn with lots of hotels and grabbing something is very easy. The bathrooms were neat but too crampy. But it was decent and the reception people were very helpful and gave ideas to see places and stuff. So not a bad deal except for the cramped room and bath.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank d_world12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    149
    78
    32
    22
See reviews for
93
139
25
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
Level Contributor
89 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2012

I booked a single room and expected it to be small but I did not expect something the size of a broom cupboard under the stairs. There are 4 floors in this hotel but the lift only services the first 3. My room was on the third floor, tucked under the stairs leading to the 4th floor, which seamed to house either backpackers or staff - whatever, it was quite noisy. Added to the noise was the sound of water running loudly every 3 or 4 minutes, 24 hours a day, caused I think by the air conditioning. There was also a dumb-waiter outside my bedroom door, used from early in the morning by the housekeeping staff. However, the biggest disappointment was the lack of a fridge in the room. I stayed in 7 hotels on this trip and this was the only hotel that didn't have in-room fridges. Very surprising considering the climate - the temperatures were up around 36-38C in the day and 25-28C overnight. The cold water tap ran very hot for several minutes and never produced any water cool enough to drink.

The best thing about this hotel is the location, just 100m away from the boat piers. With my Venice Card it made it very easy to get to all parts of Venice without trouble, and there's even a boat directly to the airport once an hour. The local shopping centre is lively with lots of good eating places, but coming from NZ where all beaches are free, I wouldn't give you tuppence for the overcrowded, expensive beaches at the Lido!

As for the staff, most were very friendly and helpful. However, the housekeeping staff took it upon themselves to throw away a water bottle I had left on the table. When I pointed out to the reception staff that it was not up to cleaning staff to decide what was rubbish and what was not, I was given a sneer and something muttered under his breath as he turned and walked away.

The buffet breakfast selection is small but adequate. There is a notice that says yoghurt and boiled eggs are not included in the continental breakfast price and are charged extra, but I had yoghurt every morning and was not charged any extra.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NZTraveller666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lido di Venezia hotels

Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2012

Nothing good to say about this hotel. We were put in a smelly room, carpets filthy, I wore my socks only for 30 minutes and they were discus tingly stained from walking on carpet. Beds were saggy and smelt bad. You are not Llowed to eat or drink in room. Air conditioner faulty, breakfast bad. Worst part was attitude of rude and unpleasant staff. Hotel is 40 minutes from Venice main attractions. Wifi is €7 per hour! Don't stay here it is not even a two star hotel

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Richardclarke13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HelvetiahotelVenezia, Manager at Hotel Helvetia, responded to this review, 28 July 2012
Dear Richardclarke1,
It is strictly prohibited to bring food from outside and to consume it in the hotel's rooms. As far as the rest of your comment is concerned, we find it rather fantastic and we suggest you to try your luck in writing ficiton.

Best regards
Helvetia Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2012

The beds in this hotel stink and sink intl the middle, our 4 nights here were like he'll on earth. The staff were rude and abusive when we asked to change rooms or hotels because I have undergone signal recOnstruction. They did not have any compassion. The halls smell of smoke , the carets stink and badly need replacing. The hotel is 30 minutes by boat to the closest. Attraction in Venice. The breakfast was awful,, after you eat the yougat they resent you with a € 2 bill. Wifi is not free they charge € 6 pee hour. Rooms dirty and smelly. Nothing good to say about this hotel. Avoid this hotel , book at your own peril.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Marellalouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HelvetiahotelVenezia, Manager at Hotel Helvetia, responded to this review, 27 July 2012
Dear Marellalouise,
We are really sorry that you have not enjoyed your stay with us in Venice. OnTripAdvisor so many guests have written that they have enjoyed our lovely hotel, lovely Lido of Venice, its sandy beaches and of course Venice itself. We really do care about every client and pay attention to every single detail: we are thoroughly sorry you have not enjoyed.
We hope you will read our answer and maybe contact us to better understand how we can further assist you.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2012

Just retuned from four nights at this hotel, with our teenage children (16 and 18). Taking a big risk (in many ways) I booked a quadruple room and crossed my fingers it would be spacious and comfortable for us. Thankfully the risk paid off and we had two single beds and two z-beds in a perfectly ample sized room which was cleaned daily. The bathroom was also a good size, and plenty of storage in the bedroo. Air conditioning was v efficient which helped as it was very hot. If you are planning a similar family trip ask for room 42, on the third floor. Otherwise the hotel was fine, reasonable, and breakfast ok. Staff were helpful. The Lido was a welcome relief from the bustling crowds and heat we experienced in Venice itself. We found two nice restaurants within a stones throw from the hotel and there are some good shops - shoes, clothes, glass, supermarket etc. The beach is at the end of the road (10 min walk) - 21 euro for an umbrella, two beds and use of loos and showers. Well worth it to avoid coping with sand in everything and limited shade elsewhere. Overall, I would recommend staying on the Lido for value for money, cool breezes and generally less chaotic than Venice itself.

Room Tip: Room 42 on third floor was away from the road and a good size for our family of four.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bee66186390
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2012

Stayed here for 4 days had a good time beds comfy room nice small but nice, hotel is 1 min away from the vapporetto station and also 14 min bus ride to the haunted island of poveglia just south of the hotel...the only down side was the breakfest u had to pay extra for eggs and even ice but other then that good time will defiantly go back

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Markbaroudi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
152 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

The hotel is located just a minutes walk from the Vaporetto stop. The rooms were decent size and extremely clean. The rooms have air conditioning. Breakfast was included and was decent. The staff was really helpful. My wife was pregnant and they went out of the way to make our stay as good as possible. There are many restaurants nearby. I would definitely recommend this hotel. Nothing at fault and real value for money.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelleruk27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lido di Venezia hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Rigel
Hotel Rigel
#14 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
327 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Pergola di Venezia
Hotel La Pergola di Venezia
#17 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
340 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riviera Hotel
Riviera Hotel
#13 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Belvedere
Hotel Belvedere
#26 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
59 reviews
0.2 mi away
Atlanta Augustus
Atlanta Augustus
#15 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
275 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Cristallo -- Lido
Hotel Cristallo -- Lido
#19 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Helvetia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Helvetia

Property: Hotel Helvetia
Address: Gran Viale 4, 30126 Lido di Venezia, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Lido di Venezia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Lido di Venezia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Helvetia 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A pretty hotel just a canal-hop from Venice, the Helvetia Hotel offers a break from the norm. Set down a leafy boulevard in the heart of Venice Lido, the Helvetia is a world away from your run-of-the-mill city hotel. Inside, it brims with Venetian flair and sophistication, while outside there’s a lovely flower-filled garden where you can enjoy al fresco breakfasts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Helvetia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Helvetia Hotel Venice
Hotel Helvetia Province Of Venice, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing