We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place! Great Value and great staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Cristallo -- Lido
Ranked #20 of 33 Hotels in Lido di Venezia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 April 2009

The Hotel is charming with unpretentious but very comfortable rooms with a very nice view. The included breakfast is good with a selection of hams and salamis and cereal and good pastry.
The place is on the Lido, so you will get to enjoy the best of both worlds: the dynamic life of Venice and the tranquility of the Lido... and don't worry about commuting, in fact that might be your best experience in Venice. Take the front seats of the Vaporetto number 1 (Venetians don't like them anyway) and enjoy the most impressive view you'll ever had of any city..... In Paris you would pay a lot of money for a "Bateau Mouche" to be able to see the views from the river.... in Venice that's included in the prince of the public transportation!!
The Hotel is great, the staff polite and very helpful and the price is a bargain... you'll fill like if you're staying in a much more expensive hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gandalfy2k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (265)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

128 - 134 of 265 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2008

I've stayed at many hotels where the picture on the website were either photo shopped or 20 years old, but the Cristallo is just as beautiful in person as it is in the pictures. Its easy to find straight off the water taxi, and is an easy walk even with luggage. It is very convenient to places to eat, shop and the beach, and accessible by water taxi to everywhere else.

The rooms are small, but serviceable, and the beds were comfortable. We did get some street noise on the weekend (we were on the front street) but it was much better after we closed the shutters. With the shutters closed and the ac on, the noise was well masked.

We stayed in a triple, and as another reviewer remarked, the third bed is a fold down and not very easy to manage. it was fine for my niece, but I think it would be uncomfortable for an adult. Overall, a very nice stay.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank piperpur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2008

We stayed at Hotel Cristallo 29 June - 6 July 2008 in Room 23 which fronted the main street of Gran Viale S. M. Elisabetta. This 2 star hotel offers value for the money, 100 Euro/night, and is well located.

Let me get the negative out of the way first. A/C in Europe is more a state of mind than temperature. Usually A/C means opening the window or listening to the associated A/C fan grind and creak without providing cool air. The A/C at Hotel Cristal was in the latter category. The A/C made grinding and gear shifting noises; one night I turned it off just so I would not be woken by its periodic outbursts. I mention the A/C as during our stay we hit a spate of very hot weather with highs in the 30's Centigrade (90's Fahrenheit) and fairly humid. Even the Italians thought it was hot. The ceiling fan was a Godsend and made it possible to sleep well under a fan generated light breeze.

Our room was clean, and of a nice size by European standards. The bathroom was a bit tiny, and made even smaller by the inclusion of a bidet. Does anyone use those bidets? There was a corner shower with one of the two sliding doors missing?

The included breakfast is fine. No hot items, other than usually warm hard boiled eggs, no fruit, and no sliced cheeses. There was some small wrapped soft cheese and VERY thinly sliced meats of ham and salami. Yogurt, cereal, bread and croissants provide most of the breakfast fare. What is it with Italian bread rolls at breakfast? It is the most tasteless bread I have ever experienced. I thought it a bit odd that the breakfast did not start until 8 AM. I was attending a conference that started at 8:30 AM, so the breakfast start time was a minor inconvenience.

The hotel has a small lift, which is important especially if your room is on the second (our Room 23) or third floor.

There is WiFi but is not free and it is not available in the room. I used the WiFi in the small lobby and nearby breakfast room. Fortunately, T*Mobile was a partner with the available pay for use service, so it only cost me $0.18/minute.

As others have stated, the best part of Hotel Cristallo is its location. A short 5 minute walk from the vaporetto stop, the Lido buses stop in front of the hotel, and several nice restaurants are only steps away. There is also a Billa grocery store nearby that has a large variety of items, including prepared food for meals on the go or in your room; the Billa checkout is always crowded. If you only want drinks, try one of the several small nearby shops that sell drinks and snacks.

Typical of most European rooms, especially at the Two Star level, there is no in-room coffee nor mini-bar. You can obtain a small bowl of ice from the reception desk.

The staff at Hotel Cristallo is superb. Very friendly and multi-lingual. The housekeeping staff appeared to all be Vietnamese, but all seemed to speak English fluently.

Summary, Hotel Cristallo is probably the best 2 star hotel you will find on Lido. Don't go with 4 star expectations, and you will be pleasantly surprised.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank LostLen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2008

This hotel was wonderful. The hotel is on Lido, which is away from the crowds of Venice... but it is still quick and easy to get to the main places in Venice using the boat/bus. The hotel staff was wonderful and the room was big and bright. Breakfast was served in the morning. We stayed for three nights and paid about 90 euros per night. I would fully recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank actsci99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2008

We had previously enjoyed a short break on Lido and decided to return at short notice but were unable to book the same hotel. After reading all the reviews and comments on various hotels we chose the Hotel Cristallo due to its position for all the amneties and close proximity to the ferry terminal for our three day stay and found it to be an excellent choice. We had a spacious and clean room (No 23) with a newly refurbished bathroom on the front of the hotel and although overlooking the main street was really quiet. As mentioned in the other reviews all the staff were really friendly and the facilities were excellent for this grade of hotel making our stay thoroughly enjoyable.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Colin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2008

Our stay at Hotel Cristallo was very nice. Our evaluation (1 to 5 – five the best) is as follows:
- Room: large enough and clean, although the furniture a little old (4 points).
- Bathroom: totally new (5 points).
- Breakfast: orange juice, different types of croisants, yogurts, and very nice terrace (4 points).
- Situation / Area: very close to the vaporetto stop in Lido which is a very nice island, 10 minutos from Piazza San Marco by vaporetto (5 points).
- Reception: Andrea Leone is attending the reception. He is one of the best receptinist I’ve ever known. He gave us many tips for our stay in Venice (5 points).

Stayed: June 2008
1  Thank sil2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2008

We stayed at Hotel Cristallo in early April. Travelling with a young family we decided to stay on Lido as was a bit quieter at that time of the year. The Lido was about 40 minutes water taxi ride from the main train station and the hotel is a few minutes walk from the water taxi stop. We really like the quiter, more relaxed atmosphere of the Lido and there were enough local restautants to suit our needs. The hotel was small but room was spacious and clean. We found the locality to be very quiet (important with young kids) and the hotel management very helpful. Breakfast was good with plenty of coffee! Whilst it was only 5 minutes across to St Marks Square, the best thing was that at the end of the day we could get away from the crowds and travel back to Lido's quiter streets.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank traveldux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lido di Venezia hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel La Pergola di Venezia
Hotel La Pergola di Venezia
#19 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
361 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Panorama
Hotel Panorama
#2 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
844 reviews
0.5 mi away
Residence Le Ville del Lido
Residence Le Ville del Lido
#1 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Villa Delle Palme
Villa Delle Palme
#24 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
230 reviews
0.6 mi away
Venezia 2000 Hotel & Residence
Venezia 2000 Hotel & Residence
#5 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
582 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Laguna
Villa Laguna
#8 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cristallo -- Lido? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cristallo -- Lido

Address: Gran Viale Santa Maria Elisabetta 51 | Lido, 30126 Lido di Venezia, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Lido di Venezia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Lido di Venezia
#5 Family Hotel in Lido di Venezia
#14 Romantic Hotel in Lido di Venezia
Price Range: £31 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Cristallo -- Lido 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Cristallo -- Lido reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Cristallo -- Lido Province Of Venice, Italy
Cristallo Lido Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing