We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't give it a 0”
Review of Hotel Belvedere

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Belvedere
Ranked #25 of 33 Hotels in Lido di Venezia
Reviewed 8 October 2013

I wish we had the experience other reviewers had! We were put here by the Rigel hotel who stuffed our accommodation and we (2 couples) had to share a room. A room big enough for 2 single beds and a cot, which now had four singles (2 fold outs meant for children for quite tall adults)

The desk closes at 11, so our romantic venice trip had a curfew every night. It was basically be here by 11 or you can't get in.

Breakfast was terrible. Sliced meat, cheese, a horrid coffee machine and rude staff. The guy at the front desk was super super rude, and Internet is bought by the hour and doesn't work well.

Lido is a pretty inconvenient if your travelling mainly to the main islands and not to the beach. So we asked where was nice to visit in lido and the guy on the front desk shrugged and gave us brochures for st Marcos. *sigh*

All in all, don't stay here. I wouldn't even come here for a coffee. The only good thing is its right outside the waterbus stop for Lido.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank AdzynR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (61)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 61 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2013

Very convenient location, both for visiting Venice and enjoying some time on one of the best and cleanest beaches in Italy. The Vaporetto station is just out of the door, two stops away from the San Zaccaria stop that takes you directly in Piazza San Marco (12-15 minutes). The connection with the train station and other islands of the Laguna is equally good and convenient.
I preferred this hotel to others for interesting features, included in the prices of the rooms, like the free bikes that allowed us to take rides (for instance, the very spectacular bike path on the Murazzi, to Malamocco and Alberoni, also worthy highlights of the Lido island).
Free entrance on one of the organized beaches with cabins, bungalows, showers, bar etc: the tent of the «capanno» of the hotel can actually only host 4 or 6 people in its shadow and since this is shared with other guests of the hotel, either you go early in the morning or just use the cabin for changing into your swimming suit.
Free parking for your car, in case you come from the mainland driving: this also is very convenient because in Lido the parking is either difficult to find or expensive to pay.
The hotel itself is plain, family run, with pleasant interiors from the Seventies, so do not expect fancy, avantgard, brand new finishing and decoration. The wifi connection is extra and kind of expensive, bring your own if you can. Breakfast is standard but acceptable. We went for 5 days in July and had good and attentive service from owners and staff. Our bedsheets and towels where impeccable and changed every day. Our final feeling about it is very positive.

Room Tip: If you wish a real postcard-like view, try to get the rooms in front on the second floor, on the Ven...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank caterinaminola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2012

Okay, so this hotel is cheap...so get ready for a cheap hotel.

WRONG!

The concierge met us on the street, the porter took our bags and the cleaners were polite and friendly. WE had three nights in a clean, warm and quiet room. ON entering the room we found a light was not working, we mentioned this and whilst we were out it was fixed. Simple.

Breakfast was tasty and substantial.

Ok, this is a not a four star luxury hotel, its a very keenly priced place to sleep whilst you take in Venice: and as this it is excellent.

I recommend it and would return.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2012

I'm frankly shocked that other reviewers have been so kind about this place. It was easily one of the most unpleasant hotel stays of my entire adult life. I had to stay here while attending the Venice Film Festival, when my company booked a block of their rooms for several coworkers and myself. We all found the rooms spartan, grim, dark, depressing, lacking in all but the most basic amenities and WAY below the standards of what one would typically expect for the price - even at high season in Europe. Beds were tiny and saggy, with very old looking linens. Rooms looked like they hadn't been painted or redecorated since the 1950s. Very cheap toiletries. Tiny showers. Hair dryers that barely blew out any air. Lots of noise from neighboring rooms. Very unattractive public areas. Breakfast consisted of stale roles and a few picked over cold cuts (they owners should walk next door to the Riviera and see what a REAL breakfast spread looks like). When our travel coordinator made it known that we were not happy with the accommodations, the owners seemed genuinely shocked and insulted - really? With all the international jet-setters who visit the Lido and surely find their way to their hotel from time to time, no one has ever told them they need to up their game? The owners seem like nice people who mean well, and they could actually turn this into a charming spot with just a little paint and some new furnishings and amenities (for the price they charge, they should be able to afford it). The location is excellent and this could be a little gem with the right management, upkeep/upgrades. As of now, however, it should be avoided.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LAguy90046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

This simple hotel offers clean and simple rooms, some of them with a wonderful view of Venice for a price that is absolutely unbeatable.
Our room was equipped with air conditioning, indispensable in July, no balcony, a bathroom with window. Clean, spacious, tasteful, no frills, but absolutely comfortable.
Unfortunately there was no fridge, and the air conditioning was kind of loud. The view from the window and the centrality of the location unbeatable. At the ground floor it is possible to eat both à la carte or self service (this last option is highly advisable, modest prices for fresh and honest food. The tramezzini and the polpettine di carne accompanied with an ombra - a small glass of wine as the Venetians call it - are just delicious and worth the trip to Venice).

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank marcob1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2012

I didn't look for rooms in Venice early enough I guess, so by the time I got around to it, little was left for hotels in the area. This place looked decent, so I went ahead and booked it. The location was just fine to us--we enjoyed taking the vaporetti (water busses) to get around Venice and to get back and forth from Venice to Lido (a 10-15 minute ride). The stop really is right outside the hotel, which is nice. The breakfast at this hotel was also just fine, with breads, meat, cheese, fruit, toasted bread slices, croissants, and a hot drink machine for cappuccino, American coffee, etc. The room was fine and, although the shower water went everywhere (which we were used to in Italy by then...but this was the worst), the bathroom was fine.

It really was the service that turned us off from this place. We didn't feel welcome when we first arrived--the lady seemed busy, and made us feel like we were some nuisance. She took our passports and pointed us to the elevator, and she was done with us. We had other questions, like if we could leave our luggage with them on our last day, when check-out was, etc., but we waited to ask because we felt like she had no time for us. We kept seeing her in charge of the desk, and our perception of her never changed, so we would stagger our few questions so that we were only "bothering" her with one at a time.

The other thing was, and this is somewhat our fault, but we had gotten used to free WI-FI all along our 3 week trip at every place-big and small-we stayed. We got to this place and saw that they charged for internet use, when I really thought it had said free WI-FI on their website. Turns out it says "WI-FI Zone," so don't be fooled--it does not mean free WI-FI (so I guess technically they did nothing wrong, but I felt tricked). Restaurants and stores have free WI-FI these days....how can this hotel not? Of course, they weren't sympathetic about it when we asked about it.

I guess the room and breakfast were just fine, but it's amazing how poor service can affect our feel for the place. We had been staying at B&Bs up until this, where the owners welcomed us and attended to our needs, so maybe that had something to do with it...but my partner and I said we would not stay here again. We'd rather take our money elsewhere.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eric S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2011

This is a gem of a hotel if you are looking for convenience to the vaporetto. It literally is across the street from the Lido station. In addition, it was one of the most reasonably priced hotels in Lido. Nothing fancy with room and amenities, but when you are in Venice, you really dont want to be in your hotel. The staff was extremely helpful - they helped us in planning our trip to attend Pope Benedicts Mass at San Guiliano Park. The continental breakfast was excellent. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pak6104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lido di Venezia hotels
0.2 mi away
Biasutti Hotel
Biasutti Hotel
#17 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
364 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Giardinetto
Hotel Giardinetto
#12 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
177 reviews
0.6 mi away
Venezia 2000 Hotel & Residence
Venezia 2000 Hotel & Residence
#5 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Hotel Cristallo -- Lido
Hotel Cristallo -- Lido
#20 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
265 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Sorriso
Hotel Sorriso
#16 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
147 reviews
0.2 mi away
Atlanta Augustus
Atlanta Augustus
#13 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Belvedere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Belvedere

Address: Piazzale Santa Maria Elisabetta 4, 30126 Lido di Venezia, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Lido di Venezia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Lido di Venezia
Price Range: £89 - £165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Belvedere 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Belvedere looks across over the wonderful lagoon of Venice. Built in 1857, it has been run by the same family for more than a century. 31 air conditioned double rooms, all en suite, direct-dial telephone, television, courtesy bicycles. Open all year. In our restaurant you can savor the local culinary art. The parking is free, motorcyclists welcomes. WI-FI ZONE. Reachable in ten-minute water-bus trip from St. Mark's Square or by car ferry. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Belvedere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belvedere Hotel Venice
Hotel Belvedere Province Of Venice, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing