We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal location”
Review of Hotel Helvetia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Helvetia
Ranked #27 of 33 Hotels in Lido di Venezia
Reviewed 23 July 2010

Fantastic location. On the main street, minutes from the vaparetto. Breakfast is ample and is served outside in the courtyard, which is lovely and cool despite the scorching weather. Had a room with a balcony which was large considering the price we paid. Spent all day on the private beach which was quiet compared to the public beach. Just one last thing - all the staff were friendly and helpful, which made a refreshing change.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (374)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

200 - 206 of 374 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2010

The hotel was 3 minutes away from the vaporetto stops so this made it very covenient. The rooms and the bathrooms were large and comfortable. The staff was nice and helpful. Breakfast in the garden was nice. Plenty to eat.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lorimu1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2010

The one sentence says it all. Excellent location near to Vaporetto stops. Clean, tidy, nice rooms and friendly staff at a very reasonable price for the area. We had a weeks pass for the transport system and made full use of it to Venice (8 minutes), Murano, Burano etc. Continental breakfast was fine especially the coffee with hot milk. Will certainly be returning in the future probably with friends.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Realityracer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2010

Friendly and attentive staff, always willing to help. We booked a superior room and had a bowl of fresh fruit and mineral water every day - very welcome when returning from a hard day's sightseeing! The fruit disappeared after the first day, but as soon as we told them that it was meant to be every day, they were very apologetic and we immediately got a fresh supply, and thereafter every day. Bathroom was very modern and buffet breakfast as you would expect - plentiful but no hot food except scrambled egg if you were early enough. The breakfast went on to 10.30 a.m. so never any rush, and eating out in the patio courtyard was lovely. Very convenient for the varporetto stop, beach and various restaurants, many of which had a 2 course tourist menu at a reasonable cost. Wine also a lot cheaper than in the restaurants in main Venice. We had a very pleasant stay and could find no bad points.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank purlywhirly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2010

Another lovely stay at the Hotel Helvetia, on Venice Lido. Much nicer than staying in the crowds, but only 10 minutes across the lagoon to St. Mark's Square. It's like 2 holidays in one. The staff at the Helvetia are so friendly, and always have time to answer your questions. The place is immaculate, and it was delightful having breakfast in the garden this time. Looking forward to my next visit!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pauline777Yorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2010

My wife and I really enjoyed 2 days pre and post cruise at this Hotel. The location provides a quiet and relaxed base and easy access to the tourist hot spots. Lido and the area adjacent to the hotel is clean, safe and has a relaxed,seaside feel. The staff at the Hotel were friendly,helpful and welcoming. Our room on the 4th floor was clean, well maintained and comfortable. The hotel has a quaint, old world charm and the staff seemed justifiably proud of its 3 star status. Breakfast was provided in a lovely dining room and again the service was friendly and warm. Although not a huge selection there was always plenty to eat and it was fresh and nicely presented. We would certainly recommend this friendly hotel to those looking for a good value, comfortable option out of the hussle and bustle but with good access.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BoonyPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2010

My partner and I stayed here for 4 nights in May. We booked a prepaid non-refundable double room online through their website for about 75€ per night including breakfast.

Our reason for visiting Venice was to go kayaking and our trips left from the Lido so we only searched for hotels on that island. Helevtia's prices were very competitive and the included breakfast made it one of the least expensive options.

We were a day late arriving because we missed our train from Paris, so arrived at the hotel around 10:30AM. We were offered breakfast (which is served until 10:30AM in the dining room) before checking in. The breakfast was very good; continental style with eggs, cold cuts, cheese, preserves, fruit, yoghurt, cereal, juices, tea and coffee... The dining room staff were very friendly and the selection of foods was good.

Our room was on the second floor. It was small but comfortable, the bathroom was quite large with shower and bidet. Room was quiet, especially with patio door and shutters closed.

The front desk staff were helpful, giving us some restaurant recommendations and transit info. We got to know them quite well as you must leave your room key at the desk when you go out!

The location is great, right on the main street (it's not a very busy street!) and only about 2 blocks from the vaporetto stops. I would recommend, especially if you are able to book in advance and pre-pay.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Capella161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lido di Venezia hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel La Pergola di Venezia
Hotel La Pergola di Venezia
#19 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
356 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Rigel
Hotel Rigel
#15 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
336 reviews
0.6 mi away
Venezia 2000 Hotel & Residence
Venezia 2000 Hotel & Residence
#5 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Biasutti Hotel
Biasutti Hotel
#17 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
358 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cristallo -- Lido
Hotel Cristallo -- Lido
#22 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
257 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Boulevard Hotel
Le Boulevard Hotel
#11 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Helvetia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Helvetia

Address: Gran Viale 4, 30126 Lido di Venezia, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Lido di Venezia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Lido di Venezia
Price Range: £80 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Helvetia 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A pretty hotel just a canal-hop from Venice, the Helvetia Hotel offers a break from the norm. Set down a leafy boulevard in the heart of Venice Lido, the Helvetia is a world away from your run-of-the-mill city hotel. Inside, it brims with Venetian flair and sophistication, while outside there’s a lovely flower-filled garden where you can enjoy al fresco breakfasts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Helvetia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Helvetia Hotel Venice
Hotel Helvetia Province Of Venice, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing