We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small but adequate”
Review of Hotel Helvetia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Helvetia
Ranked #25 of 33 Hotels in Lido di Venezia
Seattle
Level Contributor
118 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Small but adequate”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

This lovely but old-fashioned hotel is located in a most convenient place, just 1/2 block from the ferry terminal on Lido Island. Leaving the hotel, one turns to the left to get to the ferry terminal, to the right to walk a few blocks to the beach, or nearby for plenty of shops and eating establishments. The staff became friendly and helpful after registering. Breakfast was especially good. Rooms are small, but what more does one need if one is there to sightsee and not stay in a hotel room all day. Ferry boat to the main part of Venice is about a 20-minute ride. Take advantage of multi-day ferry tickets, costing less than individual one-way only tickets.

Room Tip: Different size rooms with various numbers of beds. Request what you need.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    149
    77
    32
    22
See reviews for
93
139
25
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Motherwell
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Booked this hotel through Expedia. Arrived on Mon 2nd June 2014, expecting to stay for 11 nights. Amazingly, breathtakingly rude front desk staff member advised the booking had been cancelled. End of.

Room Tip: Jut don't book this hotel through Expedia...Rumour on the Lido streets has it that Helvetia has...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EmmjayMotherwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HelvetiahotelVenezia, Manager at Hotel Helvetia, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear EmmjayMotherwell,
Your reservation was cancelled months ago for the incorrect credit card and you never produced a valid one either to the hotel or the internet provider with whom you originally booked. The day of check-in the reception staff explained to you the status of your reservaiton and offered you two rooms for five days instead, what you refused and went to look for accomodation in another hotel.
We do not understand why you have decided to lie on Tripadvisor. Can you be so kind to explain it?
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lido di Venezia hotels

Colchester
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

Brilliant hotel. Spotlessly clean and well cared for. It has a kind of retro charm of its own. So convenient for the vaporetto stop and lovely to come back to Lido after a day sightseeing in Venice. Perfect. I have stayed before in one of the smaller rooms which was very good value and this time had a larger room on the top floor. Comfortable bed, good shower and excellent air con. Breakfast was fine. Already planning another visit.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Crackers88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

The Helvetia is conveniently located very close to the Lido Vaporetto stop, which takes about 15mins to San Marco Square (although around a hour to the railway station or the airport).

The hotel's lobby and bar area looks quite old fashioned but is quite charming in a way.

The reception staff are a bit brusque (as is the Italian way) but very helpful and organised.

Our room on the first floor was fairly small but immaculately clean, as was the bathroom. We had a view over a neighbouring apartment block which wasn't very picturesque but was very quiet. Other members of our party had rooms on the front of the hotel which had a great sea view, but were quite noisy as there is quite a bit of roadworks going on at this current time.

The room was quite hot in May and the air conditioning was not working, although there is a large ceiling fan which more or less did the job.

It's not a luxury hotel, but feels very much like a family-run real Italian establishment and is far cheaper than staying in the main part of Venice.

There are lots of small bars and restaurants nearby which are very good value for money. The beach is also about 10-15mins walk away.

Room Tip: Ask if the roadworks outside are complete, if so stay on the front side for a sea view. Or the left...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank theshapeofthings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

I stayed at the Hotel Helvetia in Lido for 4 nights in May 14 after reading the decent reviews about it on trip advisor.

Location - The hotel is in a brilliant location just a minutes walk from the water bus that has links to the airport or a 10 minute ride into St marks square. It is also on a main street with a decent amount of places to eat, and a few minutes walk from a cute beach.

Breakfast - Breakfast was included and pleasant. It was the usual things to expect like yoghuts, cornflakes, croissants, eggs, orange juice, etc...Dont expect a full cooked breakfast, but for us it was perfect. The breakfast staff are also very hardworking and nice.

The room - A nice surprise as I wasnt expecting much, but the bathroom was brand new and the room was a nice size and clean.

The Staff - The Ladies on staff are absoultely amazing. They are super helpful, very smiley and very happy to help, and they are one of the things that make this hotel brilliant. The young guy that works there seems a bit miserable, but we didnt have much interaction with him so it might not be fair to say.

The let down - I didnt really want to mention this part, but I feel it imporant. On the last night when I was packing my things back up, I noticed that my blue jumper was missing. Me and my boyfriend searched high and low, re-tipped our suitcases twice but couldnt find it. Now I dont like to accuse anyone of being a thief, but I know this jumper was taken as It was the one I wore when I first arrived, I had placed it over the chair, and I had no intention of wearing it until I left (It was my travel jumper) so it never left the room at anypoint after arrival. I called reception and asked if my jumper was maybe accidentally taken off with a towel (as I still didnt want to accuse anyone) and they just confirmed what I thought in that it all the towels are white and my jumper would have been obvious as it was dark blue.

Summary - This is really a wonderful hotel in a great location, with amazing staff. Dont let it put you off to stay here, on the account of one housekeeper, but my advice is to keep things locked up in your suitcase so you wont have any problems while you are out.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blossom14153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HelvetiahotelVenezia, Manager at Hotel Helvetia, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Blossom 14,

Thank you for staying with us and thank you for such a long detailed review of our hotel. We are sorry that you have lost your jumper. Our governess is absolutely sure that it has not been moved from your room, and we suppose you might have lost during an exciting day it in the beautiful city of Venice. We have a Lost & Found Office that has sent the lost items to our clients for years.
We look forward to hosting you again
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

The location is quite good; close to the bus stop and water bus station. Breakfast was very nice and substantial. Lobby is a formal Victorian style. Rooms are very small. Our bathroom was recently upgraded and nicely done. I thought the price fairly steep considering room size and condition. Daytime staff not friendly.(Probably should exit the service industry.) Evening staff was great. Largest complaint was the horribly stained and filthy carpet. Very bad. Also, the bed was worn out but clean and sufficient for a night. Air conditioning was not working and it was a muggy/warm night. Lamp shade was badly stained. Also, beware of a 'local tax' they spring on you when you check in. Payable at checkout, cash only. With a few simple upgrades and lower price, this could be a really nice hotel. Next time I will try a different option.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lbeckman2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HelvetiahotelVenezia, Manager at Hotel Helvetia, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Ibeckman2,

Thank you staying in our hotel and thank you for a great compliment of our formal Victorian style lobby. Our hotel has been open for more than 100 years, and we have different types of rooms, from new economy rate rooms for the special needs of a modern and quick clientele, to spacious superior and deluxe rooms for clients who sojourn longer in Venice and prefer to stay more comfortable. From your description we assume you had a reservation for an economy rate room. We are glad you have appreciated the newly upgraded bathroom. The economy rooms are small sized (16 sqm approx.) and possess all the amenities like standard rooms, but from your picturesque description they look like a scene from some Hollywood movie. Our hotel has been known for cleanliness and pedantry, we are sorry you have not enjoyed fully. The city tax has been very new in our city, but it is necessary to uphold the economy of this magnificent old city, and that all the clients have to settle upon departure in cash. We are glad you want to come back again to visit our hotel, and we hope to host you again soon in a superior accomodiation.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Croatia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

For Lido di Jesolo, this is a good hotel, modern and with accommodating staff. The minuses: Rooms are still quite small even for a family room, which by the way has two rooms, but no door between (something not clear from the advertisement). TV does not have any English programming if this is needed by guests. The positive points to remember: The breakfast was really lovely, one of the best as a frequent traveler that I have had in a long time, and my son thoroughly enjoyed it before a long day in Venice.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kdeCroatia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lido di Venezia hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Rigel
Hotel Rigel
#14 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
327 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riviera Hotel
Riviera Hotel
#13 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
416 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Pergola di Venezia
Hotel La Pergola di Venezia
#17 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Atlanta Augustus
Atlanta Augustus
#15 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
275 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Belvedere
Hotel Belvedere
#26 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
59 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Cristallo -- Lido
Hotel Cristallo -- Lido
#19 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Helvetia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Helvetia

Property: Hotel Helvetia
Address: Gran Viale 4, 30126 Lido di Venezia, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Lido di Venezia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Lido di Venezia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Helvetia 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A pretty hotel just a canal-hop from Venice, the Helvetia Hotel offers a break from the norm. Set down a leafy boulevard in the heart of Venice Lido, the Helvetia is a world away from your run-of-the-mill city hotel. Inside, it brims with Venetian flair and sophistication, while outside there’s a lovely flower-filled garden where you can enjoy al fresco breakfasts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Helvetia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Helvetia Hotel Venice
Hotel Helvetia Province Of Venice, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing