We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value for money”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Helvetia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Helvetia
Ranked #28 of 33 Hotels in Lido di Venezia
Moscow, Russia
1 review
“Good value for money”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2010

A very nice and comfortable hotel, located just at vaporetto station. The staff is helpful and kind. Hope to stay there once again!

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnaRomanova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    146
    77
    31
    22
See reviews for
93
136
25
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Little Sutton, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2010

Really good trip - Easy hotel to find - straight off vaporetto on Lido. Clean efficient room with good service. Breakfast was as you expect in this type of hotel - but was fine. I would stay here again any time I was going to Venince Lido

It was a short walk to the beach which was really good. We walked for miles along the seashore and stopped at beachside cafe for lunch...... bellissimo!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisW1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florianopolis, Brasil
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2010

The location was great: just 1 min walking until the vaporetto station and the price was reasonable and much cheaper than the hotels located near the Grand Canal.
The room was clean and confortable. There was a bathtube, which was relaxing after walking the whole day.
The staff at the reception was polite, BUT I have to say that I really disliked the treatment one day during the breakfast. It was a little past 10 am (note that the breakfast is until 10:30 pm!), but they started to clear the table, colecting the food and turned off the lights. It was very unpleasant. But demanding this type of kindness maybe is too much in Italy, where they seem not to have good manners classes at school... a shame.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Virginia_Brasil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HelvetiahotelVenezia, Manager at Hotel Helvetia, responded to this review, 21 October 2010
Dear Virginia_Brasil,
Thank you for your constructive comment. We are going to check and strongly protest with our breakfast hall about this. Our breakfast hall is open from 07:00-10:30, and must accomodate and serve guests even if the guest enters the hall at 10:29.
Best regards, Helvetia Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2010

Nice hotel, clean, 1min away from the ferry, great staff and very good price. Would easily recommend it to my friends.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aragorn53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trondheim, Norway
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2010

Me and the Mrs stayed for 3 nights. The hotel was perfect for us, good location, easy to find (important if you don't know the city!), good breakfast, the room and bathroom was large enough and the hotel service was excellent. Even if the hotel is situated on Lido and not in the main city, the location is very good. Only 10-12 minutes with the vaporetto to St. Marco. (Maybe 15 min).
We loved to stay there and would like to come back some day.
We had a Superior room

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paal_Kielland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2010

Clean but small room. Bathroom extremly small but the shower was a good size. Staff very helpfull and friendly. Good location to the ferry stop only 1 min walk. Advisable to get the day pass. We stayed for 3 days and got the 3 day ferry pass for 33 euro well worth it as used the ferry a lot. Otherwise the ferry would be 6.50 per trip. Overall a very nice friendly and clean hotel.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank monkeysocks78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2010

We only looked for hotels on the Lido as out kayak tours we had booked left from there and we needed to be close by. Our worry about not being right in Venice were totally unfounded as the hotel is very accessible by vaporetto - you can see it right from the main Lido Vaporetto stop and the walk is no more than 2 minutes. The 10 min trip into the heart of Venice became routine after we purchased the weeks pass and seeing Venice from the water all the time added to the experience.

Our triple rooms was clean, comfortable with a great bathroom and eventhough it faced the main boulevard during the main summer season we had no trouble sleeping. Sure you hear the odd street noise or people walking by, but with windows and shutters closed it is not a problem. We had a great view right over the lagoon too.

The breakfast under the beautiful canopy of vines in the courtyard was one of our favourites and a great way to start the day.
All staff was helpful and friendly and always happy to assist.

Staying here was like a beach, summer vacation and a city break all in one and we would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SteveIngridPeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lido di Venezia hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Giardinetto
Hotel Giardinetto
#15 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Rigel
Hotel Rigel
#14 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riviera Hotel
Riviera Hotel
#12 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Pergola di Venezia
Hotel La Pergola di Venezia
#18 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
0.5 mi away
Venezia 2000 Hotel & Residence
Venezia 2000 Hotel & Residence
#8 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 538 reviews
0.2 mi away
Atlanta Augustus
Atlanta Augustus
#13 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Helvetia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Helvetia

Property: Hotel Helvetia
Address: Gran Viale 4, 30126 Lido di Venezia, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Lido di Venezia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Lido di Venezia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Helvetia 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A pretty hotel just a canal-hop from Venice, the Helvetia Hotel offers a break from the norm. Set down a leafy boulevard in the heart of Venice Lido, the Helvetia is a world away from your run-of-the-mill city hotel. Inside, it brims with Venetian flair and sophistication, while outside there’s a lovely flower-filled garden where you can enjoy al fresco breakfasts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Helvetia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Helvetia Hotel Venice
Hotel Helvetia Province Of Venice, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing